Default Header

2013 NAIA Men's Soccer All-America Teams Announced

December 09, 2013
By -, -

By: Sam Knehans, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2013 NAIA Men’s Soccer All-America teams Monday. The NAIA All-America committee consists of the NAIA-Men’s Soccer Coaches Association Executive Committee, the National Championship Games Committee and four men’s soccer coaches—selected based on geography. Each team—first, second and third—consists of 11 members.

Rocky Mountain (Mont.) senior forward Oliver Gore, a Stafford, England, native, was selected as the 2013 Select Sport America-NAIA National Player of the Year. Gore is the first Battlin’ Bear to earn the honor since the award’s inception in 1997.

Gore, who was an All-America honorable mention last season, led Rocky Mountain to back-to-back National Championship appearances in 2012 and 2013—the only National Championship berths in school history. Gore scored 20 of the Battlin’ Bears’ 44 goals, a team-high, and recorded nine assists on the season. He led Rocky Mountain in nearly every offensive category including points (49), shots (77), shots on goal (42) and game-winning goals (2). Nationally, Gore ranked among the leaders in total points (6th, 49), points per game (6th, 2.72), goals per game (7th, 1.11), total goals (8th, 20), shots per game (21st, 4.28), shots on goal per game (21st, 2.33), total assists (39th, 9) and assists per game (39th, .50). The Battlin’ Bears were eliminated in the NAIA Men’s Soccer National Championship Opening Round, losing to eventual quarterfinalist Hastings (Neb.), 3-2, in overtime.

MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) and Oklahoma Wesleyan were the only programs to land multiple players on the first team. Daniel Dunleavy, a second-team selection, was the lone All-American for national champion Martin Methodist (Tenn.). National runner-up Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) led all programs with four All-America selections—Taian Souza (First Team), Sebastian Wladyko (Second Team), Vignir Johannesson (Second Team) and Elvar Sigurdsson (Third Team).

Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) adds to its NAIA-leading total of all-time All-Americans, which sits at 67 with two selections this year. Former-member Simon Fraser (B.C.) (44), Mobile (Ala.) (43), Westmont (Calif.) (41), Auburn Montgomery (40) and Rio Grande (Ohio) (39) trail the Blue Raiders.

The 2013 Select Sport America-NAIA National Coach of the Year will be announced at the National Soccer Coaches’ Association of America (NSCAA) National Convention, held in Philadelphia, Pa., from Jan. 15-19, 2014.

2013 NAIA Men’s Soccer All-America Teams

First Team (sorted by position)

Player School Pos. Year Hometown
Oliver Gore & Rocky Mountain (Mont.) F Sr. Stafford, England
Luiz Filho Rio Grande (Ohio) F So. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Lucas Cordeiro Oklahoma Wesleyan F Jr. Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Lucas Almeida Oklahoma Wesleyan MF Sr. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Luis Trude ^ William Carey (Miss.) MF Jr. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Miguel Jimenez * Missouri Valley MF Sr. Madrid, Spain
Aurelien Norest MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) D Jr. Pontoise, France
Ally MacDonald Embry-Riddle (Fla.) D Sr. Inverness, Scotland
Taian Souza Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) D Sr. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Alex Guyer Hastings (Neb.) GK So. Lincoln, Neb.
Chris Eriksson MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) GK Sr. Kungsbacka, Sweden

Second Team (sorted by position)

Player School Pos. Year Hometown
Septi Danciu ^ Concordia (Ore.) F Sr. Bristita, Romania
Mohammed Dumbuya Bethel (Tenn.) F Sr. Cobb, Ga.
Lucas Almeida Ashford (Iowa) F Sr. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Nicholas Alexander Missouri Valley F Sr. Manchester, England
Eduardo Cruz Belhaven (Miss.) MF Sr. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Sebastian Wladyko Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) MF So. Rangsdorf, Germany
Scott Smith Marymount (Calif.) MF Sr. Newcastle, England
Musa Mawanda Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) D Sr. Kampala, Uganda
Andy Griffin Baker (Kan.) D Sr. Olathe, Kan.
Daniel Dunleavy Martin Methodist (Tenn.) D Jr. Dublin, Ireland
Vignir Johannesson * Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) GK Sr. Kopavogur, Iceland

Third Team (sorted by position)

Player School Pos. Year Hometown
Xavier Baumgart Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) F Jr. Mulhouse, France
Elvar Sigurdsson Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) F Jr. Kopavogur, Iceland
Daniel Chew Biola (Calif.) F Sr. Lake Forest, Calif.
Daniel Dreier Ashford (Iowa) MF Fr. Wellendorf, Germany
Jade Mesias Benedictine (Kan.) MF Sr. Auckland City, New Zealand
Jonny Macadam Grand View (Iowa) MF Sr. Glasgow, Scotland
Tyler Ortlieb Hastings (Neb.) D Jr. Gretna, Neb.
Ivan Ristic Oklahoma Wesleyan D So. Belgrade, Serbia
Maximiliano Viera Rio Grande (Ohio) D Sr. Montevideo, Uruguay
Keldon Hatch Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) D Sr. San Diego, Calif.
Jon Dodson Rio Grande (Ohio) GK Jr. Tiffin, Ohio

& 2013 Select Sport America-NAIA National Player of the Year
* 2012 NAIA First Team All-Americans
^ 2012 NAIA Second Team All-Americans

Honorable Mention (sorted by school)

Player School
Fernando Machado Ashford (Iowa)
Matt Bickley Baker (Kan.)
Joe Sbarro ^ Benedictine (Kan.)
Kevin Kiser Biola (Calif.)
James Anderson Brescia (Ky.)
Daniel Branley Bryan (Tenn.)
Scott Rice Cal State San Marcos
Roraigh Yearwood Campbellsville (Ky.)
Oliver Bell Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
Rafael Ramos Columbia (Mo.)
Mario Soto Concordia (Calif.)
Adrian Padilla Concordia (Calif.)
Ray Estrada Concordia (Calif.)
Dzenan Catic Davenport (Mich.)
Nicklas Petersson Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Rene Enang Georgia Gwinnett
Ross Alexander Grand View (Iowa)
Erik Hundevad Grand View (Iowa)
Joao Junqueira Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.)
Thomas Boss Hastings (Neb.)
Geoff Bowman Indiana Wesleyan
Johnny Nuthall McPherson (Kan.)
Matias Fernandez MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Sam Blackman Midland (Neb.)
Adam Wood Midland (Neb.)
Adam Black Oklahoma City
Liam Madden Science & Arts (Okla.)
Jack Brett St. Thomas (Texas)
Ivan Kovacevic Texas Wesleyan
Rowan Liburd Thomas (Ga.)
Miguel Teos Wayland Baptist (Texas)
John-Ramses Thomas Wayland Baptist (Texas)

Championship Information

Sport Rules - Soccer (M)