Default Header

2018 NAIA Men's Track and Field Athlete of the Week - No. 2

Josh Parson 60m

By Jed Flemming, Athletic Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Grant Wickham of Hastings (Neb.) has been named the NAIA Men’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week and Josh Parson of Tennessee Wesleyan has been named the NAIA Men’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Wickham and Parson were selected for their performances during the week of January 17-23, and were selected out of a pool of conference, Association of Independent Institutions and unaffiliated group winners.

NAIA Men’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week

Grant Wickham, Hastings (Neb.)

Jr., Phillipsburg, Kan.

• Placed 1st in the weight throw with a mark of 20.60m
     o Set a PR as well as set the number two mark for the NAIA this season
• Placed 4th in the shot put with a an “A” mark of 15.66m

NAIA Men’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week

Josh Parson, Tennessee Wesleyan

Sr., Evensville, Tenn.

• Placed 1st in the 60m dash with a time of 6.75 seconds
• Placed 1st in the 200m dash with a time of 21.81
     o Improved his own number one time in the NAIA

For the full player of the week calendar, click here

Track Nominees: Malik Holman, Columbia (Mo.) ; Tyler Carson, William Woods (Mo.) ; Nicholas Rotich, Park (Mo.) ; Michael Slagowski, Eastern Oregon ; Joel O'Shea, St. Francis (Ill.) ; Austin Hickerson, Spring Arbor (Mich.) ; Alec DeVries, Taylor (Ind.) ; Jamique Mitchell, Bethel (Ind.) ; Derek Parker, Indiana Wesleyan ; Tim Rose, Northwestern (Iowa) ; Joe Heinrichs, Briar Cliff (Iowa) ; Jon Flight, Hastings (Neb.) ; Jacob Green, Morningside (Iowa) ; Maurice Davis, Missouri Valley ; Jessica Watson, Baker (Kan.) ; Jordan Nathan, Grand View (Iowa) ; Nicholas Arnecke, SUNY-Delhi ; Julio Martinez, Bethel (Kan.) ; Isaac Clark, Friends (Kan.) ; Mason Held, York (Neb.) ; Pierce Wolters, Sterling (Kan.) ; Thryceton Deckard, Shawnee State (Ohio) ; Tyler Lewis, Campbellsville (Ky.) ; Christian Davis, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) ; Joel Barlow, Cumberland (Tenn.) ; Lenzel Koskela, Valley City State (N.D.) ; Nic Ganzeveld, Waldorf (Iowa) ; Seth Reynolds, Indiana East ; Tellis Horne, Rio Grande (Ohio) ; Xavier Stephens, Point Park (Pa.) ; Ilijah Coleman, Bacone (Okla.) ; Max McNeill, Oklahoma City ; Sean Trainor, Webber International (Fla.) ; Sadrick Severe, Warner (Fla.) ; Colin De Young, Cornerstone (Mich.)

Field Nominees: Ray Steele, William Woods (Mo.) ; Adam Vincent, Missouri Baptist ; Isaiah Woodruff, Tennessee Wesleyan ; Carson Ivester, Reinhardt (Ga.) ; Josh Brown, College of Idaho ; Lucas Hidalgo, Eastern Oregon ; Bryce Vollroth, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) ; Akwasi Aikins, St. Francis (Ill.) ; Brennan Coil, Indiana Wesleyan ; Jonathan DeHaan, Taylor (Ind.) ; Erik Escobedo, Bethel (Ind.) ; Mitchell Soviak, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio) ; Jonathan Dracht, Spring Arbor (Mich.) ; Zebadiah Boos, Providence (Mont.) ; Cody Bauman, Northwestern (Iowa) ; Austin Hill, Grand View (Iowa) ; Cedric Shell, Graceland (Iowa) ; Derek Robinson, William Penn (Iowa) ; Darius Williams, Southwestern (Kan.) ; Trey Bellows, Friends (Kan.) ; Michael Jansen, Ottawa (Kan.) ; Tyler Lewis, Campbellsville (Ky.) ; K'Lan Harris, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) ; Josiah Scott, Cumberland (Tenn.) ; Isaiah Craig, Waldorf (Iowa) ; Roy Allen, Valley City State (N.D.) ; Shaun Berry, Point Park (Pa.) ; Nikola Andjelic, Rio Grande (Ohio) ; Jeremiah Stringer, Webber International (Fla.) ; Curtis Bell, Aquinas (Mich.)

2017-18 Men's Indoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)

Week 1 (January 17): Zach Brittain, Doane (Neb.) , Kejavon Moore, Indiana Tech
Week 2 (January 24): Grant Wickham, Hastings (Neb.) , Josh Parson, Tennessee Wesleyan

Championship Information

NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championship
Sports Rules - Indoor Track & Field (M)
Official Merchandise-Indoor Track and Field