Default Header

Division I All-Stars Best Division II Squad, 120-107

Georgetown vs. William Carey - 2014 Tournament
March 22, 2014
By -, -

By Chad Waller | NAIA Staff

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – (Box score) Six players scored in double-figures as the NAIA Division I All-Star's took down the NAIA Division II All-Star's, 120-107 in the inaugural NABC-NAIA Men's Basketball All-Star Game, presented by US Bank. The contest was part of the 2014 Buffalo Funds-NAIA Division I Men’s Basketball National Championship played at Municipal Auditorium on Saturday evening.

Dominique Rambo of SAGU (Texas) was named the NABC-NAIA Men's Basketball All-Star Most Valuable Player. He finished with 23 points, six rebounds and four assists for the victors. Bruce Reed of Pikeville (Ky.) tied with team-high scoring honors with 23 points.

Coach Don Meyer, who was a former coach at Hamline (Minn.), Lipscomb (Tenn.) and Northern State (S.D.), was the Division I All-Stars mentor tonight.

"The tournament is so well organized," said Meyer, who is a NAIA Hall of Famer. "Everything is so precise and everything keeps moving and it's such a great event. I am so impressed with the family atmosphere of this event. You never want to lose that... it's beautiful. The things you all do for the kids and community service, we never want to lose that because that is what the NAIA is."

The Division I All-Star's put together an 11-4 run to close the first half to put the game away. They led 68-48 at the half. Rambo had already put in 17 points on 6-of-6 shooting in the first 20 minutes. Division II All-Star Joe Mitchell of Friends (Kan.) led all scorers with 20 points by the break.

The Division II squad went on a 10-2 run late in the second half, but the scoring by the Division I All-Star's was too much.

Mitchell ended his night with 34 points for Division II to lead all players. Adam Herman of Concordia (Ore.) was next with 12, Joshua Hart of Virginia Intermont had 11 and Dwayne Johnson of Southeastern (Fla.) and Brad Karp of Saint Xavier (Ill.) each finished with 10.

Marcel Towns of Great Falls (Mont.) chipped in 13 points for the Division I All-Star's, while Darrie Stephens of Brewton-Park (Ga.) had 12, while Brandon Davis of LSU Shreveport (La.) and Latraius Mosley of Life (Ga.) each posted 10.

All 20 players on the rosters each put points in the scoring column.

The Division I team shot 58.2 percent (46-of-79) from the field and held a 49-40 rebounding advantage.

The Division II All-Star's forced 20 turnovers and had 31 points off of turnovers.

"I was definitely honored to be able to do this, especially against coach Meyer," said NAIA Hall of Famer Al Waller, who coached the Division II All-Star's and is at College of the Ozarks (Mo.). "There was a lot of great talent and it was a fun experience. I think I could have won a few NAIA Division II national championships with this team. Being around coach Meyer -- we have been friends for a long time and I haven't seen him -- to me, that was the highlight of the whole thing."

The NABC-NAIA Men's Basketball All-Star Committee determined the selection criteria and oversaw the selection process. The All-Stars were seniors in eligibility status and were open for submission by head coaches in 101 Division I schools and 133 Division II schools. Selection criteria took into account season statistics, awards and a champions-of-character aspect. The Committee is comprised of coaches from both Division I and Division II ranks.

NAIA Division I All-Stars
No. Name School Pos. Ht.
#0 Dominique Rambo SAGU (Texas) G 6-0
#1 Markus Monroe Wayland Baptist (Texas) G 6-2
#2 Darrie Stephens Brewton-Parker (Ga.) F 6-7
#3 Xavier Roberson Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) G 6-1
#4 Zack Kleine Evangel (Mo.) G 6-5
#5 Marcel Towns Great Falls (Mont.) G 6-2
#7 Latraius Mosley Life (Ga.) G 6-6
#10 Brandon Davis LSU Shreveport (La.) G 6-3
#12 Bruce Reed Pikeville (Ky.) F 6-7
#13 Joel Barndt Rocky Mountain (Mont.) F 6-9
NAIA Division II All-Stars
No. Name School Pos. Ht.
#0 Derek Semenas Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) G 6-3
#1 Joe Mitchell Friends (Kan.) G 6-1
#2 Dwayne Johnson Southeastern (Fla.) G 6-1
#3 Devin Harris Oklahoma Wesleyan G 6-0
#4 Idris Ibn Idris Bethany (Kan.) G 6-5
#5 Joshua Hart Virginia Intermont F 6-6
#6 Kyle Lindbergh Dordt (Iowa) F 6-7
#8 Justyn Watkins Thomas (Ga.) F 6-5
#10 Adam Herman Concordia (Ore.) F 6-6
#12 Brad Karp Saint Xavier (Ill.) G 6-5

Championship Information

NAIA DI Men's Basketball Championship