Default Header

NAIA Men's Cross Country National Championships Field Released

Oklahoma City
November 10, 2014
By -, -

By: Mike DeVader, Communications & Sports Information Intern

Thirty-six teams and 76 individuals will compete in the 2014 NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Championships, the national office announced Monday.

Defending national champion Oklahoma City looks to regain its crown against stern competition when the Stars hit the course on Saturday, Nov. 22 at Rim Rock Farm in Lawrence, Kan. Oklahoma City has earned the top billing of the 2014 NAIA Men’s Cross Country Coaches’ Top 25 Poll for 10-consecutive editions, dating back to the 2013 postseason rating.

The field is comprised of 22 conference, association of independent institutions and unaffiliated grouping champions; a host bid (Friends (Kan.)); and 13 at-large selections.

The at-large selections include – British Columbia, College of Idaho, Concordia (Ore.), Eastern Oregon, Goshen (Ind.), Indiana Tech, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho), Marian (Ind.), Northwestern (Iowa), Olivet Nazarene (Ill.), Oregon Tech, Taylor (Ind.) and Wayland Baptist (Texas).

Oregon Tech was the only at-large program not ranked in the final regular-season poll, which can be viewed here.

Winners of the conference, association of independent institutions and unaffiliated grouping meets received automatic berths to the national championships. To view the results, click here

Furthermore, 76 individuals will also compete in the national championships. The men’s 8-kilometer championship takes place at 11:45 a.m. CST on Nov. 22, shortly after the completion of the women’s 5-kilometer race which is scheduled to start at 10:30 a.m. CST.

Men’s Cross Country National Championships: Team Qualifiers Individual Qualifiers

For all other information regarding the Men’s Cross Country National Championships, click here.

2014 NAIA Men's Cross Country National Championships
      Aquinas (Mich.) Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Champion
      Baker (Kan.) Heart of America Athletic Conference Champion
      British Columbia At-Large
      Cal State San Marcos Association of Independent Institutions Champion
      Carroll (Mont.) Frontier Conference/North Star Athletic Association Champion
      College of Idaho At-Large
      Columbia (Mo.) American Midwest Conference Champion
      Concordia (Ore.) At-Large
      Eastern Oregon At-Large
      Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) California Pacific Athletic Conference
      Embry-Riddle (Fla.) The Sun Conference Champion
      Friends (Kan.) Host Bid (Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference)
      Goshen (Ind.) At-Large
      Indiana Tech At-Large
      Indiana Wesleyan Crossroads League Champion
      Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) At-Large
      Marian (Ind.) At-Large
      Morningside (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Conference Champion
      Northwestern (Iowa) At-Large
      Oklahoma City Sooner Athletic Conference Champion
      Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) At-Large
      Oregon Tech At-Large
      Rio Grande (Ohio) Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Champion
      Saint Mary (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Champion
      Shawnee State (Ohio) Mid-South Conference Champion
      Southern Oregon Cascade Collegiate Conference Champion
      St. Ambrose (Iowa) Midwest Collegiate Conference Champion
      St. Francis (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Champion
      Taylor (Ind.) At-Large
      Tennessee Wesleyan Appalachian Athletic Conference Champion
      The Master's (Calif.) Golden State Athletic Conference Champion
      Wayland Baptist (Texas) At-Large
      Wiley (Texas) Red River Athletic Conference Champion
      William Carey (Miss.) Southern States Athletic Conference Champion
      Xavier (La.) Gulf Coast Athletic Conference Champion
      York (Neb.) Midlands Collegiate Athletic Conference Champion

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Cross Country Championship
Sports Rules - Cross Country (M)