Default Header

Menís Outdoor Track & Field Athlete of the Week - No. 4

Willy Irwin - Concordia (Ore.)
April 10, 2013
By -, -

By Travis Rae, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Willy Irwin of Concordia (Ore.) has been named NAIA National Men’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week and Derik Douglas of Oklahoma Baptist has been tabbed as the NAIA National Men’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Irwin and Douglas were selected based on their performances from April 1 – 7.

Irwin, a junior from Clovis, Calif., claims his third field athlete of the week honor this season, after winning the shot put and discus at the Willamette Invite, hosted by NCAA Division III Willamette (Ore.) on April 6. Irwin set a shot put meet record and new school record with his toss of 19.10 meters (62-8). His shot put throw was the best NAIA throw since 2009 when Chad Smith of Concordia (Calif.) launched a heave of19.15 meters (62-10). Irwin also upped his season best in the discus with a 55.14 meter (180-11) effort.

Douglas, a senior from Houston, Texas, had a NAIA best time in the 400 meter hurdles by clocking a time of 52.74 seconds in the NCAA Division I Texas Tech Open on April 6. Douglas also compiled the second best time in the NAIA with a time of 14.25 in the 110 high hurdles. He also helped his 4x400 relay team to a third place finish in a time of 3:11.18.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here.

Track Nominees: Seth Boomsma, Dakota State (S.D.); Nathan Swanson, Corban (Ore.); Robert Altenburger, Judson (Ill.); Tyler Powell, Berea (Ky.); Ty'rell Fields, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Robert Barnes, Wiley (Texas); Troy Jones, Texas Wesleyan; Matt Porter, Northwest (Wash.); Wes Jones, Evergreen (Wash.); Sam Atkin, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Taiheem Pleasant, Concordia (Neb.); David Walters, Langston (Okla.); Kyle Hall, Indiana East; Brandon Sherier, McPherson (Kan.); Jonathan Gears, Cumberlands (Ky.); Jeremiah Gerardy, Bethany (Kan.); Dustin Brummel, Davenport (Mich.); Cedrique Smith, Sterling (Kan.); Terrell Shannon , William Woods (Mo.); Raimon Clay, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Gabriel Green, William Penn (Iowa); DeMarcus Jackson, Central Methodist (Mo.); Miguel Flores, Great Falls (Mont.); Logan Moore, Siena Heights (Mich.); Robert Dickey, Taylor (Ind.); Ricky Williams, South Carolina Beaufort; Alex Xavier, Warner (Fla.); Carlos Cox , Friends (Kan.); Hunter Gibson, Shawnee State (Ohio); Tyler Davis, Missouri Valley; Tyler Mize, Tennessee Wesleyan; Dareyus Person, Indiana Tech; Eric Kieffer, Webber International (Fla.); Jeff Cherry, Aquinas (Mich.); Donovan Graham, Grace (Ind.); Billy Funk, Goshen (Ind.); Casey Gauss, Indiana Wesleyan; Joash Osoro, William Carey (Miss.); Alphonso Cooper, Midland (Neb.); Stephen Broadhurst, Oklahoma City; Monte Larsen, Morningside (Iowa); Dylan Reyes, St. Francis (Ill.); Andy Reidsma, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Jordan Reeher, Concordia (Ore.); Isacc Placencia, Lubbock Christian (Texas); Sean McKenzie, British Columbia.

Field Nominees: Kodey Salow, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Jacob Ybarra, Corban (Ore.); Joe Reisinger, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Cy Williams, Grand View (Iowa); John Murray, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Garrett Tenney, Jamestown (N.D.); Marcus Eggleston, Langston (Okla.); Jerwaine Hall, Florida Memorial; Jermaine Jones, Culver-Stockton (Mo.); Paul Rotering, McPherson (Kan.); Adim Rogers, Ottawa (Kan.); Albert Huntley, Cumberlands (Ky.); Mauro Parnell, Doane (Neb.); Joshua Kles, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Anthony Stockton, William Woods (Mo.); Danny Parks, Southern Oregon; Kaz Johnson, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Dilan Simmons, Central Methodist (Mo.); Bryndon Douglas, William Penn (Iowa); Richard DePalma, Siena Heights (Mich.); Corbin Slater, Taylor (Ind.); Joseph Tanner, South Carolina Beaufort; Michael Cassidy, Warner (Fla.); Derek Racette , Friends (Kan.); Jeff Crouch, Missouri Valley; Joshua Gregory, Tennessee Wesleyan; James Allen, Indiana Wesleyan; Heath Conner, William Carey (Miss.); Kameron Turner, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); William White, Union (Ky.); Josh Smith, Midland (Neb.); Isaiah Lintz, Indiana Tech; Raheem Cowan, Briar Cliff (Iowa); Christopher Kennie, Xavier (La.); Lorenzo Dolphus, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Conner Carpenter, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Jordan Boekhout, Northwestern (Iowa).

2013 Men’s Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week (Field, Track)
Week 1 (March 20): Willy Irwin, Concordia (Ore.), Dontaey Paige, Indiana Tech
Week 2 (March 27): Willy Irwin, Concordia (Ore.), John Darmody, St. Ambrose (Iowa)
Week 3 (April 3): Zack Lindsley, Doane (Neb.), John Gilbertson, The Master’s (Calif.)
Week 4 (April 10): Willy Irwin, Concordia (Ore.), Derik Douglas, Oklahoma Baptist


Championship Information

NAIA Outdoor Track & Field Championship
Sports Rules - Outdoor Track & Field (M)
Official Merchandise-Outdoor Track and Field