Default Header

Tyler Inman of Southwestern Christian Captures Dunk Crown

Tyler Inman - Southwestern Christian (Okla.) winning Dunk
March 22, 2014
By -, -

By Eric Montgomery | NAIA Staff

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – (Video of Winning Dunk) Tyler Inman of Southwestern Christian (Okla.) was the winner of the inaugural NABC-NAIA Men's Basketball Dunk Contest, presented by Rawlings on Saturday afternoon in Municipal Auditorium. The event was staged in conjunction with the 2014 Buffalo Funds-NAIA Division I Men’s Basketball National Championship.

Inman's "winning" dunk was a forward bounce pass he caught while leaping from the free throw line.

"I am really honored to be a part of it," said Inman. "Its' really a fun thing and I hope it sticks around for a long time. I just wanted to go out and see what I can do."

Inman received a perfect score of 50 points in each round, bringing the energetic crowd to its feet on each occasion as well as the other NAIA All-Stars in attendance. Inman bested the 89-point final round total of Mitchell Wiggins, Jr. from Southeastern (Fla.). Both dunkers were judged on two dunks to come from a two-minute span in which they had on the floor, with each attempt being scored by a panel of five judges on a range from eight-to-ten points, resulting in a minimum score of 40 points and a maximum tally of 50 points per dunk.

Inman was the top scorer in the first round, while Wiggins recorded 94 points on his opening two dunks to advance to the final round. The finalists were joined by Jordan Layrock of Lyon (Ark.) and Will Nelson of LSU Shreveport (La.) in the competition.

All four players were nominated by NAIA Division I and Division II institutions and were required to be a senior in eligibility status. Inman, Wiggins and Nelson were all selected by the NAIA-NABC Men’s Basketball All-Star Committee, while Layrock was chosen by a fan vote conducted on March 10.

FIRST ROUND (out of possible 100 points)
1) 100 points – Tyler Inman - Southwestern Christian (Okla.)
2) 94 points – Mitchell Wiggins, Jr. - Southeastern (Fla.)
3) 88 points – Jordan Layrock - Lyon (Ark.)
4) 87 points – Will Nelson - LSU Shreveport (La.)

FINAL ROUND (out of possible 100 points)
Champion: 100 points – Tyler Inman - Southwestern Christian (Okla.)
Runner-Up: 89 points – Mitchell Wiggins, Jr. - Southeastern (Fla.)

Championship Information

NAIA DI Men's Basketball Championship
Sports Rules - Basketball DI (M)
Official Merchandise-DIMBB