Default Header

SAU's Griebel and Drenth to Participate in World University Golf Championships

December 21, 2009
By NAIA National Office

Dec. 21, 2009

DAVENPORT, Iowa - After hosting the second of three straight NAIA Men’s Golf National Championships this spring, St. Ambrose University (Iowa) head coach Jeff Griebel and senior All-American Dusty Drenth will represent the school on an international stage.

Griebel and Drenth were selected to travel to Malaga, Spain, to compete in the World University Golf Championships from June 7-11, 2010. Griebel, along with Central Alabama Community College's Dave Jennings, were picked by the NAIA and the NJCAA to coach the men's team. The team of six was selected by the two coaches based on individual record and national ranking within the respective organization.

Drenth, off his 10th-place finish at the 2009 NAIA National Championships in May, was one of the selections to compete at the Antequera Golf Club in June. He is joined on the team by NAIA representatives Justin Lower (Malone College (Ohio)) and Austin Conroy (Indiana Wesleyan) and NJCAA golfers Kurt Slattery (Indian Hills CC), Zach Primavera (Central Alabama CC) and Spencer Baldwin (Brevard CC).

Diana Thomason, the head coach at the University of Iowa and the head of the delegation for the USA National Team, will coach the women's team, made up of six NCAA Division I golfers.

The World University Golf Championships, sponsored by the International University Sports Federation, are held every two years. The 2008 event was held in South Africa. Team USA won the women's gold medal in a 13-country field while the Team USA men took fifth out of 14 countries. Japan won the gold, Spain took silver and Great Britain finished with the bronze.

More information on the World University Championships is available at

2010 World University Golf Championship USA National Team

Dusty Drenth - St. Ambrose University (Iowa) Justin Lower - Malone College (Ohio) Austin Conroy - Indiana Wesleyan University Kurt Slattery - Indian Hills Community College (Iowa) Zach Primavera - Central Alabama Community College Spencer Baldwin - Brevard Community College (Fla.)
Coach: Jeff Griebel - St. Ambrose University
Coach: Dave Jennings - Central Alabama Community College

Women's TEAM USA
Laura Anderson - University of Louisville (Ky.) Stefanie Kenoyer - Furman University (S.C.) Catherine O'Donnell - University of North Carolina Laura Kueny - Michigan State University Ashley Bauer - University of Michigan One player to be determined
Coach: Diana Thomason - University of Iowa

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship
Sports Rules - Golf (M)