Athletic Trainers

Administrator Manual

Calendar   |  5-Year Championships Calendar   |  National Awards & Forms
NAIA-ATA Athletic Trainers can use this manual to access information about Officers, Committees, Conference information, guidelines, NAIA policies and procedures, rules and regulations. It also provides details about the convention, business meetings and previous meeting minutes and decisions.


November 2017

Medical Staff Information Sheet 
Medical Check List for each NAIA championship sport
NAIA-ATA Injury Report
Championship Athletic Training Evaluation
NAIA Championship Concussion Policy
NAIA Soft Head Gear Policy

Medical recommendations for athletic trainers to follow ensuring a safe and competitive environment for athletic participation. The NAIA utilizes the NCAA Sport Medicine Handbook. The Handbook is being provided as a resource and reference for its member institutions.

 NAIA Championship Handbook

 Follow the Sports Science Institute on Twitter - @NCAA_SSI

• Cramer Sports Medicine
• NCAA Sports Medicine Health and Safety 
• Concussions in Athletes: Where We Are and What to do Now? (special report by Jackson Lewis)

• NAIA Catastrophic Plan of Insurance
• Catastrophic Claim Form
• Catastrophic Claim Disclosure Form 
• ATA Dropbox

Professional Associations

National Athletic Trainers Association
College Athletic Trainers Society
Board of Certification for the Athletic Trainer

NAIA Athletic Trainers Association

• NAIA-ATA Board of Directors
• Committees & Liaisons
• Section Representatives
• Apply for a position on the NAIA-ATA Board of Directors, Next Election in 2019.
 NAIA-ATA Constitution
• NAIA-ATA Bylaws
• NAIA-ATA Newsletters Spring 2014 | Spring 2013 | Fall 2012 | Fall 2011
• NAIA-ATA Business Meeting Minutes
• NAIA-ATA Business Meeting: June 27th Houston, TX at the NATA Convention AGENDA


The NAIA-ATA sponsors two awards during the year. Information, criteria and nomination materials can be found below.

• Athletic Trainer of the Year 
The award is given to a NAIA athletic trainer who has distinguished themselves as a model of the athletic training profession. Deadline: July 15 conference winner submitted to national office 

• Al Ortolani Undergraduate Scholarship 
The award is given to an NAIA student trainer endorsed by the ATA and is used to assist the student in their pursuit of a profession in athletic training. Deadline: April 15 conference winner submitted to national office 

Available to nominate NAIA athletic trainers for the following awards: Athletic Trainer, Assistant Athletic Trainer, Above & Beyond. Deadline: January 31

• Drug Free Sport Fund Continuing Education Award
This award was established to recognize the significant contributions of athletic trainers to the prevention of drug abuse by athletes and, in gratitude, to provide monetary award(s) for continuing education of athletic trainers employed in the high school, college, university or 501(c) 3 public charity setting. Deadline: February 15

2016 Award Recipients

Athletic Trainer of the Year
Tracy Collins, Lewis-Clark State

Al Ortolani Schlarship Award Winner
Sydney Rios, Langston

Past Award Winners
Athletic Trainer of the Year

2016 Tracy Collins, Lewis-Clark State
2015 Bill Dill, Lindenwood-Belleville
2014 Gary Turbak, College of the Ozarks
2013 Jeff Ward, California State University-Maritime
2012 Jill Pratte, Central Methodist University, (Mo.)
2011 Ryan "Pete" Manely, Sterling College, (Kan.)  
2010 Justin White, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, (Fla.)  
2009 Lynn Bott, Baker University (Kan.) 
2008 Michael Livergood, Bellevue University (Neb.) 
2007 Adam Thompson, Indiana Wesleyan University  
2006 Jason Durocher, Hastings College (Neb.) 
2005 Jim Richards, Northwest College (Wash.) 
2004 Diane Lloyd, College of the Southwest (N.M.) 
2003 No candidate named 
2002 No candidate named 
2001 Vince Diller, Sterling College (Kan.)
2000  Daniel Dodson, Langston University (Okla.)

Al Ortolani Undergraduate Scholarship

2016 Sydney Ros, Langston
2014 Marguarite Montjoy, California State University - San Marcos
2013 Robin Flowers, Sterling College
2012 Ben Snyder, Missouri Valley College
2011 Grace Savage, Texas Wesleyan University  
2010 Jennifer Asberry, Missouri Valley College (Mo.)
2009 Devin M. Jagow, Concordia University (Calif.)  
2008 Abigail Lillich, Azusa Pacific University (Calif.)  
2007 Lacey Troth, Point Loma Nazarene University (Calif.)
2006 Chris Loubier, Urbana University (Ohio)  
2005 Jennifer Rambur, University of Mary (N.D.)
2004 Justin Gray, MidAmerica Nazarene University (Kan.)
2003 Jane Tschetter, Si Tanka University (S.D.)
2002 Teresa Kircher, Central Methodist University (Mo.)
2001 Jeff Fluty, Southwestern College (Kan.)
2000  Marie Monical, Southwestern College (Kan.)
1999 Janelle Grow, Western Montana  
1998 Jenny Atkins, MidAmerica Nazarene University (Kan.)
1997 Jennifer Amborn, MidAmerica Nazarene University (Kan.)

NAIA Hall of Fame
1989 Gary Hazelrigg, Health South Rehab Corporation
2015 April Reed, Azusa Pacific University

2011 Robert Carmichael, Culver-Stockton University (Mo.)  
2010 April Reed, Azusa Pacific University (Calif.)  
2009 Susan Ganz, Point Loma University (Calif.)  
2007 Randy Biggerstaff, Lindenwood University (Mo.)
2005 Susan Ganz, Point Loma University (Calif.)