Print RSS

NAIA-SIDA Publication & Media Contests

July 20, 2015
Gary Spitler Award - Excellence in Publications

Publications, Writing and Promotions Contests Entry Form - PDF
Digitial Media and Video Online Entry Form 

Contest Guidelines
1. All entries should be mailed or emailed to the appropriate contest coordinator. Entries must be postmarked by the deadline date. All Digital Media and Video entries shall be made online using the online form above. NO ENTRIES WILL BE ACCEPTED AFTER THE ENTRY DEADLINE - NO EXCEPTIONS.

2. If submitted by mail, three copies of each contest entry must be provided. Each sample must have a properly completed a Publications, Writing & Promotions Contest Entry Form attached to the front cover.

3. If submitted by email, a PDF copy of each entry shall be emailed along with a properly completed Publications, Writing & Promotions Contest Entry Form. This applies only to the Walt McAlexander Publications Contests and Jack Bell Writing Contests.

4. A brochure is defined as a publication produced as an everyday information piece for one or multiple teams. Game notes are defined as a publication produced as an information packet designed for a specific event or series of events, such as a weekend series, doubleheader or tournament.

5. All video entries must be uploaded to a video site such as YouTube, Vimeo, etc., for easy viewing and judging.

6. A special event webpage is defined as a special webpage on the athletics website dedicated to covering one specific event or series of events (i.e. capital campaign, facility renovation, tournament central page, tournament blog, etc.)

7. Only NAIA-member institutions are allowed to enter NAIA-SIDA publication contests.

8. Each NAIA-member institution may only have 3 entries per contest category.

9. Places will be awarded to the top-10 entries in each contest with 11 or more entries and to the top-five places in contests with 10 or less entries. Plaques will be awarded to the contest winner and certificates will be awarded to all those that place. Certificates will include the names of those submitted on the publication contest entry form.

10. Any entry not sent to the appropriate contest coordinator shall be disqualified. Any entry entered in a contest other than the one for which it is expressly intended shall be disqualified. Any entry that fails to include three copies and/or a properly completed publication and media contest entry form affixed to each copy shall be disqualified.

Note - When mailing entries, please write the contest name on the outside of the envelope (i.e., "Attn: NAIA-SIDA Individual Sport Brochure Contest"). Also, in addition to the address listed above, please indicate routing to the Sports Information Department. If emailing your entry, it is suggested a follow-up email is sent to verify receipt. These suggestions will help facilitate correct delivery of your entry packet. NAIA-SIDA will not take responsibility for or grant exception to misdirected entry packets.



2015-16 Publication and Media Contest Coordinators

Walt McAlexander Publications Contest (8 Contests)
Fall Sports - Deadline: April 15, 2016
Coordinator: Tim Lutz, Auburn Montgomery (tlutz1@aum.edu)

Winter Sports - Deadline: April 15, 2016
Coordinator: Kyle Wright, IU East (Ind.) (wrightkj@iue.edu)

Spring Sports - Deadline: April 15, 2016
Coordinator: Mike Safford, College of Idaho (msafford@collegeofidaho.edu)

Game Notes - Deadline: May 1, 2016
Coordinator: John Roushklob, Park (Mo.) (john.roushkolb@park.edu)
Note - Any NAIA championship sport is eligible

Single-Sport Posters — Deadline: May 1, 2016 

Coordinator: Dave Albrecht, Midland (Neb.) (albrecht@midlandu.edu

Multi-Sport Posters — Deadline: May 1, 2016 

Coordinator: Dave Albrecht, Midland (Neb.) (albrecht@midlandu.edu

Single-Sport Schedule Cards — Deadline: May 1, 2016


Coordinator: Neil Morgan, Biola (Calif.) (neil.morgan@biola.edu) 

Multi-Sport Schedule Cards — Deadline: May 1, 2016

Coordinator: Neil Morgan, Biola (Calif.) (neil.morgan@biola.edu)

Dr. W. Jack Bell Writing/Social Media Contests (7 Contests)
Season Preview/Review - Deadline: May 1, 2016
Coordinator: Scott Nuss, Southwestern (Kan.) (scott.nuss@sckans.edu) 

Game Recaps - Deadline May 1, 2016
Coordinator: Jason Hendrix, Georgia Gwinnett (jhendrix4@ggc.edu) 

Feature Stories - Deadline: May 1, 2016
Coordinator: Taylor Hodge, Ave Maria (Fla.) (taylor.hodge@avemaria.edu

Submit entries via the Digital Media and Video Online Entry Form
Most Facebook likes gained — Entry Deadline: August 15, 2016
Contest runs August 15, 2016 – May 15, 2017
Coordinator: Zach Shore, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) (zrshore@lcsc.edu)

Most Twitter followers gained — Entry Deadline: August 15, 2016
Contest runs August 15, 2016 – May 15, 2017
Coordinator: Zach Shore, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) (zrshore@lcsc.edu)

Most Instagram followers gained - Entry Deadline: August 15, 2016
Contest runs August 15, 2016 – May 15, 2017
Coordinator: Zach Shore, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) (zrshore@lcsc.edu)

Social Media Contest Standings - as of April 8, 2016

Infographics - Entry Deadline: May 1, 2016
Coordinator: Jerek Wolcott, Carroll (Mont.) (jwolcott@carroll.edu)

Digital Media Production Contests (7 Contests)
Website Contest — Deadline: May 1, 2016

Coordinator: Aaron Sagraves, Cornerstone (Mich.) (aaron.sagraves@cornerstone.edu) 
Note - Entrants submitted in SIDHelp (www.naiasports.org/admin)

Best Special Event Webpage — Deadline: May 1, 2016

Coordinator: Nick Askew, Northwest Christian (Ore.) (naskew@nwcu.edu) 

Best Splash Page or Wallpaper — Deadline: May 1, 2016

Coordinator: Nicole Watkins, Purdue-Calumet (Ind.) (Nicole.Watkins@purduecal.edu) 

Submit entries via the Digital Media and Video Online Entry Form
Publicity — Deadline: May 1, 2016
Coordinator: Danny Day, Corban (Ore.) (dday@corban.edu) 

Season/Game Highlights — Deadline: May 1, 2016
Coordinator: Nicholas Robinson, John Brown (Ark.) (nrobinson@jbu.edu )

Recruitment — Deadline: May 1, 2016
Coordinator: Tim Shay, Northwestern Ohio (tshay@unoh.edu)