Default Header

2016 NAIA Menís Cross Country National Championships Field Revealed

XC Qualifiers
November 07, 2016
By -, -

By Spencer Scheve, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The 36 team, 85 individual field has been announced for the 61st Annual NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Championships that will be held on Nov. 19. The event will take place at North Farms Cross Country Course in Elsah Mo. The men’s 8–kilometer race will began at 11:30 a.m. CST. 

• This is the first time in NAIA Cross Country Championships history that the race will be held in Elsah, Ill. 
• The field is made up by 24 automatic qualifiers (AQ), 11 at-large berths and one host berth. A team received an automatic bid by winning the conference meet or was the tournament runner-up. 
• Four conferences received two automatic berths: American Midwest Conference, Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference, Heart of America Athletic Conference and the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference. In addition to the meet champion, the meet runner-up also received an automatic berth. The AMC received a host berth. 
• The 11 at-large berths are determined by the final regular-season Top 25 Poll that can be seen by clicking here. These teams received an at-large berth – College of Idaho, Westmont (Calif.), Biola (Calif.) Oklahoma City, Taylor (Ind.) Oregon Tech, Bethel (Ind.), Eastern Oregon, Siena Heights (Mich.) Cornerstone (Mich.) and Aquinas (Mich.).
• Aquinas is the only at-large team to not be ranked in the latest Top 25 Poll.
• In addition to the team qualifiers and at-large bids, 86 athletes will compete as individual qualifiers. 
• Oklahoma City, which has won the past three national championships, received the No. 4 at-large berth this season.
• For the second-straight year, a post-race highlight show will be free to all fans through the NAIA Network. The event takes place on Nov. 19 in Elsah, Ill., at North Farms Cross Country Course. Fans will be able to view the show no later than 1 CST on Sunday, Nov. 20.
• For more information about the conference championships, click here. 
• For all other information regarding the Men’s Cross Country National Championships, click here

2016 NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Championships - Teams
Aquinas (Mich.) At-Large No. 11
Bacone (Okla.) Sooner Athletic Conference Champion
Bethel (Ind.) At-Large No. 7
Bethel (Tenn.) Southern States Athletic Conference Champion (Tie)
Biola (Calif.) At-Large No. 3
British Columbia Association of Independent Institutions Champion
College of Idaho At-Large No. 1
Columbia (Mo.) American Midwest Conference Champion
Cornerstone (Mich.) At-Large No. 10
Dickinson State (N.D.) North Star Athletic Association Champion
Eastern Oregon At-Large No. 8
Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) California Pacific Conference Champion
Indiana Tech Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference
Kansas Wesleyan Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Runner-Up
Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) Frontier Conference Champion
Marian (Ind.) Crossroads League Champion
MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) Heart of America Athletic Conference Runner-Up
Milligan (Tenn.) Appalachian Athletic Conference Champion
Missouri Valley Heart of America Athletic Conference Champion
Northwestern (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Conference Champion
Oklahoma City At-Large No. 4
Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Runner-up
Oregon Tech At-Large No. 6
Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) Red River Athletic Conference Champion
Rio Grande (Ohio) River States Conference Champion
SCAD Savannah (Ga.) The Sun Conference Champion
Shawnee State (Ohio) Mid-South Conference Champion
Siena Heights (Mich.) At-Large No. 5
Southern Oregon Cascade Collegiate Conference Champion
St. Francis (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Champion
St. Mary (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Champion
Taylor (Ind.) At-Large No. 5
The Master’s Calif.) Golden State Athletic Conference Champion
Westmont (Calif.) At-large No. 2
William Carey (Miss.) Southern State Athletic Conference Champion (Tie)
William Woods (Mo.) American Midwest Conference Host Berth
Xavier (La.) Gulf Coast Athletic Conference Champion

2016 NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Championships - Individuals 

American Midwest Christian Skinner Park (Mo.)
  Tyler Alverson Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.)
  Paco Rosales Lindenwood-Bellevue (Ill.)
  Ryan Zitter Park (Mo.)
A.I.I. Steven Juarez Johnson & Wales (Colo.)
  Timothy Huber Indiana - Northwest
  Joe Capuchino Central Christian (Kan.)
  Alberto Rodriguez Johnson & Wales (Colo.)
Appalachian Tyler Boone Bryan (Tenn.)
  Brien Lancaster Montreat (N.C.)
  Tyler Barber Truett-McConnell (Ga.)
  Jackson Helfrich Reinhardt (Ga.)
California Pacific Anass Zouhry Antelope Valley (Calif.)
  Jack Evans Soka (Calif.)
  Chafik Oussemgane Antelope Valley (Calif.)
  Guillermo Rivas California Merced
Cascade Garrett Kraal Northwest Christian (Ore.)
  TJ Wright Northwest Christian (Ore.)
Chicagoland Daniel Garcia Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
  Jonathan Kimutai Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
  Abel Hernandez St. Xavier (Ill.)
  Salavador Cordova Purdue Northwest (Ind.)
  Cody Velthuizen Trinity Christian (Ill.)
  Jordy Arriaga Judson (Ill.)
Crossroads Ryan Smith Goshen (Ind.)
  Daniel Garza Spring Arbor (Mich)
  Steven Cranston Goshen (Ind.)
  Ben Rankin Grace (Ind.)
Frontier Chance Hyatt Carroll (Mont.)
  Benson Koech Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
  Baird Linke Carroll (Mont.)
  Layne Ryerson Carroll (Mont.)
Golden State Zach Deatley Vanguard (Calif.)
  Zach Hunt Vanguard (Calif.)
  Jeronimo Brito Vanguard (Calif.)
Great Plains Caleb Drake Dordt (Iowa)
  Danney Aldaba Midland (Neb.)
  Alec DeVries Morningside (Iowa)
  Jeremiah Panec Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.)
Gulf Coast Toren Arnold Dillard (La.)
  Solomon Stevens Edward Waters (Fla.)
  Abraham Grandison Edward Waters (Fla.)
  Michael Noltion Edward Waters (Fla.)
Heart of America Jamal Boma William Penn (Iowa)
  Joseph Linder Baker (Kan.)
  Devon Colegrove Evangel (Mo.)
  Joseph Barnes Benedictine (Kan.)
  Colton Forster Mount Mercy (Iowa)
  Greg Flores Baker (Kan.)
Kansas Collegiate Jersey Boydstun Southwestern (Kan.)
  Jonathan Dominguez McPherson (Kan.)
  Julio Martinez Bethel (Kan.)
  Michael Janzer McPherson (Kan.)
  Kris Mathur Friends (Kan,)
  Lucas Garrett Sterling (Kan.)
Mid-South Adam Sandidge Campbellsville (Ky.)
  Sam Beal Cumberlands (Ky.)
  Bret Crawford Campbellsville (Ky.)
  Ben Call Cumberlands (Ky.)
North Star Matthew Young Jamestown (N.D.)
  Nic Ganzeveld Waldorf (Iowa)
  Marquis Cox Waldorf (Iowa)
  Nathan Meiners Waldorf (Iowa)
Red River Laben Kandie Wiley (Texas)
  Marbeq Edgar Wiley (Texas)
  Leonard Kiprono Wiley (Texas)
  Gilbert Ramirez Southwest (N.M.)
River States Douglas Negrete West Virginia Tech
  Salavador Campos Indiana East
  Caleb Woodard Asbury (Ky.)
  Blake Brooks Indiana East
Sooner Eric Villagrana Wayland Baptist (Texas)
  Raul Almaraz Wayland Baptist (Texas)
  Josh Uzelac John Brown (Ark.)
  Gerardo Nava Southwestern Assemblies (Texas)
Southern States Ryan Gebelein Dalton State (Ga.)
  Anthony Rizzi Loyola (La.)
  David Murillo Dalton State (Ga.)
  Leith Rawson Mobile (Ala.)
The Sun Trae Miller Southeastern (Fla.)
  Gabriel Hogan Ave Maria (Fla.)
  Nic O'Neill USC - Beaufort (S.C.)
  Sean Trainor Webber International
Wolverine-Hoosier Tony Floyd Madonna (Mich.)
  Kory Johnson Madonna (Mich.)

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Cross Country Championship