Default Header

2012 NAIA Men's Soccer All-America Teams Announced

Stephen Okai - Mobile (Ala.)
December 03, 2012
By -, -

By Chad Waller, Director of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2012 NAIA Men's Soccer All-America teams on Monday. The NAIA All-America committee consists of the NAIA-Men's Soccer Coaches Association Executive Committee, the championship games committee and two men's soccer coaches based on geography. There were 11 members on each of the first Team, second Team and third Teams, and then an additional honorable mention list.

Mobile (Ala.) senior midfielder Stephen Okai (pictured top right), a native of Accra, Ghana, was honored as the Select Sport America-NAIA Men's Soccer National Player of the Year. Since the awards inception in 1997, Okai becomes the first Ram to be National Player of the Year in men's soccer.

Okai was part of a program to go 17-5-2 on the season and a runner-up finish in the NAIA National Championship. He started in 23 games and tied for second on the team in assists (9) and tallied 10 goals and 29 points. The Southern States Athletic Conference Player of the Year collected a season-best three assists against Florida Memorial on Aug. 24 and went for two goals on two different occasions this year. His goal in the 82nd minute put Mobile on the board and propelled the squad to a 2-1 semifinal victory over MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) in the NAIA National Championship.

Okai now stands as a three-time NAIA All-American after receiving second team status in 2011 and first team accolades in 2010.

Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) and Rio Grande (Ohio), two rivals in the Mid-South Conference, each placed a school-high four individuals on the All-America first, second and third teams. Lindsey Wilson adds to its NAIA-best total of all-time All-Americans with 65. Both Concordia (Calif.) and Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) had three players named.

National champion Belhaven (Miss.) landed Will Monsour on the third team.

The 2012 Select Sport America-NAIA Men's Soccer National Coach of the Year will be announced at the National Soccer Coaches' Association of America (NSCAA) National Convention held in Indianapolis, Ind., from Jan. 16 - 20.

2012 NAIA Men's Soccer All-America Teams

First Team (sorted by position)
Player School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Felipe Silva Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.) F Jr. Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Christian Ramirez Concordia (Calif.) F Sr. Garden Grove, Calif.
Jordan Green Hastings (Neb.) F Sr. Lincoln, Neb.
Richard Isberner & Rio Grande (Ohio) F Sr. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Stephen Okai^ * Mobile (Ala.) MF Sr. Accra, Ghana
Miguel Jimenez Missouri Valley MF Jr. Madrid, Spain
Lebogang Moloto & Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) MF Sr. Polokwane, South Africa
Fernando Galvan Benedictine (Kan.) D Sr. Kansas City, Mo.
Scott Parkinson Science & Arts (Okla.) D Jr. Liverpool, England
Nikola Velickovic * Columbia (Mo.) D Sr. Cacak, Serbia
Vignir Johannesson Auburn Montomgery (Ala.) GK Jr. Kopavogur, Iceland
^ 2012 Select Sport America-NAIA National Player of the Year    
Second Team (sorted by position)
Player School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Septi Danciu Concordia (Ore.) F Jr. Bristita, Romania
Joe Sbarro Benedictine (Kan.) F Jr. Kansas City, Mo.
Agust Arnarson Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) F Fr. Kopavogur, Iceland
Oliver Hewitt-Fisher Rio Grande (Ohio) MF Sr. Swansea, Wales
Gaetan Massiah Mobile (Ala.) MF Fr. Bordeaux, France
Yazeed Davids Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) MF Fr. Cape Town, South Africa
Luis Trude William Carey (Miss.) MF So. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Christopher Dillon * Mobile (Ala.) D Sr. Bournemouth, England
Sicelo Buthelezi Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) D Sr. Johannesburg, South Africa
Matias Aristegui Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) D Sr. North Miami, Fla.
Julio Trejo Concordia (Calif.) GK Jr. Garden Grove, Calif.
Third Team (sorted by position)
Player School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Perry Sansford Science & Arts (Okla.) F Jr. Colchester, England
Emeka Maduka Southern Poly (Ga.) F Sr. Lagos, Nigeria
Eddy Campbell Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) F Sr. Montigo Bay, Jamaica
Will Monsour Belhaven (Miss.) F Jr. Shreveport, La.
Nathan Would Thomas (Ga.) MF Sr. Cleethorpes, England
Thiago Pereira Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.) MF Sr. Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Daniel Pena Southern Wesleyan (S.C.) MF So. Bogota, Colombia
Brian Kudron Hastings (Neb.) D Sr. Omaha, Neb.
Omar De La Piedra Concordia (Calif.) D Jr. Los Angeles, Calif.
Mike Burney Rio Grande (Ohio) D Sr. Annandale, Va.
Jack Marchant Rio Grande (Ohio) GK Sr. Leeds, England

& 2011 NAIA First Team All-Americans
* 2011 NAIA Second Team All-Americans

Honorable Mention (sorted by school)
Player School
Tyler Fischer Aquinas (Mich.)
Lucas Almeida Ashford (Iowa)
Tom Cosgrave Belhaven (Miss.)
James Anderson Brescia (Ky.)
William Prado Concordia (Calif.)
Kyle Breckan Cornerstone (Mich.)
Fabio Pena Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Isaac Sanchez Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Ryan Adamson Grand View (Iowa)
Ross Alexander Grand View (Iowa)
Juan Guzman Great Falls (Mont.)
Liam Barrett Illinois Tech
Jade Johnson Jamestown (N.D.)
Jose Velasco Kansas Wesleyan
Francisco Cantero Kansas Wesleyan
Yuta Nomura Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Amaury Barritault Martin Methodist (Tenn.)
Johnny Nuthall McPherson (Kan.)
Andrew Cota Menlo (Calif.)
Eric Angell Menlo (Calif.)
Chris Eriksson MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Chrispin Ocheing Milligan (Tenn.)
Marcus Johansson Northwood (Fla.)
Gordy Gurson Robert Morris (Ill.)
Oliver Gore Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Nick Heffernan Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Brinton Nute SCAD Savannah (Ga.)
Bryan Byars Science & Arts (Okla.)
Dennis Kramer Southern Poly (Ga.)
Douglas Andrade Southern Wesleyan (S.C.)
David Edwardson Spring Arbor (Mich.)
Jhona Rico St. Thomas (Fla.)
Ricardo Diegues Texas at Brownsville
Henry Moody Texas at Brownsville
Johannes Fortspointer William Carey (Miss.)

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Soccer Championship
Sport Rules - Soccer (M)