Default Header


NAIA HOF Induction

NAIA Announces 2013-14 Hall of Fame Class

August 15, 2013
By -

By: Sam Knehans, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. Twelve distinguished individuals will be inducted into the NAIA Hall of Fame during the 2013-14 academic year. This distinction is a recognition of each individual’s service to intercollegiate athletics, the Association and their sport. Induction into the NAIA Hall of Fame, and the ensuing title of Hall of Famer, is the highest individual honor bestowed by the Association.

Since it was established in 1952, the NAIA Hall of Fame has welcomed just 1,172 members for an average of 19 inductees per year. The Hall of Fame consists of a division for each sport currently or formerly sponsored by the Associationwith the inductees in each division broken down into three categories: athletes, coaches and meritorious service. The Hall of Fame also includes a separate division for general meritorious service to the NAIA.

The 2013-14 NAIA Hall of Fame award winners include: James “Jim” Poteet, Southwestern Christian (Okla.), meritorious service; Kevin Donley, St. Francis (Ind.), football coach; Tyler Emmert, Carroll (Mont.), football athlete; Bobby Davis, Tennessee Wesleyan, basketball athlete; Ralph Hodge, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.), basketball coach; Stephen Jenkins, Evangel (Mo.), basketball coach; Jon “Rocky” Lamar, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.), basketball coach; Keith Lytle, Oklahoma City, baseball meritorious service; Chris Schroder, Oklahoma City, baseball athlete; Benjamin “Ben” Zobrist, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.), baseball athlete; Mike Renney, Simon Fraser (B.C.), softball coach; John Mason, Fort Hays State (Kan.), track and field athlete.

The inductees will be recognized throughout the year at their respective NAIA National Championships, national coaches’ association meetings or at the 73rd NAIA National Convention in Kansas City, Mo. More detailed information about each inductee will be released prior to these ceremonies.

To view the complete list of NAIA Hall of Famers, click here.

To nominate a deserving individual for induction into the NAIA Hall of Fame, click here.

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship
Sports Rules - Football
Official Merchandise-Football