Default Header

ESPN3 Carries DI MBB Championship Fab Four Monday

Evangel v LSU Shreveport
March 18, 2013
By -, -

By Chad Waller, NAIA Director of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The 76th annual Buffalo Funds-NAIA Division I Men's Basketball National Championship is down to four teams and it will be a battle of two conferences on Monday. The Mid-South Conference (MSC) sends Georgetown (Ky.) and Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) to face SAGU (Texas) and LSU Shreveport (La.) out of the Red River Athletic Conference (RRAC). The Fab Four tips off at 6:03 p.m. CDT with Lindsey Wilson and SAGU, and Georgetown battles LSU Shreveport at 8:03 p.m. Both semifinal contests will be broadcast live on ESPN3.

The games will also be available for an audio broadcast by 610 Sports Radio Kansas City. Click here to listen to the games.

ESPN3 is available through your TV service provider or high speed internet provider. Click here for a list of participating video providers. Click here for a list of high speed internet providers. You may also download the WatchESPN App for IOS or Android mobile phones and tablets. ESPN3 is also accessible on the Xbox device. Click here for more information on the WatchESPN App and Xbox.

Lindsey Wilson, LSU Shreveport and SAGU are all first-time participants in the Fab Four. Georgetown is making its 13th trip to the semifinal round where the Tigers are 4-8. Georgetown is playing in its third Fab Four since 2008, but is trying to snap a four-game semifinal losing streak.

No. 2 Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) (32-4) vs. No. 6 SAGU (Texas) (32-4), 6:03 p.m. CDT - ESPN3
Kalen Kimberland leads Lindsey Wilson into its contest with SAGU. The guard from Columbia, Ky., has averaged 17.0 points in three championship games, up four points from his season average. He also has grabbed a team-best 6.7 rebounds. As a team, the Blue Raiders have made more free throws (65) than their opponents have attempted (62) in three contests this week. Champions of the Mid-South Conference tournament, Lindsey Wilson defeated Rocky Mountain (Mont.) in the first round, 84-79, eliminated Faulkner (Ala.), 66-60, in the second round and MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.), 83-74, in the quarterfinals.

SAGU is playing in just its second overall national championship, losing in the 2006 first round. The Lions got past the likes of Science & Arts (Okla.), 62-58, Martin Methodist (Tenn.), 72-68, and No. 14 Montana Western, 84-79. Four players average in double-figures with Dominique Rambo leading the way with 19.3 points and 15 steals (5.0 spg). Jonathan Walter adds 12.7 and a team-best 6.0 rebounds. The Lions have not shot well in the tournament (38.7) but has forced 20.3 turnovers per game. SAGU earned a berth to this year's event by winning the RRAC regular-season championship.

LSU Shreveport (La.) (27-6) vs. No. 13 Georgetown (Ky.) (26-8), 8:03 p.m. CDT - ESPN3
LSU Shreveport's (27-6) Rodney Milum and Brandon Davis bring the best scoring tandem into Monday night's game with Georgetown. Of all players with at least two games, Milum is the scoring leader with 24.3 points per contest. He has nailed 16 treys and shot 47.1 from behind the arc. Davis has posted three double-doubles in the championship and averages 23.7 points and 13.7 rebounds. LSU Shreveport has lived on the charity stripe, holding a 71-33 scoring advantage in this championship. The Pilots are the only school to take down three seeded teams en route to a Fab Four appearance: No. 8 Pikeville (Ky.), 91-87, No. 9 Evangel (Mo.), 77-70, and No. 1 Columbia (Mo.), 79-78.

Georgetown (26-8) is in the championship by virtue of earning the At-Large No. 7 seed. Vic Moses has been the inside force with 19.7 points and 15.0 rebounds in three tournament games. He has posted double-doubles in three-straight games and seven of his last eight overall. He is the main reason why the Tigers hold a +17.0 rebounding advantage this tournament. Monty Wilson (15.3 ppg) and Garel Craig (15.0) add the offensive depth for the Tigers. Georgetown has gotten past St. Thomas (Texas), 70-68, No. 4 John Brown (Ark.), 80-67, and Culver-Stockton (Mo.), 86-82.

The Fab Four winners will advance to Tuesday's national championship final, televised live nationally on CBS Sports Network at 7:35 p.m. CDT.

Championship Information

NAIA DI Men's Basketball Championship
Official Merchandise