Default Header

NAIA Division II Men's Basketball All-Star Team Announced

Joe Mitchell - Friends (Kan.)
March 06, 2014
By -, -

By Chad Waller, Director of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- (Buy tickets) The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2014 NAIA Division II Men's Basketball All-Star team. These 10 players will take on the Division I All-Stars at the NABC-NAIA Men's Basketball All-Star Game, presented by US Bank. The Division I 10-member team will be announced on March 11, along with the competitors for the NABC-NAIA Men's Basketball 3-Point and Slam Dunk Contests, presented by Rawlings.

The Division II All-Stars represent 10 different institutions and seven conferences. The Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference, Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference and The Sun Conference each landed a pair of players on the team. Seven of Division II's top scorers are on the elite squad. The entire team is listed below.

All players with senior eligibility status from the Division II ranks were in the selection pool. The 10-person Division II team was selected by the NABC-NAIA Men's Basketball All-Star Committee, which is comprised of head coaches from both Division I and Division II ranks. Criteria takes into account season statistics, awards and postseason experience.

This inaugural event will take place on Saturday, March 22 at 8 p.m. CDT at Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Mo., in conjunction with the 77th annual Buffalo Funds-NAIA Division I Men's Basketball National Championship. For tickets to all of these activities, go to Tickets can be purchased for as low as $3 per person for each game. Paid  admission will cover the All-Star Game, 3-Point and Slam Dunk contests and all four Quarterfinal games on March 22.

The Slam Dunk Contest and 3-Point Contest will occur at 12:30 p.m. CDT. Each contest will feature four contestants overall. The 3-Point competitors and Dunkers can come from either division and may or may not be part of the All-Star game.

Don't forget to vote for the fourth and final contestant in the Dunk Contest. Voting closes on March 10. For more information and to vote, click here.

For more All-Star Event information, click here.

2014 NAIA Division II Men's Basketball All-Star Team (listed alphabetically):

Name School Pos. Ht. Wt. PPG* RPG* APG* SPG*
Devin Harris Oklahoma Wesleyan G 6-0 170 20.3 5 5.8 1.4
Joshua Hart Virginia Intermont F 6-6 220 26.9 7.2 1.4 1.2
Adam Herman Concordia (Ore.) F 6-6 220 24.6 5.9 1.6 0.7
Idris Ibn Idris Bethany (Kan.) G 6-5 195 27.3 6.6 3.6 1.6
Dwayne Johnson Southeastern (Fla.) G 6-1 190 20 3.4 5.1 1.3
Brad Karp Saint Xavier (Ill.) G 6-5 205 25.9 8.2 2.6 2.5
Kyle Lindbergh Dordt (Iowa) F 6-7 210 17.1 10.8 3 1.2
Joe Mitchell (pictured) Friends (Kan.) G 6-1 200 32.7 5.1 4.8 1.7
Derek Semenas Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) G 6-3 185 24.2 5.5 3.1 1.4
Justyn Watkins Thomas (Ga.) F 6-5 202 23.6 4.9 1.7 1.7

* statistics taken through games played March 5, 2014. For the national statistics, click here.
PPG = points per game
RPG = rebounds per game
APG = assists per game
SPG = steals per game

All-Star Event Schedule -- Saturday, March 22, 2014 (All Times CST)
10:30 a.m. -- Quarterfinal Game No. 1
12:30 p.m. -- NABC-NAIA Men's Basketball 3-Point and Slam Dunk Contest, presented by Rawlings
2 p.m. -- Quarterfinal Game No. 2
4 p.m. -- Quarterfinal Game No. 3
6 p.m. -- Quarterfinal Game No. 4
8 p.m. -- NABC-NAIA Men's Basketball All-Star Game, presented by US Bank

Championship Information

NAIA DII Men's Basketball Championship
Sports Rules - Basketball DII (M)
Official Merchandise-DIIMBB