Default Header


Harlee Donovan - Southern Oregon

2018 NAIA Softball All-Americans Announced

By Chad Waller, Director of Athletic Communications and Media

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2018 Softball All-America teams, selected by the NAIA All-America committee. Senior catcher Harlee Donovan of Southern Oregon has been named the NAIA Player of the Year and freshman Emily Cerny of Science & Arts (Okla.) is honored as the NAIA Pitcher of the Year. The All-America teams are comprised of First Team, Second Team and Honorable Mention selections.

Donovan was tabbed the 2018 Cascade Conference Player of the Year after batting .447 (80-for-179) with 12 home runs, 77 RBI and a .771 slugging percentage. She ranked No. 2 in the NAIA in RBI and ninth in total bases (138). The native of Half Moon Bay, Calif., led the team with 16 doubles and 62 walks. She becomes the first player from Southern Oregon University to earn this distinction since the inception of the award in 1998.

A native of Newcastle, Okla., Cerny led all NAIA pitchers with 33 wins and ranked third in opponent batting average (.164), strikeouts (298) and total innings pitched (238.0), and seventh in ERA (1.15). She finished her freshman campaign with a 33-4 record and 12 shutouts. She rolled off seven-straight winning decisions to end the year. She is the first Drover to receive the recognition since the award began in 1999.

Cerny was named World Series MVP after leading her team to its first-ever national championship. She pitched all of the team’s 30 innings in the event, holding opponents to a .193 batting average against, posted a 1.17 ERA and struck out 27 batters.

2018 NAIA Softball All-America Teams

FIRST TEAM (by position)

Name School Position
Emily Cerny Science & Arts (Okla.) Pitcher
Breena Smith Marian (Ind.) Pitcher
Claudia Farrell Grand View (Iowa) Pitcher
Harlee Donovan Southern Oregon Catcher
Jaci Smith Oklahoma City Catcher
Hannah Steeby Central Methodist (Mo.) Infielder
Kennedy Jackson Oklahoma City Infielder
Bailey Terry Texas Wesleyan Infielder
Kristen Exposito Indiana Wesleyan Infielder
Michaela Criner Rio Grande (Ohio) Infielder
Niki Cook Georgia Gwinnett Outfielder
Jordan Van Roy Doane (Neb.) Outfielder
Madelyn Hawley Williams Baptist (Ark.) Outfielder
Rachael Dillon Dickinson State (N.D.) Outfielder
Erin Sharpe Bellevue (Neb.) Utility
Chloe Clifton Science & Arts (Okla.) Designated Player
Karley Sanders Mobile (Ala.) At-Large Pitcher
Lauren West Thomas (Ga.) At-Large Pitcher
Olivia Brees Baker (Kan.) At-Large Pitcher
Kayla Garcia St. Francis (Ill.) At-Large Infielder

SECOND TEAM (by position)

Name School Position
Neely Quint Campbellsville (Ky.) Pitcher
Georgia Wall Oklahoma City Pitcher
Taylor Hansis Georgia Gwinnett Pitcher
Cheyenne Black Lyon (Ark.) Catcher
Sara Bruno Warner (Fla.) Catcher
Jacqueline Roof Campbellsville (Ky.) Infielder
Randa Hatter Science & Arts (Okla.) Infielder
Kaitlin Estes Vanguard (Calif.) Infielder
Elyssa Melton Georgia Gwinnett Infielder
Kelsey Randall Southern Oregon Infielder
Haleigh Harrell Southeastern (Fla.) Outfielder
Emma Keller Jamestown (N.D.) Outfielder
Jewell Lee Oklahoma Panhandle State Outfielder
Monique Collins Langston (Okla.) Outfielder
Breanna Vest Friends (Kan.) Utility
Ashley Stone Oklahoma Wesleyan Designated Player
Rachel Norman Lyon (Ark.) At-Large Infielder
Morghan Dieringer St. Francis (Ill.) At-Large Pitcher
Caitlin Perry Faulkner (Ala.) At-Large Pitcher
Jaylee Hinrichs Midland (Neb.) At-Large Pitcher

HONORABLE MENTION (alphabetically by school)

Name School
Briana Mairose Aquinas (Mich.)
Hhana Haro Concordia (Neb.)
Sabrina Boyd Corban (Ore.)
Tyra Graham Cumberland (Tenn.)
Kara Howard Georgetown (Ky.)
Piper Wagner Georgia Gwinnett
Alex Springer Indiana Wesleyan
Kat Miska Jamestown (N.D.)
Kelsey Brodbeck Keiser (Fla.)
Callum Pilgram Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Olivia Hoffman Marian (Ind.)
Margaret Simmons Middle Georgia State
Abby Meador Oklahoma City
Michaela Shouldis Oklahoma Wesleyan
Ali Graham Oregon Tech
Chrissy Polka Robert Morris (Ill.)
Mia Olvera Simpson (Calif.)
Madison Byrd Tabor (Kan.)
Samantha Shaffer Vanguard (Calif.)
Hannah Moak William Carey (Miss.)

Source: National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics

Championship Information

NAIA Softball Championship
Sports Rules - Softball
Official Merchandise-Softball