Default Header

2014 AFCA-NAIA All-America Teams Announced

December 16, 2014
By -, -

Story courtesy of Vince Thompson, AFCA Director of Media Relations

WACO, TEXAS – Morningside (Iowa) running back Brandon Wegher and Concordia (Mich.) linebacker Takari Johnson headline the 2014 AFCA NAIA Coaches’ All-America Team announced today by the American Football Coaches Association.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team since 1945 and currently selects teams in all five of its divisions. What makes these teams so special is that they are the only ones chosen exclusively by the men who know the players the best — the coaches themselves.

Wegher led the nation in rushing with 2,610 yards, averaging 200.8 yards per game. He also led the nation in rushing touchdowns with 39 and, along with his four receiving touchdowns, accounted for 20 points a game. Johnson led the nation in sacks, with 15.5 in the season. Johnson’s 39.5 tackles for loss, seven forced fumbles and 194 total tackles also led the nation in their respective categories.

In June of 2013, the NAIA Football Coaches Association and the National Administrative Council approved the addition of the NAIA-All-America Second Team to allow a greater number of deserving student-athletes to be recognized as All-Americans. The 25-man squad is selected in the same fashion and by the same committee as the First Team. The First Team is the same as what is published by the AFCA and on

2014 AFCA-NAIA Coaches’ All-America First Team
Pos. Name Ht. Wt. Yr. School Hometown
WR Greg Livingston 5-10 185 Sr. Belhaven (Miss.) Houston, Texas
WR Brady Roland 6-1 170 Sr. Grand View (Iowa) Carlisle, Iowa
WR Andre McCullouch* 6-1 195 Jr. Rocky Mountain (Mont.) Riverside, Calif.
OL Tanner Paxton 6-5 280 Sr. Hastings (Neb.) Lincoln, Neb.
OL Kenny Smith 6-1 280 Sr. St. Francis (Ill.) Minooka, Ill.
OL Zach Woods 6-3 300 Sr. Dakota State (S.D.) Cherokee, Iowa
OL Zach Mitchell 6-3 300 Jr. Marian (Ind.) Indianapolis, Ind.
OL David Stochlin 6-1 308 Sr. Benedictine (Kan.) Miami, Fla.
QB Austin Dodge 6-3 210 Sr. Southern Oregon Vancouver, Wash.
RB Lamont Wims 5-8 185 Sr. Robert Morris (Ill.) Frederick, Md.
RB Brandon Wegher 5-11 210 Sr. Morningside (Iowa) Dakota Dunes, S.D.
Pos. Name Ht. Wt. Yr. School Hometown
DL Greg Hayward 6-3 230 Sr. Saint Xavier (Ill.) Oak Lawn, Ill.
DL Phil Latimer* 6-0 255 Sr. Nebraska Wesleyan Broomfield, Colo.
DL Kyle Connors 6-2 285 Sr. Siena Heights (Mich.) Tecumseh, Mich.
DL Ty Phillips* 6-2 270 Sr. Missouri Valley East St. Louis, Ill.
LB Takari Johnson 6-1 235 Sr. Concordia (Mich.) Lansing, Mich.
LB Brandon Ruemler 6-0 208 Sr. Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) Williamsport, Ind.
LB Sean Blomquist* 5-11 235 Sr. Carroll (Mont.) Helena, Mont.
DB Justin Wohlert 5-9 189 Jr. Northwestern (Iowa) Hartley, Iowa
DB Adam Sauder 6-3 205 Jr. Taylor (Ind.) Grabill, Ind.
DB Carlos Cox 5-11 180 Sr. Friends (Kan.) Newark, N.J.
DB Marte Sears 6-5 220 Sr. Faulkner (Ala.) Fresno, Calif.
Pos. Name Ht. Wt. Yr. School Hometown
K Christian Casillas 6-0 180 Fr. MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) Rialto, Calif.
P David Srickland 6-0 228 Jr. Point (Ga.) Opelika, Ala.
AP Stony Burns* 5-9 196 Sr. Bethel (Tenn.) Orlando, Fla.

*-2013 AFCA NAIA All-American

2014 NAIA Coaches’ All-America Second Team
Pos. Name Ht. Wt. Yr. School Hometown
WR Nick DeBenedetti 5-11 190 Sr. Saint Xavier (Ill.) Tinley Park, Ill.
WR Dylan Young 6-3 197 Sr. Southern Oregon Salem, Ore.
WR Devin Thomas 5-10 190 Sr. Morningside (Iowa) Council Bluffs, Iowa
OL Jeff Lindenmoyer 6-4 285 Sr. Ave Maria (Fla.) St. Johns, Fla.
OL Hea Tuifua 5-10 240 Jr. William Penn (Iowa) Salt Lake City, Utah
OL Sheldon Jacks 6-1 291 Jr. Baker (Kan.) Lakeside, Ariz.
OL Kevin Lonergan 6-2 270 So. Saint Xavier (Ill.) Oak Lawn, Ill.
OL Drew Gibson 6-6 285 Sr. Southern Oregon Medford, Ore.
QB Derek Fulton 6-2 180 Jr. Grand View (Iowa) Bettendorf, Iowa
RB Luke Lundy 6-0 239 Sr. Ottawa (Kan.) Auburn, Neb.
RB Dustin Rinker* 5-9 210 Sr. Carroll (Mont.) Riggins, Idaho
Pos. Name Ht. Wt. Yr. School Hometown
DL Nick Seither 6-3 270 Sr. Georgetown (Ky.) Hamilton, Ohio
DL Steve Laski 6-0 285 Sr. St. Ambrose (Iowa) Mokena, Ill.
DL David Meis 6-3 220 Jr. Montana Tech Clancy, Mont.
DL Daniel Breaux 6-3 245 Sr. Southern Oregon Greenfield, Calif.
LB Jarelle Miller 6-2 225 Jr. Jamestown (N.D.) Orlando, Fla.
LB Ryan Watson 6-0 220 Sr. Eastern Oregon Yakima, Wash.
LB Greg Hegstad 6-3 212 Sr. Northwestern (Iowa) Sanborn, Iowa
DB James Dowgin* 6-2 193 Jr. Carroll (Mont.) Greeley, Colo.
DB Eric Price 6-0 160 So. Marian (Ind.) Sheridan, Ind.
DB Kenny Nez 5-9 185 So. Saint Mary (Kan.) Reno, Nev.
DB Jesse McCloud 6-0 196 Sr. Montana Western Manhattan, Mont.
Pos. Name Ht. Wt. Yr. School Hometown
K Joshua Techeira 6-2 212 Sr. Robert Morris (Ill.) Midlothian, Ill.
P Rhys Felton 6-4 230 Sr. Carroll (Mont.) Melbourne, Australia
AP Antonio Bray* 5-8 170 Sr. Sterling (Kan.) Van Nuys, Calif.

*-2013 AFCA NAIA All-American

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship
Sports Rules - Football