Default Header

2018 NAIA Football Players of the Week Week Five


KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Charles Salary of Marian (Ind.) has been named the NAIA National Football Offensive Player of the Week, Trentyn Jackson of Ave Maria (Fla.) has been named the NAIA National Football Defensive Player of the Week and Tyler Gerig of Taylor (Ind.) has been named the NAIA National Football Special Teams Player of the Week, the National office announced Monday. The three student-athletes were nominated for their performances during the week of September 24 – 30 and were selected out of a pool of conference award winners.


Special Teams Player of the Week

Tyler Gerig, Taylor (Ind.)

Sr., DB, Fishers, Ind.

  • Recorded a 65-yard punt return for a touchdown in a conference battle with Saint Xavier (Ill.) on Sept. 29.
  • Weekly Stats:
    • Averaged 47 yards per punt return
    • One punt return for a touchdown


Defensive Player of the Week

Trentyn Jackson, Ave Maria (Fla.)

So., DB, Tampa, Fla.

  • Set an Ave Maria record with five pass breakups in the upset win over Faulkner (Ala.).
  • Weekly Stats:
    • Three solo tackles
    • Five pass breakups
    • One forced fumble


Offensive Player of the Week

Charles Salary, Marian (Ind.)

Jr., RB, LaPorte, Ind.

  • Rushed for over 200 yards and led the Knights’ offense in an upset over then-No. 1 Marian
  • Weekly Stats:
    • 213 rushing yards
    • One rushing touchdown

Offensive Nominees: Samuel Northey, SAGU (Texas) ; Dante Vandeven, Central Methodist (Mo.) ; Justin Hunniford, Saint Xavier (Ill.) ; Sam Castronova, Bethel (Tenn.) ; Will Tate, Ave Maria (Fla.) ; Austin Eggl, Presentation (S.D.) ; Jacob Kalogonis, Northwestern (Iowa) ; Montralius Mosely, Reinhardt (Ga.) ; Demarco Prewitt, Kansas Wesleyan


Defensive Nominees: Christian Cross, SAGU (Texas) ; Jeremy Beaulieu, Bethel (Tenn.) ; Caleb Coe, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) ; David Kacmarynski, Dordt (Iowa) ; Curt Boeke, Dakota State (S.D.) ; Bailey Bennett, Marian (Ind.) ; Kwame Sexton, Sterling (Kan.) ; Quincy Standifer, Reinhardt (Ga.) ; Isaiah Flowers, Benedictine (Kan.)


Special Teams Nominees: Ignacio Gomez, Lyon (Ark.) ; Daniel Libolt, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) ; Alfredo Botello, Southwestern (Kan.) ; John Brady, Peru State (Neb.) ; David Larson, Southeastern (Fla.) ; Noah Bicksler, Campbellsville (Ky.) ; Casey Bourque, Dakota State (S.D.) ; Rashaan Gaymon, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) ; Nick Marquez, Reinhardt (Ga.)


2018-19 Football Composite Award Winners (Defensive, Offensive, Special Teams)


Week 1 (September 05): Sean Powell, Northwestern (Iowa) , Shaye Slaughter, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) , Devon Mcmillin, Cumberlands (Ky.)

Week 2 (September 12): Bryce Van Beek, Northwestern (Iowa) , Adam Abbatacola, Arizona Christian , Steven Delia, Briar Cliff (Iowa)

Week 3 (September 19): Tori Williams, SAGU (Texas) , Trent Solsma, Morningside (Iowa) , Cooper Lee, Baker (Kan.)

Week 4 (September 26): Kwame Sexton, Sterling (Kan.) , Darius-James Peterson, College of Idaho , Nathan Harden, Eastern Oregon

Week 5 (October 03): Trentyn Jackson, Ave Maria (Fla.) , Charles Salary, Marian (Ind.) , Tyler Gerig, Taylor (Ind.)

Don’t miss a minute of any NAIA Championship this season. Buy your All-Championship Pass today.

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship
Sports Rules - Football
Official Merchandise-Football