Default Header

Women's Soccer

Women's Soccer - Spring Arbor

2018 NAIA Women's Soccer National Championship Qualifiers Revealed

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – [Qualifier Reveal | Bracket] The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has officially announced the teams and pairings for the 2018 NAIA Women’s Soccer National Championship Opening Round, presented by Select Soccer. The 30-team NAIA Opening Round event at 15 campus locations will occur on Nov. 17.

The 2018 NAIA Opening Round winners and host Mobile (Ala.) will meet up in Orange Beach, Ala., at the NAIA National Championship final site event. The 35th annual championship takes place at the Orange Beach Sportsplex from Nov. 26 – Dec. 1.

This year’s opening round field includes 25 automatic qualifiers, five at-large selections and one host berth. Automatic berths were given to teams that either won their respective conference tournament title, regular-season championship, regular season runner-up, or finished runner-up at the conference tournament. The at-large bids were determined by the Soccer National Selection Committee utilizing overall winning percentage, Modified Ratings Percentage Index, area ratings and the top 25 of the final NAIA Women’s Soccer Coaches’ Top 25 poll.

The NAIA Network – the association’s official video streaming home – will broadcast all 15 matches live at the 2018 NAIA Women’s Soccer National Championship final site in Orange Beach, Ala. The video platform, powered by Stretch Internet, allows users access to live video, statistics, and social interaction on a number of devices, including mobile. Single day passes can be purchased for $9.95, while an all-championship tournament package is available at $29.95. For more information and to pre-register, click HERE.

The 2018 national championship final site bracket will be announced late on Nov. 17 on

Qualifier Highlights

  • Aquinas (Mich.), Hope International (Calif.), LSU-Shreveport (La.), Midland (Neb.), and Truett McConnell (Ga.) are all newcomers to NAIA Women’s Soccer Championship play.
  • The Southern States Athletic Conference leads the way with three teams in the 2018 opening round. 11 other conferences have two representatives.
  • Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) leads the field in number of appearances in the championship field with its 20th this season.
  • Lindsey Wilson’s four national titles are the most among the 2018 opening round qualifiers.
  • Spring Arbor (Mich.) will attempt to become the first team since 2011 to win back-to-back national championships. Former member institution Lee (Tenn.) won four-in-a-row from 2008 through 2011.
  • 21 teams from the 2017 national championship field will return in 2018.
  • Benedictine (Kan.), Grace (Ind.) and Mertin Methodist (Tenn.) lead all teams with 18 wins on the season.
  • Missouri Baptist is snapping the longest absence from championship play with its last appearance coming in 2009.


Opening Round Pairings | November 17, 2018 | Campus Host Sites

Game 1 – Asbury (Ky.) at No. 1 Spring Arbor (Mich.)

Game 2 – Missouri Baptist at No. 2 William Carey (Miss.)

Game 3 – LSU Shreveport (La.) at No. 3 Martin Methodist (Tenn.)

Game 4 – Tennessee Wesleyan at No. 4 Keiser (Fla.)

Game 5 – Northwest (Wash.) at No. 5 Vanguard (Calif.)

Game 6 – Truett McConnell (Ca.) at No. 6 Southeastern (Fla.)

Game 7 – Columbia (Mo.) at No. 7 Georgia Gwinnett

Game 8 – Ottawa (Kan.) at No. 8 Benedictine (Kan.)

Game 9 – Hope International (Calif.) at No. 9 Embry Riddle (Ariz.)

Game 10 – Aquinas (Mich.) at No. 10 Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)

Game 11 – Kansas Wesleyan at No. 11 John Brown (Ark.)

Game 12 – Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) at No. 12 Northwestern Ohio

Game 13 – Central Methodist (Mo.) at No. 13 Hastings (Neb.)

Game 14 – Midland (Neb.) at No. 14 Science & Arts (Okla.)

Game 15 – Eastern Oregon at No. 15 Grace (Ind.)


Don’t miss a minute of any NAIA Championship this season. Buy your All-Championship Pass today.


2018 NAIA Women’s Soccer National Championship Qualifiers (Listed Alphabetically)

School Conference Qualifying Method Record Championship
Aquinas (Mich.) Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 16-4-1 1st 0-0-0
Asbury (Ky.) River States Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 10-7-2 4th 0-3-0
Benedictine (Kan.) Heart of America Athletic Conference Regular Season Champion 18-1-2 7th 10-5-2
Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 15-3-0 2nd 0-1-0
Central Methodist (Mo.) Heart of America Athletic Conference Tournament Runner-Up 16-5-0 2nd 0-1-0
Columbia (Mo.) American Midwest Conference Tournament Champion 14-4-2 6th 2-4-2
Eastern Oregon Cascade Collegiate Conference Regular Season Champion 15-2-2 3rd 0-2-0
Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) California Pacific Conference Tournament Champion 17-2-0 4th 1-3-0
Georgia Gwinnett A.I.I. Tournament Champion 15-3-0 3rd 0-2-0
Grace (Ind.) Crossroads League At-Large 18-3-0 2nd 1-1-0
Hastings (Neb.) Great Plains Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 16-0-3 9th 4-8-2
Hope International (Calif.) Golden State Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 13-5-2 1st 0-0-0
John Brown (Ark.) Sooner Athletic Conference At-Large 15-4-1 5th 0-4-0
Kansas Wesleyan Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Regular Season Champion 17-2-2 7th 2-6-2
Keiser (Fla.) The Sun Conference Tournament Champion 16-2-2 13th 13-12-0
Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) Mid-South Conference Tournament Champion 11-3-2 20th 41-15-3
LSU-Shreveport (La.) Red River Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 13-4-2 1st 0-0-0
Martin Methodist (Tenn.) Southern States Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 18-1-1 15th 21-9-5
Midland (Neb.) Great Plains Athletic Conference Regular Season Runner-up 13-2-3 1st 0-0-0
Missouri Baptist American Midwest Conference Regular Season Champion 10-5-3 2nd 0-1-0
Mobile (Ala.) Southern States Athletic Conference Host Berth 12-7-0 13th 13-10-1
Northwest (Wash.) Cascade Collegiate Conference Tournament Champion 11-8-2 3rd 2-2-1
Northwestern Ohio Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Regular Season Champion 13-4-3 5th 15-3-0
Ottawa (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Regular Season Runner-up 15-4-1 7th 2-5-1
Science & Arts (Okla.) Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 16-4-1 4th 0-3-0
Southeastern (Fla.) The Sun Conference At-Large 17-1-2 2nd 2-1-0
Spring Arbor (Mich.) Crossroads League Tournament Champion 17-1-1 10th 19-6-2
Tennessee Wesleyan Appalachian Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 12-5-1 4th 0-1-0
Truett McConnell (Ga.) Appalachian Athletic Conference Regular Season Champion 16-2-0 1st 0-0-0
Vanguard (Calif.) Golden State Athletic Conference At-Large 14-2-0 8th 6-4-4
William Carey (Miss.) Southern States Athletic Conference At-Large 16-3-0 10th 11-9-1

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Soccer Championship
Sports Rules - Soccer (W)
Official Merchandise-Women's Soccer