Default Header

2014 Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series Bracket Announced

Baseball_World Series_Bracket Announced
May 16, 2014
By -, -

By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – (Bracket) The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the official seeds and bracket for the 2014 Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series, hosted by Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) from May 23 – 30 at Harris Field in Lewiston, Idaho. Oklahoma Baptist received the No. 1 seed in the 58th annual event with an Opening Round championship at the Shawnee Bracket.

The World Series is a 10-team, double-elimination tournament with the winner being crowned either May 29 or 30, dependent upon if the eventual champion drops one of its earlier round games. For ticket information, click here.

Game one of the World Series pits No. 8 Southern Poly (Ga.) (45-17) against No. 9 Tabor (Kan.) (49-11) on May 23 at 9 a.m. PDT. The winner of that game will face Oklahoma Baptist (53-7) at 3 p.m. on May 24.

No. 4 Faulkner (Ala.) (49-14) will battle No. 5 Georgetown (Ky.) (46-9) at noon in the second game of the day, while No. 3 Oklahoma Wesleyan (55-6) and No. 6 Georgia Gwinnett (52-11) square off at 3 p.m. in game three. The nightcap features No. 7 San Diego Christian (Calif.) (42-18) and No. 10 Cumberland (Tenn.) (44-19) at 7 p.m. No. 2 Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) (43-7) has a bye on day one and will face the winner of San Diego Christian and Cumberland May 24 at 6:30 p.m.

Georgia Gwinnett, Oklahoma Wesleyan, San Diego Christian and Tabor are each making its program’s first-ever appearance in the World Series. Georgia Gwinnett was one of the final teams to advance to the World Series, knocking off Southeastern (Fla.), 7-4, to clinch the Lawrenceville Bracket Opening Round title.

Georgetown, winner of the Marion Bracket, is making its first appearance since 1988. The Tigers won three-straight games in the final day of the Opening Round, including back-to-back victories against Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio).

Outside of Lewis-Clark State, Cumberland owns the most appearances among the returners with 12. The Bulldogs last participated in the World Series in 2010.

Lewis-Clark State boasts an NAIA-best 16 World Series titles with its last coming in 2008. The Warriors, who hold a 43-7 overall record, own an event record of 124-41 in 32 previous appearances.

NeuLion, the NAIA’s official video-streaming company of 17 select NAIA national championship events, will be broadcasting the first 15 games of the 2014 Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series (May 23 – 27). Single day packages can be purchased for $9.95, while an all-World Series pass is available for $29.95. For more information, including how to test your computer and internet connection, click here.

For more information on the 2014 Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series, click here.

Championship Information

NAIA Baseball Championship
Official Merchandise