Default Header

Football Championship Series Quarterfinal Pairings Announced

November 24, 2013
By -, -
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information
Photo by Photos by Grant

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – (Complete Schedule) The quarterfinal pairings of the 2013 NAIA Football Championship Series (FCS) have been set, the national office announced on Sunday. Defending national runner-up Morningside (Iowa), Cumberlands (Ky.), Missouri Valley and Saint Francis (Ind.) all appeared in the quarterfinals last season. Top-ranked Cumberlands is the only repeat host.

Since 2000, the home teams in the FCS quarterfinals are 39-12 overall, with home teams going 4-0 last season.

Cumberlands (11-0) and Saint Francis (9-2) face off for the second time in FCS history with the Cougars claiming victory in the 2008 quarterfinals, 31-20, in Fort Wayne, Ind. Saint Francis owns six quarterfinal victories, while Cumberlands is searching for its first. The Patriots have played teams from the Mid-States Football Association in all three quarterfinal appearances – Saint Francis (2008, 2013) and Saint Xavier (Ill.) (2012).

Grand View (11-0) – the only newcomer to the quarterfinals – hosts the only road team to win the first round, when the Vikings welcome Tabor (Kan.) to Williams Stadium on Saturday. The Vikings are playing in their second all-time FCS and, prior to their win against Ottawa (Kan.), were winless in the event. Tabor (10-2), who is the second-straight Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference opponent for Grand View, is making its second all-time appearance in the quarterfinals – first coming in 2005. The Bluejays lost their previous trip 48-13 at former-member Sioux Falls (S.D.).

Six-time national champion Carroll (Mont.) is making its 13th quarterfinal appearance since 2000. The Fighting Saints host Missouri Valley (9-2) next Saturday in Helena, Mont., in the two sides first-ever meeting in the FCS. Missouri Valley, who is 3-3 all-time in the quarterfinals, returns to the round of eight for the second-straight season. Last season, the Vikings knocked off Bethel (Tenn.), 10-7, to advance to their first semifinals since 2007. Carroll owns an 11-1 record in the quarterfinals, dating back to 2000.

Morningside (10-1) is appearing in the quarterfinals for the eighth time in the last 10 seasons, while Baker (Kan.) qualified for the round for the first time since 1993 – seventh overall. The Mustangs won the two sides’ only previous playoff meeting with a 65-27 victory in the 2008 first round. Baker, who is hosting its first quarterfinal game since 1993, is 5-1 all-time in the quarterfinals, while Morningside is 2-5.

For the sixth-consecutive season, the Rome-Floyd County Convention and Visitors Bureau will host the 58th annual Russell Athletic-NAIA Football National Championship on Dec. 21 at Barron Stadium in Rome, Ga. The event will kick off at 4:30 p.m. EST.

2013 NAIA Football Championship Series Quarterfinal Pairings
Game 1: Saint Francs (Ind.) (9-2) at Cumberlands (Ky.) (11-0), TBA
Game 2: Tabor (Kan.) (10-2) at Grand View (Iowa) (11-0), TBA
Game 3: Missouri Valley (9-2) at Carroll (Mont.) (11-1), TBA
Game 4: Morningside (Iowa) (10-1) at Baker (Kan.) (11-1), TBA

2013 NAIA Football Championship Series Quick Facts
- Carroll (Mont.), the only remaining team with a national championship, leads this year’s quarterfinalists with 12 previous trips since 2000. The Fighting Saints are 11-1 in those appearances with their only loss coming in 2006 against Saint Xavier (Ill.), 14-7. Saint Francis (Ind.) is second with 11 previous trips, while Morningside (Iowa) is third with seven.
- Cumberlands (Ky.), Saint Francis, Missouri Valley and Morningside return to the FCS quarterfinals for the second-straight season. Last year, Missouri Valley and Morningside both advanced to the semifinals.
- Carroll extended its qualifier-best FCS first round winning streak to 13-straight with its win against Georgetown. The two teams had split their previous four FCS meetings.
- Eight of this year’s qualifiers have made at least 10 FCS appearances (including this year): Carroll (21), Georgetown (Ky.) (19), Northwestern (Iowa) (17), Saint Francis (Ind.) (14), Baker (Kan.) (13), Benedictine (Kan.) (12), Missouri Valley (11) and Morningside (Iowa) (10).
- There were nine repeat programs from the 2012 FCS First Round – Baker, Cumberlands (Ky.), Georgetown, Missouri Valley, Morningside, Northwestern, Ottawa (Kan.), Saint Francis and St. Ambrose (Iowa)
- There were two new teams appearing in their first-ever Football Championship Series: Faulkner (Ala.) and Sterling (Kan.). Both squads lost their first round contest. Last year, there were no newcomers.
- Defending national champion Marian (Ind.) is the first team to miss the playoffs the year following its national crown since former-member Findlay (Ohio) – 1997 national champion with a 14-7 win over former-member Willamette (Ore.) – in 1998.
- St. Ambrose’s 13 appearances are the most among the field for a team that has never appeared in the title game. The Fighting Bees lost in the first round for the second-consecutive season.
- Morningside holds the longest active streak of postseason appearances with 10.
- Baker, Carroll, Georgetown, Northwestern and Saint Francis are this year’s qualifiers with at least 10 wins all-time in the Football Championship Series.
- The Heart of America Athletic Conference (HAAC) and Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference (KCAC) land the most squads in the 16-team field. The HAAC is represented by Baker, Benedictine and Missouri Valley. Qualifying out of the KCAC are Ottawa, Sterling and Tabor (Kan.).
- Two teams entered the FCS with an undefeated record, Cumberlands and Grand View, which ties the 2011 FCS as the lowest amount of unbeaten teams since 2002.


Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship
Official Merchandise