Default Header

2016 NAIA Baseball All-Americans Announced

Player of the Year_DeLong_Tabor_288
June 07, 2016
By -, -
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2016 Baseball All-America Teams as selected by the NAIA-Baseball Coaches Association All-America Committee. National Player of the Year Manny DeLeon of Tabor (Kan.) headlines the group of 34 individuals named to the first and second team. An additional 34 student-athletes received honorable mention recognition.

The first and second teams are also recognized as ABCA/Rawlings All-Americans by the American Baseball Coaches Association and Rawlings Sporting Goods. The ABCA began recognizing All-Americans in 1949 and named the first ABCA NAIA All-America team in 1969.

DeLeon, who was named the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference (KCAC) Player of the Year early this spring, ended the year leading the NAIA in total bases (208), RBI (108) and slugging percentage (.897). The senior from San Cristobal, D.R., played a key role in the Bluejays’ (45-18) sixth-straight 40-win season and at least a share of a fifth-straight KCAC regular-season title. Tabor reached the title game of the Hutchinson Opening Round Bracket, but was eliminated by Science & Arts (Okla.).

In addition to his national rankings, DeLeon paced the team with a .440 batting average (102-for-232), 25 home runs, 25 doubles, 30 walks, a .515 on-base percentage and 25 stolen bases. The centerfielder posted 34 multi-hit games this season with 62 appearances. Defensively, DeLeon recorded 89 putouts and had three assists.

Georgia Gwinnett led all institutions with three All-Americans – Josh Merrigan (First Team outfielder), Davis Adkins (First Team relief pitcher) and Zac Rinehart (Second Team first baseman).

Scott Morton of Briar Cliff (Iowa), Yariel Gonzales of Science & Arts (Okla.) and Keivan Berges of Keiser (Fla.) are repeat selections. Gonzales and Berges were both on the First Team in 2015, while Morton was a Second Teamer. All three individuals are on the First Team this year.

2016 NAIA Baseball All-Americans
First Team
Pos. First Last Year School Hometown
C Scott Morton% Sr. Briar Cliff (Iowa) Ventura, Calif.
C Brian Hakes Sr. Indiana Tech Decatur, Ind.
1B Peyton Deiters Jr. Kansas Wesleyan Phoenix, Ariz.
2B Jalin Lawson Jr. Central Baptist (Ark.) Troy, Ala.
SS Jose Rojas Sr. Vanguard (Calif.) Anaheim, Calif.
3B Yariel Gonzalez^ Sr. Science & Arts (Okla.) San Sebastian, P.R.
INF Alex Montero Sr. LSU Shreveport (La.) Conovanas, P.R.
DH Keivan Berges^ Jr. Keiser (Fla.) Wellington, Fla.
OF Manny DeLeon* Sr. Tabor (Kan.) San Cristobal, D.R.
OF Travis Bolin Jr. Davenport (Mich.) Watervliet, Mich.
OF Jordan Eckley Sr. MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) Lee’s Summit, Mo.
OF Josh Merrigan Sr. Georgia Gwinnett Marietta, Ga.
SP Sean Isaac Sr. Vanguard (Calif.) Redondo Beach, Calif.
SP Jordan Watson Jr. Science & Arts (Okla.) Edmond, Okla.
SP Ryan Hartman Sr. Tennessee Wesleyan Anaheim, Calif.
SP Mark Vasquez Sr. Faulkner (Ala.) Spring Valley, Calif.
RP Davis Adkins Sr. Georgia Gwinnett Cordell, Ga.

Second Team
Pos. First Last Year School Hometown
C Trent Simpson Sr. IU Southeast (Ind.) Gentryville, Ind.
C Andy Mocahbee Jr. Middle Georgia State Calhoun, Ga.
1B Zac Rinehart Sr. Georgia Gwinnett Snellville, Ga.
2B Michael Johnson Sr. York (Neb.) Union City, Calif.
SS Alex Colegrove Sr. Briar Cliff (Iowa) Gilbert, Ariz.
3B Beau Kallas Sr. Sterling (Kan.) Draper, Utah
INF Gregg Veneklasen So. Wayland Baptist (Texas) Amarillo, Texas
DH JJ Robinson Jr. Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) Colfax, Wash.
OF Javion Randle Sr. Jarvis Christian (Texas) Houston, Texas
OF Kendall Radcliffe Jr. Sterling (Kan.) Chicago, Ill.
OF Dylan Steyer Sr. Midland (Neb.) Omaha, Neb.
OF Andrew Gross Sr. Houston-Victoria (Texas) Alvin, Texas
SP Brandon Guske Jr. Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) Spring Hill, Tenn.
SP Alsis Herrera Sr. Science & Arts (Okla.) San Juan, D.R.
SP Ben McKendall Jr. Bellevue (Neb.) Los Angeles, Calif.
SP Alex Webb Sr. British Columbia Surrey, B.C.
RP Jake Pannunzio Sr. Campbellsville (Ky.) Sunrise Beach, Australia

*2016 National Player of the Year
^ 2015 First Team All-American
% 2015 Second Team All-American

Honorable Mention
Name School
Jed Carter Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)
Gadier Charriez Bethel (Tenn.)
Curtis Taylor British Columbia
Brad Cuyos Central Methodist (Mo.)
Joba Ferrell Central Methodist (Mo.)
Trey Haygood Georgia Gwinnett
Landon Uetz Jamestown (N.D.)
Tanner Dahl Jamestown (N.D.)
Steven Bruce Keiser (Fla.)
Jacob Zanon Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Luis Anguizola Loyola (La.)
Johno Rodriguez Madonna (Mich.)
Dylan Hatch Marymount (Calif.)
Jason Jones MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Chris Rich Middle Georgia State
Brian Poupore Missouri Baptist
Nathan DeChaine Morningside (Iowa)
Lucas Daugherty Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio)
Jon Bobea Northwestern Ohio
John Schreiber Northwestern Ohio
Jared Baker Oklahoma City
Trevor Achenbach Oklahoma Wesleyan
Jake Horew Point Park (Pa.)
Dillon White Science & Arts (Okla.)
Cesar Figuereo Science & Arts (Okla.)
Chris Mattison Southeastern (Fla.)
Alfredo Bohorquez St. Catharine (Ky.)
Kade Wagner Sterling (Kan.)
Ryan Pope Sterling (Kan.)
Michael Baca Tabor (Kan.)
Lincoln Reed Taylor (Ind.)
Thomas Estopare USC Beaufort (S.C.)
Daniel Butler Westmont (Calif.)
Billy Johnson York (Neb.)

Championship Information

NAIA Baseball Championship
Sports Rules - Baseball
Official Merchandise-baseball