Default Header

2014 Menís Soccer All-America Teams Announced

Davenport (Mich.) - Dzenan Catic
December 08, 2014
By -, -

Story by Chad Waller, NAIA Director of Communications & Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2014 NAIA Men’s Soccer All-America teams Monday. The NAIA All-America committee consists of the NAIA-Men’s Soccer Coaches Association Executive Committee, the National Championship Games Committee and four men’s soccer coaches—selected based on geography. Each team—first, second and third—consists of 11 members.

Davenport (Mich.) junior forward Dzenan Catic was honored as the 2014 Select Sport America-NAIA National Player of the Year. Catic becomes the first Panther and the first player from the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference (WHAC) to earn the award since the award’s inception in 1997.

Catic, who becomes the first-ever NAIA All-American in Davenport men’s soccer history, was No. 1 in the country in goals scored (39), total points (89), game-winning goals (8), goals per game (1.6) and points per game (3.6). The goals output was the most by an NAIA player since Hjortur Hjartarson of Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) had 48 in 2005. He was part of Davenport’s first-ever men’s soccer national championship winning-program as the Panthers finished with a school-record 22-3-1 mark. During the championship, Catic had a hat-trick during a semifinal win on Dec. 5 and finished with 10 points (4 goals, 2 assists) in five national championship matches. The WHAC Offensive Player of the Year went for at least one goal in 19 of 25 matches, including a stretch of nine-consecutive contests near the first-half of the season. In his two-year Davenport career, Catic stands with 63 goals, 14 assists and 140 points in 47 matches played.

Ashford (Iowa) was the only institution to place two players on the All-America First Team – midfielder Casey Culver and defender Fernando Machado. The Saints join Mobile (Ala.) with the most combined performers (3) on the First, Second, or Third Teams. Mobile’s Jubril Lawal and Massiah Gaetan were listed on the Second Team and goalkeeper Xavier Audergon earned Third Team accolades.

National runner-up Texas at Brownsville landed First-Teamer Ricardo Diegues, who tied the all-time national championship record with eight goals scored during the championship (in five matches.)

With three selections today, Mobile now jumps to the No. 2 spot for the most all-time All-Americans with 46. Former-member Simon Fraser (B.C.) (44), Auburn Montgomery (41), Rio Grande (Ohio) (41) and Westmont (Calif.) (41) trail Mobile – Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) holds the all-time best with 67 honorees. This year, the Blue Raiders had no members on the First, Second or Third Teams for the first time since 1991.

The 2014 Select Sport America-NAIA National Coach of the Year will be announced at the National Soccer Coaches’ Association of America (NSCAA) National Convention, held in Philadelphia, Pa., from Jan. 14-18, 2015.

2014 Men’s Soccer All-America Teams

First Team Sorted by Position      
Name Institution Position Year Hometown
Alex Guyer Hastings (Neb.) GK Jr. Lincoln, Neb.
Fernando Machado Ashford (Iowa) D So. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Aurelien Norest MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) D Sr. Pointoise, France
Kalokwer Okot Science & Arts (Okla.) D Sr. London, England
Casey Culver Ashford (Iowa) MF Fr. Roscoe, Ill.
Raul Beneit Missouri Valley MF Jr. Cadiz, Spain
Pau Rodriguez Rio Grande (Ohio) MF So. Barcelona, Spain
Dzenan Catic Davenport (Mich.) F Jr. Jablanica, Bosnia
Ricardo Diegues Texas at Brownsville F Sr. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Tyrone Martin Indiana Wesleyan F Sr. Indianapolis, Ind.
Lucas Cordeiro Oklahoma Wesleyan F Sr. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Second Team Sorted by Position      
Name Institution Position Year Hometown
Jon Dodson Rio Grande (Ohio) GK Sr. Tiffin, Ohio
Jubril Lawal Mobile (Ala.) D Sr. Lagos, Nigeria
Ross Alexander Grand View (Iowa) D Sr. Falkirk, Scotland
Ivan Ristic Oklahoma Wesleyan D Jr. Belgrade, Serbia
Gaetan Massiah Mobile (Ala.) MF Sr. Bourdeaux, France
Carlos Suarez Northwestern Ohio MF So. Cali, Columbia
Ivan Ninkov Missouri Valley MF Sr. Pancevo, Serbia
Veit Couturier Embry Riddle (Fla.) F Sr. Loerrach, Germany
Stephen Owuso Science & Arts (Okla.) F Jr. Accra, Ghana
Yannic Fallack Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) F Jr. Meerbusch, Germany
Adam Wood Ashford (Iowa) F Jr. Perth, Australia
Third Team Sorted by Position      
Name Institution Position Year Hometown
Xavier Audergon Mobile (Ala.) GK Sr. Lyon, France
Amer Didic Baker (Kan.) D Jr. Edmonton, Canada
Chase Burgess Davenport (Mich.) D Sr. Wayland, Mich.
Ryan Holt Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) D Sr. Chandler, Ariz.
Ruud Grol Georgia Gwinnett D So. Groningen, Holland
David Orr Bethel (Tenn.) MF So. Glasgow, Scotland
Naim El-Harrati SCAD Savannah (Ga.) MF So. Wigsn Billinge
Tyler Gill Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) MF Sr. PLainfield, Ill.
Cesar Acosta Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.) F Sr. Phoenix, Ariz.
Lucas Silva Point Park (Pa.) F Sr. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Jake Ramsay Hastings (Neb.) F Sr. Lincoln, Neb.
Honorable Mention (Listed by School)
Name Institution
Manny Lira Bellevue (Neb.)
Angel Mora Cal State San Marcos
Marcelo Petit Campbellsville (Ky.)
Edgar Orozco Concordia (Calif.)
Cody Guthrie Concordia (Ore.)
Tim Kagey Corban (Ore.)
Tristan Korras Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
Aaron Scott Grand View (Iowa)
Eddie Gutierrez Great Falls (Mont.)
Sean Toth Hope International (Calif.)
Keaton Albert Indiana Wesleyan
Jade Johnson Jamestown (N.D.)
Jack Keeling Jamestown (N.D.)
Walter Lopez Judson (Ill.)
Blessing Ngwa Kansas Wesleyan
Guillermo Chinchilla Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.)
Renan Serafim Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Tom Moody Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Marcel Schmid Madonna (Mich.)
Stephen Lunney Martin Methodist (Tenn.)
Daniel Dunleavy Martin Methodist (Tenn.)
Sascha Haecker Marymount California
Oscar Cortez McPherson (Kan.)
Alex Ronneburg McPherson (Kan.)
Bernardo Ferriz Diaz Missouri Valley
Taylor Young Northwest (Wash.)
Liam Davies Northwestern Ohio
Michael Gonzalo Northwestern Ohio
Mark Dawson Northwood (Fla.)
Danny Frid Oklahoma City
Jack, McGowan Oklahoma Wesleyan
Lucas Sousa Park (Mo.)
Luis Filho Rio Grande (Ohio)
Jack Clancy Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Fernando Zeledon SCAD Savannah (Ga.)
Jordan Trinci-Lyne SCAD Savannah (Ga.)
Shane Jones Southeastern (Fla.)
Ashley Woods St. Catharine (Ky.)
Archie Massen Texas at Brownsville
Humphrey Mahowa The Master's (Calif.)
Severin Abt Thomas (Ga.)
Cody Golbad UC Merced (Calif.)
Alex Smith Union (Ky.)
Stephen McGinn Webber International (Fla.)
Andri Jonsson William Carey (Miss.)

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Soccer Championship
Sport Rules - Soccer (M)