Default Header

Women's Indoor Track & Field

Anna Shields

2018 NAIA Women's Track and Field Athlete of the Week

By Jed Flemming, Athletic Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo.- Anna Shields of Point Park (Pa.) has been named the NAIA Women’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week and Chelsea Baker of Friends (Kan.) has been name the NAIA Women’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Shields and Baker were selected for their performances during the week of January 10-16, and were selected of a pool of conference, Association of Independent Institutions and unaffiliated group winners.

NAIA Women’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week

Anna Shields, Point Park (Pa.)

Jr., Torrington, Conn.

• Placed 2nd in the mile with a time of 4:45.34
     o This is the number 1 time in all of NAIA this season
• Placed 3rd in the 1000m with a time of 2:48.67
     o This is the number 1 time in all of NAIA this season
• Currently is ranked 7th across all collegiate indoor track athletes

NAIA Women’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week

Chelsea Baker, Friends (Kan.)

Sr., Pittsburg, Kan.

• Placed 1st in High Jump with a mark of 1.69m
     o Baker still holds the number 1 mark this season at 1.75m
• Placed 1st in Long Jump with a mark of 5.60m

For the full player of the week calendar, click here

Track Nominees: Sarah Kate Gartman, Milligan (Tenn.) ; Hannah Rhodes, Tennessee Wesleyan ; Sarah Estabrook, Northwest (Wash.) ; Ebony Wilson, Eastern Oregon ; Jenna Moody, St. Francis (Ill.) ; Cassandra Delgado, St. Ambrose (Iowa) ; Rachal Brooks, Saint Xavier (Ill.) ; Corinne Hamilton, Rocky Mountain (Mont.) ; Janie Reid, Carroll (Mont.) ; Ariel Jensen, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) ; Shantinique Cunningham, Hastings (Neb.) ; Katie Bosch, Northwestern (Iowa) ; Emily Harsin, Doane (Neb.) ; Michelle Mumm, Morningside (Iowa) ; Jennifer Andres, Bethel (Kan.) ; Natali Engle, Friends (Kan.) ; Brooke Smith, Shawnee State (Ohio) ; Alexia DeHaven-Boyd, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) ; Ashli Pope, Cumberlands (Ky.) ; Marissa Kuik, Waldorf (Iowa) ; Josie Wolf, Dakota State (S.D.) ; Leah Banks, Loyola (La.) ; Adri Sigafoose, Aquinas (Mich.) ; Doneasha Brewer, Indiana Tech ; Makayla Clum, Cornerstone (Mich.)

Field Nominees: Liz Maller, Milligan (Tenn.) ; Marta Stangel, Eastern Oregon ; Hayley Morse, College of Idaho ; Hannah Porch, Carroll (Mont.) ; Samantha Liermann, Concordia (Neb.) ; Sara Olsen, Hastings (Neb.) ; Caley Vink, Northwestern (Iowa) ; Shyrelle Yates, Avila (Mo.) ; LeVon Davis, Grand View (Iowa) ; Johanna Wilson, Cumberlands (Ky.) ; Alexis Putnam, Shawnee State (Ohio) ; Oreatha Hurt, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) ; Megan Johnson, Valley City State (N.D.) ; Traia Hubbard, Dakota State (S.D.) ; Auburn Miller, Waldorf (Iowa) ; Cheyenne White, Indiana Tech

2017-18 Women's Indoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)

Week 1 (January 17): Chelsea Baker, Friends (Kan.); Anna Shields, Point Park (Pa.)

Championship Information

NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championship
Sports Rules - Indoor Track & Field (W)