Default Header

2012 Womenís Soccer National Championship Qualifiers Announced

November 11, 2012
By -, -
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has officially released the NAIA Women's Soccer National Championship qualifiers for the 29th annual event. The 31-team tournament will get underway with the National Championship Opening Round at 15 campus locations on Nov. 17. The 15 Opening Round winners, as well as host Mobile (Ala.), will advance to the national championship final site from Nov. 26 - Dec. 1 in Orange Beach, Ala.

The national championship bracket will be released Monday at 2 p.m. CST.

Four-time defending national champion Lee (Tenn.) earned a trip after winning both the Southern States Athletic Conference tournament and regular-season titles. The Lady Flames, who enter the tournament with a 20-match postseason win streak, are 1-of-5 qualifiers to have won at least one national championship. Westmont (Calif.), an at-large selection out of the Golden State Athletic Conference, boasts the most national crowns amongst the field with five.

Eight squads punched a ticket to their first-ever national championship with an automatic berth: Carlow (Pa.), Cumberland (Tenn.), Davenport (Mich.), Doane (Neb.), Embry-Riddle (Ariz.), Faulkner (Ala.), Montreat (N.C.) and Viterbo (Wis.).

This year's 31 teams include 24 automatic qualifiers, - awarded to conference/independent/unaffiliated group tournament and regular-season champions - six at-large bids and one host berth. There are 17 teams that qualified for the 2011 championship and are back again this year.

The six at-large teams were selected based on the final official NAIA Women's Soccer Modified Ratings Percentage Index (MRPI). The MRPI consists of the team's modified winning percentage, their opponents' winning percentage and the cumulative ratings points from the NAIA Women's Soccer Coaches' Top 25 Poll. Each of the three values has a weighted percentage calculated in the MRPI. The MRPI modifies the value of home/away/neutral results and adds more value for games against opponents ranked in their respective national poll. To view the final MRPI, please click here.

Three of this year's qualifiers have made 10-or-more national championship appearances, led by Westmont with 15. Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) is second with 14 trips to the event, while Concordia (Ore.) rests third with 12.

NeuLion, the NAIA's official video-streaming company of 12 select NAIA national championship events, will be broadcasting all final site games of the 2012 Women's Soccer National Championship. Single day packages can be purchased for $9.95, while an all-tournament pass is available for $29.95. For more information and to pre-register, click here.

2012 Women's Soccer National Championship Qualifiers
School Qualification Record^ Championship Appearances Last Time Championship Record Titles
Ashford (Iowa) Association of Independent Institutions Tournament Champion 13-4-2 2nd 2010 0-1-0 0
Baker (Kan.) At-Large No. 3 12-6-1 3rd 2011 5-1-1 0
Bellevue (Neb.) Midlands Collegiate Athletic Tournament Champion 13-3-1 3rd 2011 0-1-1 0
Benedictine (Kan.) At-Large No. 5 15-2-3 2nd 2008 0-1-0 0
Cal State San Marcos At-Large No. 6 11-5-3 4th 2011 1-3-0 0
Carlow (Pa.) Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Tournament Champion 14-1-1 1st - 0-0-0 0
Concordia (Ore.) Cascade Collegiate Tournament Champion 15-2-2 12th 2011 21-11-2 0
Cumberland (Tenn.) Mid-South Tournament Champion 18-2-0 1st - 0-0-0 0
Davenport (Mich.) Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Tournament Champion 17-2-1 1st - 0-0-0 0
Doane (Neb.) Great Plains Athletic Tournament Champion 14-5-0 1st - 0-0-0 0
Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) California Pacific Tournament Champion 13-4-3 1st - 0-0-0 0
Embry-Riddle (Fla.) The Sun Tournament Champion 15-5-0 8th 2011 3-8-0 0
Faulkner (Ala.) Southern States Athletic Tournament Runner-Up 7-11-2 1st - 0-0-0 0
Graceland (Iowa) Heart of America Athletic Tournament Champion 17-2-1 7th 2011 6-4-4 0
Kansas Wesleyan Kansas Collegiate Athletic Tournament Champion 19-1-0 4th 2010 1-3-1 0
Lee (Tenn.) Southern States Athletic Tournament Champion 17-1-1 9th 2011 26-3-2 4
Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) At-Large No. 1 15-4-1 14th 2011 23-12-2 2
Martin Methodist (Tenn.) Unaffiliated Group (Frontier/TranSouth) Tournament Champion 15-3-0 9th 2011 14-4-3 2
Mobile (Ala.) Host Berth 15-3-2 7th 2011 12-5-0 1
Montreat (N.C.) Appalachian Athletic Tournament Champion 13-3-5 1st - 0-0-0 0
Northwood (Fla.) The Sun Regular Season Champion 13-4-2 6th 2011 4-6-0 0
Oklahoma City Sooner Athletic Tournament Champion 19-1-0 7th 2011 6-6-2 0
Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Regular Season Champion 16-3-0 3rd 2011 1-2-0 0
Park (Mo.) American Midwest Tournament Champion 12-6-0 9th 2008 4-9-2 0
Robert Morris (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Tournament Champion 14-6-0 7th 2011 6-5-1 0
Spring Arbor (Mich.) Crossroads League Tournament Champion 17-2-1 4th 2011 1-3-0 0
Texas at Brownsville Red River Athletic Tournament Champion 14-3-1 3rd 2011 0-2-0 0
Vanguard (Calif.) Golden State Athletic Tournament Champion 16-2-0 2nd 2009 1-1-0 0
Viterbo (Wis.) Midwest Collegiate Tournament Champion 15-2-1 1st - 0-0-0 0
Westmont (Calif.) At-Large No. 4 12-5-1 15th 2011 28-5-6 5
William Carey (Miss.) At-Large No. 2 14-4-1 5th 2010 5-4-1 0

^Records as of Nov. 11, as submitted by the school using Dakstats Web-sync process

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Soccer Championship
Sports Rules - Soccer (W)