Default Header

Baseball National Championship Opening Round Brackets Announced

May 06, 2013
By -, -

By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has officially announced the seeds and site selections for the 2013 NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round. Each of the nine locations will feature a five-team double-elimination tournament May 9 – 13.

Opening Round champions will join host Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) at the 57th annual Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series at Harris Field in Lewiston, Idaho, May 24 – 31.

Twenty-nine teams earned automatic berths to the Opening Round field by placing first or second at their respective conference/independent/unaffiliated group tournaments or by winning a regular-season championship. An additional 16 at-large selections – determined by the final NAIA Baseball Coaches’ Top 25 Poll released May 5 – round out the field.

Ten programs within the field are making their first-ever appearance at the Opening Round, while seven squads have appeared in every event since the format began in 2009. Embry-Riddle (Fla.), Lee (Tenn.) and Oklahoma City highlight the group with four Opening Round championships, while Lubbock Christian (Texas) and Tennessee Wesleyan own three each.

NeuLion, the NAIA’s official video-streaming company of 12 select NAIA national championship events, will be broadcasting the first 17 games of the 2013 Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series (May 24 – 29). Single day packages can be purchased for $9.95, while an all-World Series pass is available for $29.95. For more information, including how to test your computer and internet connection, click here. The championship final May 30 and “if necessary” game May 31 will be streamed live on

For more information on the 2013 NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round and the Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series, click here.

2013 NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round Brackets
Bracket Team
Claremore Bracket 1. Lubbock Christian (Texas)
Hosted by Rogers State University - Claremore, Okla. 2. Bellevue (Neb.)
  3. Lyon (Ark.)
  4. Rogers State (Okla.)
  5. Midland (Neb.)
Cleveland Bracket 1. Lee (Tenn.)
Hosted by Lee University- Cleveland, Tenn. 2. Madonna (Mich.)
  3. LSU Shreveport (La.)
  4. Avila (Mo.)
  5. Grand View (Iowa)
Daytona Beach Bracket 1. Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Hosted by Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Daytona Beach, Fla. 2. Concordia (Calif.)
  3. Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
  4. Ave Maria (Fla.)
  5. Martin Methodist (Tenn.)
Hattiesburg Bracket 1. Northwood (Texas)
Hosted by William Carey University - Hattiesburg, Miss. 2. Oklahoma Baptist
  3. William Carey (Miss.)
  4. Central Methodist (Mo.)
  5. South Carolina Beaufort
Joliet Bracket 1. York (Neb.)
Hosted by the Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference - Joliet, Ill. 2. Cumberland (Tenn.)
  3. Judson (Ill.)
  4. Mayville State (N.D.)
  5. Trinity Christian (Ill.)
Kingsport Bracket 1. Tennessee Wesleyan
Hosted by Appalachian Athletic Conference - Kingsport, Tenn. 2. Point Park (Pa.)
  3. Missouri Baptist
  4. Taylor (Ind.)
  5. Benedictine-Springfield (Ill.)
Montgomery Bracket 1. Faulkner (Ala.)
Hosted by Faulkner University - Montgomery, Ala. 2. Texas Wesleyan
  3. Georgetown (Ky.)
  4. Indiana Tech
  5. Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio)
Oklahoma City Bracket 1. Oklahoma City
Hosted by Oklahoma City University - Oklahoma City, Okla. 2. Sterling (Kan.)
  3. Science & Arts (Okla.)
  4. Northwestern (Iowa)
  5. Jamestown (N.D.)
Santa Clarita Bracket 1. The Master's (Calif.)
Hosted by The Master's College, Santa Clarita, Calif. 2. Cal State San Marcos
  3. San Diego Christian (Calif.)
  4. Tabor (Kan.)
  5. Concordia (Ore.)

Championship Information

NAIA Baseball Championship