Default Header

Men's Soccer Championship Qualifiers Announced

Point Park (Pa.) wins 2012 Unaffiliated Group Tournament
November 11, 2012
By -, -

By Chad Waller | Director of Communications & Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has officially released the 32 qualifiers for the NAIA Men's Soccer National Championship Opening Round. The teams will play at 16 on-campus locations in the National Championship Opening Round on Nov. 17. The 16 opening round winners will advance to the 54th annual national championship final site from Nov. 26 - Dec. 1 at the Emory Folmar Soccer Complex in Montgomery, Ala.

The bracket of the National Championship Opening Round will be released Monday at 1 p.m. CST.

The 32 teams are comprised of 24 automatic qualifiers awarded to conference/independent/unaffiliated group tournament and regular-season champions. The rest of the field is made up of eight at-large teams, selected by the final NAIA Men's Soccer Modified Ratings Percentage Index (MRPI) announced today. Fourteen clubs are repeat performers from last year, while eight teams will be competing in their first-ever championship

Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), who is ranked No. 1 in both the latest Coaches' Top 25 poll and the NAIA MRPI, headlines the qualifiers. The Blue Raiders are the defending national champs and earned an automatic bid by winning the Mid-South Conference tournament on Saturday.

Lindsey Wilson leads all qualifiers with its 20th appearance and 45 championship wins. The victories are the most all-time in the NAIA and the 20 trips is tied for second in history. The Blue Raiders, who are making their 19th-straight trip overall, is one of four current teams with 10-or-more appearances. Mobile (Ala.) will look to improve upon its 21-14-2 record in its 16th appearance. Rio Grande (Ohio) (12) and Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) (10) are the other two with double-digit trips.

The Southern States Athletic Conference, which had the most representation of all leagues in each of the Top 25 polls this year, again sends the most teams to the national championship. Auburn Montgomery, Belhaven (Miss.), Mobile and Southern Poly (Ga.) all hail from the SSAC. The Heart of America Athletic Conference places Benedictine (Kan.), MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) and Missouri Valley in the championship.

Five teams in this year's field have won at least one national championship, led by the nine rings earned by Lindsey Wilson. The Blue Raiders took home the 2011 title with a 3-2 overtime win over Hastings (Neb.), which put them two national championships shy of the all-time record of 11 held by former member Quincy (Ill.). Belhaven, Hastings, Mobile and Rio Grande (Ohio) all have won a previous championship.
The eight at-large berths were awarded based on the final official NAIA Men's Soccer MRPI. The MRPI consists of the team's modified winning percentage, their opponents' winning percentage and the cumulative ratings points from the NAIA Women's Soccer Coaches' Top 25 Poll. Each of the three values has a weighted percentage calculated in the MRPI. The MRPI modifies the value of home/away/neutral results and adds more value for games against opponents ranked in their respective national poll. To view the final MRPI, please click here.

NeuLion, the NAIA's official video-streaming company of 12 select NAIA national championship events, will be broadcasting all matches of the 2012 Men's Soccer National Championship final site in Montgomery, Ala. Single day packages can be purchased for $9.95, while an all-tournament pass is available for $29.95. For more information and to pre-register, click here.

2012 Men's Soccer National Championship Qualifiers

School Qualification Season Record Championship Appearances Last Time Record Titles
Aquinas (Mich.) Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Tournament Champion 13-5-3 2nd 2000 0-1-0 0
Ashford (Iowa) At-Large No. 8 12-3-4 2nd 2009 0-1-0 0
Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) Southern States Athletic Tournament Champion 16-3-2 10th 2007 15-9-2 0
Belhaven (Miss.) At-Large No. 6 14-4-1 9th 2011 9-8-4 1
Benedictine (Kan.) Heart of America Athletic Tournament Champion 12-2-4 4th 2009 4-3-0 0
Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Regular Season Champion 13-4-2 1st  -- 0-0-0 0
Columbia (Mo.) At-Large No. 3 14-1-5 4th 2010 1-3-0 0
Concordia (Calif.) Golden State Athletic Tournament Champion 17-2-1 5th 2008 3-3-1 0
Concordia (Ore.) Cascade Collegiate Tournament Champion 15-3-2 7th 2011 0-6-2 0
Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) California Pacific Tournament Champion 14-2-3 1st  -- 0-0-0 0
Florida Memorial The Sun Tournament Champion 8-10-1 1st  -- 0-0-0 0
Grand View (Iowa) Midwest Collegiate Tournament Champion 9-7-2 8th 2011 5-7-0 0
Hannibal - LaGrange (Mo.) American Midwest Tournament Champion 14-4 3rd 2011 0-1-2 0
Hastings (Neb.) Great Plains Athletic Tournament Champion 15-6 9th 2011 15-5-3 1
Jamestown (N.D.) Association of Independent Institutions Tournament Champion 15-4-1 1st  -- 0-0-0 0
Kansas Wesleyan Kansas Collegiate Athletic Tournament Champion 16-2-2 4th 2011 0-3-0 0
Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) Mid-South Tournament Champion 19-1 20th 2011 45-10-4 9
MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) At-Large No. 4 12-1-7 3rd 2011 1-2-0 0
Missouri Valley At-Large No. 7 12-6-2 3rd 2011 0-2-0 0
Mobile (Ala.) Southern States Athletic Regular Season Champion 14-4-1 16th 2011 21-14-2 1
Oklahoma Baptist Sooner Athletic Tournament Champion 8-8-1 3rd 2010 1-2-0 0
Oklahoma Wesleyan Midlands Collegiate Athletic Tournament Champion 19-0-1 2nd 2011 0-1-0 0
Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Tournament Champion 13-4-4 2nd 2009 0-1-0 0
Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) Red River Athletic Regular Season Champion 12-7-1 1st  -- 0-0-0 0
Point Park (Penn.) Unaffiliated Group (Gulf Coast/Kentucky Intercollegiate) Tournament Champion 11-6 1st  -- 0-0-0 0
Rio Grande (Ohio) At-Large No. 1 15-2-1 12th 2011 19-8-2 1
Rocky Mountain (Mont.) Unaffiliated Group (Frontier/TranSouth) Tournament Champion 13-2-2 1st  -- 0-0-0 0
Science & Arts (Okla.) At-Large No. 2 13-0-4 4th 2011 4-3-0 0
Southern Poly (Ga.) At-Large No. 5 13-5-1 4th 2011 4-3-0 0
Spring Arbor (Mich.) Crossoads League Tournament Champion 16-3-2 4th 1979 3-6-0 0
Tennessee Wesleyan Appalachian Athletic Tournament Champion 14-3-3 3rd 2001 0-4-0 0
Texas Wesleyan Red River Athletic Tournament Runner-Up 9-7-2 1st  -- 0-0-0 0

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Soccer Championship
Sport Rules - Soccer (M)