Default Header

2013 NAIA Baseball All-Americans Announced

OBU_Matt Page_288
June 03, 2013
By -, -

By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2013 NAIA Baseball All-America teams, selected by the NAIA-Baseball Coaches Association (NAIA-BCA) All-America Selection Committee. Player of the Year Matt Page of Oklahoma Baptist headlines the group of 34 student-athletes named to the first and second teams. An additional 34 players received honorable mentions.

Page, a native of Redwood City, Calif., led the NAIA in RBI with 85, while ranking second in home runs (15) and total bases (147), fifth in slugging percentage (.707) and 16th in doubles (20). The junior first baseman started all 63 games for Oklahoma Baptist this season. Page paced the squad in nearly every offensive category, including batting average (.385) and hits (80). His previously mentioned national rankings were also team highs. Page recorded 27 multi-hit games this season, including a string of four-straight from April 21 to 25. Defensively, he owned a .981 fielding percentage, committing only six errors in 311 chances. Page is the second Oklahoma Baptist player to earn the honor since the award began in 1983.

National champion Faulkner led all institutions with five All-Americans – catcher Zac Colby, designated hitter Michael Cruz, pitcher Johnny Shuttlesworth, third baseman Sergio Sanchez and pitcher Will Dismukes.

Eight individuals are their program’s first-ever All-American (first or second team). Those individuals include: Tyler Latham of Bryan (Tenn.), Jimmy Bosco of Menlo (Calif.), Phillip Kish of Southeastern (Fla.), Alex Sanchez of Ave Maria (Fla.), Seth Neely of Arizona Christian, Brian Vigo of Science & Arts (Okla.), Billy Farrell of Webber International (Fla.) and Cameron Balough of Judson (Ill.).

There were 10 players on the first or second team whose programs participated in the 2013 Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series in Lewiston, Idaho, this year.

2013 NAIA Baseball All-Americans
First Team        
First Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Tyler Latham Bryan (Tenn.) C Jr. Spring City, Tenn.
Zac Colby Faulkner (Ala.) C Sr. Hanford, Calif.
Matt Page* Oklahoma Baptist 1B Jr. Redwood City, Calif.
Matt Thomas Martin Methodist (Tenn.) 2B Sr. Boaz, Ala.
Nate Mullins Bellevue (Neb.) 3B Jr. Snohomish, Wash.
Elvin Rodriguez Northwood (Texas) SS Sr. Rio Grande P.R.
Christian Vazquez Lubbock Christian (Texas) UTL Jr. Humacao, P.R.
Jon Kemmer Brewton-Parker (Ga.) OF Sr. Shippenville, Pa.
Jimmy Bosco Menlo (Calif.) OF Jr. Granite Bay, Calif.
Shane Spies Rio Grande (Ohio) OF Sr. Polk, Ohio
Steven Karkenny The Master's (Calif.) OF So. Chatsworth, Calif.
Michael Cruz Faulkner (Ala.) DH Jr. Dominican Republic
Chris O'Hare Fisher (Mass.) SP Sr. Lynfield, Mass.
Ethan Gibbons Missouri Baptist SP Sr. Suisun City, Calif.
Jarrod Jameson Tennessee Wesleyan SP Jr. Oklahoma City, Okla.
Johnny Shuttlesworth Faulkner (Ala.) SP Sr. Tuscaloosa, Ala.
Phillip Kish Southeastern (Fla.) RP Sr. New Smyrna Beach, Fla.
Second Team        
First Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Blake Marchant Grand View (Iowa) C So. Indianola, Iowa
Wigberto Nevarez Lubbock Christian (Texas) C Jr. Bayamon, P.R.
Brady Steiger Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) 1B Jr. Port Orchard, Wash.
Brennyn Smith Lubbock Christian (Texas) 2B Sr. Montgomery, Texas
Sergio Sanchez Faulkner (Ala.) 3B Jr. San Luis, Ariz.
Alex Sanchez Ave Maria (Fla.) SS Sr. Hialeah, Fla.
Jake Stone Tennessee Wesleyan UTL Sr. Charlottesville, Va.
Seth Neely Arizona Christian OF Jr. Phoenix, Ariz.
Justin Mackey Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) OF Sr. Sand Rock, Ala.
Brian Vigo Science & Arts (Okla.) OF Sr. Carolian, P.R.
Billy Farrell Webber International (Fla.) OF Sr. Seffner, Fla.
Cameron Balough Judson (Ill.) DH SO Santee, Calif.
Cody Crabaugh Oklahoma City SP Sr. Edmond, Okla.
Chris Good Belhaven (Miss.) SP So. Forney, Texas
Will Dismukes Faulkner (Ala.) SP Sr. Millbrook, Ala.
Kevin Maloney Embry-Riddle (Fla.) SP Sr. Dunedin, Fla.
Noah Piard Tennessee Wesleyan RP Sr. Orlando, Fla.
Honorable Mention        
First Institution      
Chad Mansmann Auburn-Montgomery (Ala.)      
Joe Bocchino Ave Maria (Fla.)      
Brian Ferrell Bethel (Tenn.)      
Jesse Zellner Central Methodist (Mo.)      
Drew Greiwe Central Methodist (Mo.)      
Anthony Gomez Cumberland (Tenn.)      
Michael Lukkason Dakota Wesleyan      
Stetson Nelson Embry-Riddle (Fla.)      
Jeff Lemon Embry-Riddle (Fla.)      
Blake McKnight Evangel (Mo.)      
Andy Hills Lee (Tenn.)      
Josh Silver Lee (Tenn.)      
Cody Lavalli Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)      
Manuel Alonso Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)      
Darren Travers Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)      
Nick Jones LSU Alexandria (La.)      
Joel Lutz Lubbock Christian (Texas)      
Jeremy Gooding Madonna (Mich.)      
Patrick Johnson Missouri Baptist      
Ryan Parazine Mobile (Ala.)      
Tyler Stuerman Northwestern (Iowa)      
Derek Howell Oklahoma City      
Kevin Lasowski Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)      
Jordan Crowell Point Park (Pa.)      
Colton Campbell Rogers State (Okla.)      
Heath Wilda Science & Arts (Okla.)      
Johnnie Kirkland Southeastern (Fla.)      
Mark Weist Spring Arbor (Mich.)      
David Kuhne St. Francis (Ill.)      
Joe Williams Sterling (Kan.)      
Daniel Cloteaux Sterling (Kan.)      
Joe Battaglia Sterling (Kan.)      
A.J. Work The Master's (Calif.)      
Aaron Conyers York (Neb.)      

*2013 NAIA Baseball Player of the Year

Championship Information

NAIA Baseball Championship
Sports Rules - Baseball
Official Merchandise-baseball