NAIA - National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics


August 20, 2013
By -
Award Nomination Form

The Clarence “Ike” Pearson Award is given annually to a member of the NAIA Sports Information Directors Association (NAIA-SIDA) to honor outstanding contributions to the profession. The award is named for the former statistical crew chief of the NAIA men’s basketball national championship in Kansas City, Mo.

Selection Criteria
1. Nominees must be a member of NAIA-SIDA during the academic year nominated.
2. Nominees must have been a member NAIA-SIDA for five full years (all SIDs at NAIA institutions are members of NAIA-SIDA).
3. Nominees must have demonstrated outstanding service to the profession as well as to the NAIA at the conference, sectional/district/regional and national levels. Special consideration will be given to involvement in NAIA-SIDA and NAIA championship events.

Nomination Procedures
1. Nominations may be submitted by a president, athletics director, conference or regional chair, sports information director or conference/region information director. A sports information director may also nominate an NAIA-SIDA member from any conference or region within the association.
2. There are no limits on the number of nominations from any NAIA conference.
3. Nominations must be received by the NAIA no later than July 15 of each year and include the following:
     a. A completed and signed nomination form;
     b. A support letter from the nominee’s director of athletics;
     c. A support letter from the nominee’s president or vice president;
     d. Support letters from the nominee’s colleagues and members of the media;
     e. A detailed summary of the nominee’s professional contributions;
     f. A copy of the nominee’s resume outlining career and educational accomplishments.
4. Nominations are active for five years.
5. Click HERE to submit your nomination.

Selection Procedures
1. Selection will be made by the Clarence “Ike” Pearson Award Committee, which consists of past recipients of the award. Chair of the committee will be the most immediate past winner who is still a member of NAIA-SIDA.
2. The selection committee will vote by an email ballot sent by the NAIA Department of Sports Information each year.
3. The recipient will be notified of his/her selection and will be requested to be in attendance at the NAIA-SIDA awards function held in conjunction with the NAIA-SIDA and CoSIDA workshops and business meetings each year.
4. Previous winners of the award are not eligible for nomination again.

Clarence "Ike" Pearson Award Winners
1977 - Melvin Schreves, Elon College (N.C.)
1978 - Gene Warren, Pembroke State University (N.C.)
1979 - Stan Green, Harding University (Ark.)
1980 - Don Briggs, Kearney State University (Neb.)
1981 - Dr. D.L. Ligon, Midwestern State University (Texas)
1982 - Fred Neusch, Texas A&I University
1983 - Andy Solomon, Winthrop University (S.C.)
1984 - Kevin Keys, Liberty Baptist College (Va.)
1985 - Tim Petermann, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
1986 - Mac Sisson, Ouachita Baptist University (Ark.)
1987 - Gary Spitler, Pembroke State University (N.C.)
1988 - Walt McAlexander, Lubbock Christian University (Texas)
1989 - Larry Smith, Arkansas Tech University
1990 - Larry Scott, Moorhead State University (Minn.)
1991 - Bobby Hall, Wayland Baptist University (Texas)
1992 - Reed Richmond, Tarleton State University (Texas)
1993 - Paul Madison, Western Washington University
1994 - Jerry Hanson, Briar Cliff College (Iowa)
1995 - Bill Boote, Northwestern College (Iowa)
1996 - Bob Guptill, Central Washington University
1997 - Gary Pine, Azusa Pacific University (Calif.)
1998 - Mark Bankert, Malone College (Ohio)
1999 - David Fillmore, Evangel College (Mo.)
2000 - Mark Womack, Cedarville College (Ohio)
2001 - Russ Blunck, Western Oregon University
2002 - Ray Fink, Oklahoma Baptist University
2003 - Ken Isaak, Fresno Pacific University (Calif.)
2004 - Jeff Raymond, Westmont College (Calif.)
2005 - Scott Cummings, McKendree University (Ill.)
2006 - Sam Ghrist, Cascade Collegiate Conference
2007 - A. John Pearson, Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference
2008 - Dave Parsons, Mount Vernon Nazarene University (Ohio)
2009 - Candace Sullinger, College of the Ozarks (Mo.)
2010 - Jay Stancil, Union College (Ky.)
2011 - Michael MacEachern, SCAD Savannah (Ga.)
2012 - Steven Aldridge, Union (Tenn.)
2013 - Steve Wilson, Park (Mo.)
2014 - Jared Bodammer, Briar Cliff (Iowa)
2015 - Chris Wells, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
2016 - Mike Safford, College of Idaho
2017 - Ron Smith, Westmont (Calif.)

To remove your e-mail address from our mailing list, please click on Customer Care and select Remove From Mailing List from the Area of Interest list and specify your e-mail address. Note: This does not apply to opt-in e-mail. To modify your opt-in e-mail deliveries, log in to the site and modify your preferences. Customer Care