NAIA Strategic Plan

Financial Audit Report

Why Choose the NAIA?

2017 Fall Agenda 

2017 Fall COP Meeting Presentation


Chief executive officers of NAIA institutions are critical to the success of the organization. They assume active leadership roles in governance affairs within each conference and are major advocates for the unique approach that the NAIA takes to college athletics.

The Council of Presidents (COP) is composed of institutional chief executive officers elected to represent conferences, independent institutions and members at-large. 


Kent Henning, Chair
Grand View University, Iowa

Paul Ague, Chair-Elect
San Diego Christian College

Maggie Huber
Presentation College, South Dakota
Arvid Johnson
University of St. Francis, Illinois

John Reynders
Morningside College, Iowa

Lester Newman
Jarvis Christian College, Texas
jim carr naia Jim Carr
President & CEO
NAIA Staff Liaison


American Midwest Conference Dr. John Pieper Saint Louis College of Pharmacy,  MO
Appalachian Athletic Conference Dr. David Olive Bluefield College, VA
At-Large Mr. Kent Henning Grand View University, IA
At-Large Dr. John Reynders Morningside College, IA
At-Large Dr. Art Snyder Indiana Institute of Technology, IN
California Pacific Conference Dr. Frank Ayers Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, AZ
Cascade Collegiate Conference Dr. Andrea Cook Warner Pacific College, OR
Central States Football League Dr. Kermit Bridges Southwestern Assemblies of God University, TX
Chicagoland College Athletic Conference Dr. Arvid Johnson University of Saint Francis, IL
Crossroads League Mr. Dan Elsener Marian University, IN
Frontier Conference Dr. Don Blackketter Montana Tech of the University of Montana, MT
Golden State Athletic Conference Dr. Paul Ague San Diego Christian College, CA
Great Plains Athletic Conference Dr. Amy Novak Dakota Wesleyan University, SD
Gulf Coast Athletic Conference Dr. Rod Smothers Philander Smith College, AR
Heart of America Athletic Conference Dr. Roger Drake Central Methodist University, MO
Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Dr. Jules Glanzer Tabor College, KS
Mid-South Conference Dr. Larry Cockrum University of the Cumberlands, KY 
North Star Athletic Association Dr. Margaret Huber Presentation College, SD
Red River Athletic Conference Dr. Lester Newman Jarvis Christian College, TX
River States Conference Dr. Ray Wallace  Indiana University Southeast, IN 
Sooner Athletic Conference Dr. Chip Pollard John Brown University, AR
Southern States Athletic Conference Dr. Tommy King William Carey University, MS
The Sun Conference Dr. Al Panu University of South Carolina Beaufort, SC
Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Dr. Curt Gielow Concordia University, MI