Default Header

Highlights from the 2016-17 Scorecard

5-Star Scorecard Ad
September 07, 2017
By NAIA National Office

Every year, each NAIA institution and conference demonstrates their progress in pursuing character-driven athletics. The Champions of Character Scorecard measures growth in training, promotion, conduct in competition and commitment in five key areas with a possibility of 100 points. Institutions can be recognized as Champions of Character Five-Star Institutions at three different levels: Gold (90-100 points), Silver (75-89 points) and Bronze (60-74 points).

This year 183 NAIA institutions earned the Five-Star Institution Award, up from 171 institutions last year. Included were 66 institutions at the gold distinction level, 76 at the silver distinction level and 41 at the bronze distinction level.

Fourteen NAIA Institutions tied with top honors with 100 points. Those were Dakota Wesleyan University, Eastern Oregon University, Evangel University, Grand View University, Hannibal-LaGrange University, Lindsey Wilson College, Menlo College, Midway University, Milligan College, Ohio Christian University, Pacific Union College, Southwestern College, St. Ambrose University and Thomas University.

New to the Scorecard this year was the opportunity to offset an ejection for fighting, profanity or dissent with a teachable moment. Over 50 NAIA Institutions took advantage of the chance to earn back Scorecard points while giving the ejected individual a chance to learn from their mistake.

NAIA Conferences also showed improvement this year, with 18 receiving the Champions of Character Five-Star Conference Award. Leading the way were the California Pacific Conference, Mid-South Conference and The Sun Conference with 100% of their member institutions earning the Champions of Character Five-Star Institution Award.

View the full rankings and download the new Champions of Character medallions.

The 2017-18 Champions of Character Scorecard is now available on NAIAHelp.  The deadline for this year's Scorecard turn in is June 15, 2018.