Default Header

NAIA Football Players of the Week No. 8

November 02, 2015
By -, -
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Jacob Russell of Campbellsville (Ky.), Eric Sadowski of Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.) and Will Ward of Campbellsville were named NAIA Football National Players of the Week, the national office announced Monday. The trio was chosen for their performances during the week of Oct. 26 – Nov. 1 and were selected out of a pool of conference award winners.

National Offensive Player of the Week
Jacob Russell, Campbellsville (Ky.)
Sr., QB, Lawrenceburg, Ky.

• Accounted for 412 total yards of offense and two touchdowns in Campbellsville’s 26-21 win at then-No. 8 Lindsey Wilson (Ky.).
• Completed 37-of-50 (74.0 percent) of his passes for 339 yards and two touchdowns.
• Rushed for 73 yards on 20 attempts.
• Eclipsed his own single-season passing record in the game. Now rests with 3,081 passing yards on the year, which ranks No. 1 in the NAIA.
• Also leads the NAIA in passing yards per game (342.3), total offense (3,482) and total offense per game (386.9).
• Second career National Offensive Player of the Week award. Both awards came this season.

National Defensive Player of the Week
Eric Sadowski, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.)
So., LB, Chicago, Ill.

• Recovered a fumble and intercepted a pass in the Lynx’s 20-16 upset win against then-No. 14 Robert Morris (Ill.) last Saturday.
• Tallied nine tackles (four solo), including 1.5 tackles for loss and one sack.
• The win was Lindenwood-Belleville’s first-ever against a ranked opponent.
• First career National Defensive Player of the Week award.

National Special Teams Player of the Week
Will Ward, Campbellsville (Ky.)
K, Sr., Pflugerville, Texas

• Converted 2-of-3 field goal attempts to help guide the Tigers to a win at then-No. 8 Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), 26-21, last Saturday.
• Long for the day was a 36-yard attempt early in the second quarter, which put the Tigers up 13-7.
• Connected on 2-of-3 PATs.
• First career National Special Teams Player of the Week award.
• Last Campbellsville National Player of the Week: Jacob Russell (offense; Oct. 5, 2015)

For a complete list of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

For the complete NAIA Player of the Week calendar, click here.

Offensive Nominees: Gerrit Groenewold, Arizona Christian; Stephen Simms, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Tyler Kavan, Morningside (Iowa); Krishawn Hogan, Marian (Ind.); Jacob Giles, Dakota State (S.D.); Michael Wheary, Southeastern (Fla.); Zach Bartlow, Eastern Oregon; Jacob Koester, Benedictine (Kan.); Jake Curran, Kansas Wesleyan.

Defensive Nominees: Corey Washington, Cumberlands (Ky.); Alden Mann, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Joe Marconi, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Skyler Roope, Montana Western; Ben Kullos, Dakota State (S.D.); Eric Walker, Southwestern (Kan.); Tyrell Green, Southeastern (Fla.); Colten Mach, Doane (Neb.); Dre Graves, Benedictine (Kan.).

Special Teams Nominees: Zach Bunney, Montana Tech; Jared Amundson, Morningside (Iowa); Brandon Dowers, Marian (Ind.); Matt Cotiguala, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Indie Allen, Baker (Kan.); Caleb O'connor, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Mark Myers, Southeastern (Fla.); Brett Crome, Bethany (Kan.).

2015 NAIA Football Players of the Week (complete schedule)
Week 1 (Sept. 14)
Offense: Nick Ferrer, Saint Francis (Ind.)
Defense: Caleb Taylor, Faulkner (Ala.)
Special Teams: Daniel Martinez, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 2 (Sept. 21)
Offense: Tray Boone, Dickinson State (N.D.)
Defense: Dontaye Johnson, Robert Morris (Ill.)
Special Teams: DeMario Fair, Valley City State (N.D.)
Week 3 (Sept. 28)
Offense: Patrick Smith, St. Ambrose (Iowa)
Defense: Josh Woodard, St. Francis (Ill.)
Special Teams: Matt Cotiguala, St. Ambrose (Iowa)
Week 4 (Oct. 5)
Offense: Jacob Russell, Campbellsville (Ky.)
Defense: Spencer Cowherd, Saint Francis (Ind.)
Special Teams: Wendall Williams, Cumberlands (Ky.)
Week 5 (Oct. 12)
Offense: Ryan Thompson, Reinhardt (Ga.)
Defense: Nick Holshoe, Concordia (Mich.)
Special Teams: Chadd Dearen, SAGU (Texas)
Week 6 (Oct. 19)
Offense: Ryan Kasdorf, Morningside (Iowa)
Defense: Ben Kullos, Dakota State (S.D.)
Special Teams: Abdul Mahdi, Saint Xavier (Ill.)
Week 7 (Oct. 26)
Offense: Nolan Saraceni, Montana Tech
Defense: Brady Bonte, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.)
Special Teams: Stephen Simms, Saint Xavier (Ill.)
Week 8 (Nov. 2)
Offense: Jacob Russell, Campbellsville (Ky.)
Defense: Eric Sadowski, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.)
Special Teams: Will Ward, Campbellsville (Ky.)

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship
Sports Rules - Football
Official Merchandise-Football