Default Header

Menís Golf National Championships Qualifiers Announced

May 02, 2013
By -, -

By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) released Thursday the qualifiers for the 2013 NAIA Men’s Golf National Championships. The 62nd annual event will take place at Creekside Golf Club in Salem, Ore., May 14 – 17. First and second round pairings for the event will be announced Friday by 3 p.m. CDT.

The 156-player field is made up of 21 automatic qualifying teams, who won their respective conference/independent/unaffiliated group tournament, six at-large team selections based on the final regular-season NAIA Men’s Golf Coaches’ Top 25 Poll, Corban (Ore.) (host berth) and 16 individual qualifiers.

Six teams that finished in the top 10 at last year’s national championships return to the field, including defending national champion and second-ranked Oklahoma City. The Stars, whose 2012 title was their eighth in the last 11 years, look to become the first repeat champion since winning back-to-back crowns in the 2006 and 2007 seasons. Oklahoma City returns two individuals from its 2012 squad in Michael Palmer and James Marchesani.

The other returning top 10 teams are: British Columbia, Johnson & Wales (Fla.), Cumberlands (Ky.), Texas Wesleyan and Our Lady of the Lake (Texas). British Columbia, Johnson & Wales, Texas Wesleyan and Our Lady of the Lake all received at-large bids, while Cumberlands claimed an automatic berth after winning the Mid-South Conference Tournament April 21 – 23 at the Bardstown Country Club in Bardstown, Ky.

The 16 individual qualifiers include 15 automatic selections and one at-large. To receive an individual automatic berth a player must win his respective conference tournament or regular-season individual title. Of the 16, Julian Taylor of William Woods (Mo.) and Bethany’s (Kan.) Ben Johnson are the only returnees from 2012 that advanced past the 54-hole cut. The at-large individual – Trevor Banks of Virginia Intermont – was selected by the national championship tournament committee.

Six of the top 10 individual finishers in 2012 will make a repeat appearance. Highlighting the group is Texas Wesleyan’s Nathan Anderson, who shot a 70-74-69-71—284 to finish runner-up.

For more information on the 2013 NAIA Men’s Golf National Championships, click here.

2013 Men’s Golf National Championships Team Qualifiers
School Qualification
Bellevue (Neb.) Midlands Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Blue Mountain (Miss.) Unaffiliated Group No. 1 (GCAC/TranSouth) Tournament Champion
British Columbia At-Large No. 5
Cal State San Marcos Association of Independent Institutions Tournament Champion
Central Methodist (Mo.) Heart of America Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Corban (Ore.) Host Berth
Cumberlands (Ky.) Mid-South Conference Tournament Champion
Davenport (Mich.) Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) California Pacific Conference Tournament Champion
Faulkner (Ala.) At-Large No. 6
Grand View (Iowa) Midwest Collegiate Conference Tournament Champion
Johnson & Wales (Fla.) At-Large No. 2
Lee (Tenn.) Southern States Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) Frontier Conference Tournament Champion
Marian (Ind.) Crossroads League Tournament Champion
Milligan (Tenn.) Appalachian Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Missouri Baptist American Midwest Conference Tournament Champion
Northwestern (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Oklahoma City Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) At-Large No. 3
Point Park (Pa.) Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Southeastern (Fla.) The Sun Conference Tournament Champion
Southwestern (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
St. Francis (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
St. Thomas (Texas) Red River Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Texas Wesleyan At-Large No. 1
The Master’s (Calif.) Unaffiliated Group No. 2 (Cascade/GSAC) Tournament Champion
Wayland Baptist (Texas) At-Large No. 4

2013 Men’s Golf National Championships Individual Qualifiers
Individual Qualification
Steven Brooks, Asbury (Ky.) Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Individual Medalist
Ben Johnson, Bethany (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Individual Medalist
Brad Klotz, Bethel (Ind.) Crossroads League Individual Medalist
Shane Peden, Bethel (Tenn.) Unaffiliated Group No. 1 (GCAC/TranSouth) Individual Medalist
Scott Foster, Campbellsville (Ky.) Mid-South Conference Individual Medalist
Andrew Moffat, Graceland (Iowa) Heart of America Athletic Conference Individual Medalist
Matt Fitzgerald, Holy Cross (Ind.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Individual Medalist
Vance Edwards, Houston-Victoria (Texas) Association of Independent Institutions Individual Medalist
Keith Long, Northwestern Ohio Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Individual Medalist
Joss Gosling, Northwood (Texas) Red River Athletic Conference Individual Medalist
Daniel Thompsett, Rocky Mountain (Mont.) Frontier Conference Individual Medalist
Nick Maddalena, Simpson (Calif.) California Pacific Conference Individual Medalist
Matthew Latham, St. Andrews (N.C.) Appalachian Athletic Conference Individual Medalist
Andrew Johnson, Warner Pacific (Ore.) Unaffiliated Group No. 2 (Cascade/GSAC) Individual Medalist
Trevor Banks, Virginia Intermont At-Large
Julian Taylor, William Woods (Mo.) American Midwest Conference Individual Medalist

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship
Official Merchandise