NAIA - National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics

NAIA Menís Cross Country National Championships Field Released

November 09, 2015
By -, -

By Scott Barker, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The 36 team, 85 individual field has been announced for the 60th Annual NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Championships that will be held on Nov. 21. The event will take place at McAlpine Creek Park in Charlotte, N.C. The men’s 8–kilometer race will began 10:30 a.m. EST.

• Oklahoma City, which has won the past two national championships, received an automatic berth by winning the Sooner Athletic Conference Championship.
• This is the first time in NAIA Cross Country Championships history that the race will be held in Charlotte, N.C..
• The field is made up by 23 automatic qualifiers (AQ). A team received an automatic bid by winning the conference meet.
• Three conferences received two AQ’s (Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference, Heart of America Athletic and the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference). In addition to the meet champion, the meet runner-up also receives an automatic bid. The 13 at-large berths are determined by the final regular-season Top 25 Poll that can be seen by clicking here.
• Thirteen teams received an at-large bid – Carroll (Mont.), College of Idaho, Marian (Ind.), Wayland Baptist (Texas), Taylor (Ind.), Indiana Tech, Bacone (Okla.), Morningside (Iowa), Biola (Calif.), Northwest Christian (Ore.), Westmont (Calif.) and Cornerstone (Mich.).
• Westmont and Cornerstone were the only two at-large teams to not be ranked in the latest Top 25 Poll, which can be viewed here.
• In addition to the AQ’s and at-large bids, 84-athletes will compete as individual qualifiers.
• For the first time in the history of the NAIA, a post-race highlight show will be free to all fans through the NAIA Network. The event takes place on Nov. 21 in Charlotte, N.C., at McAlpine Creek Park for the first time. Fans will be able to view the show no later than noon CST on Sunday, Nov. 22.
• For more information about the conference championships, click here.
• For all other information regarding the Men’s Cross Country National Championships, click here.

2015 NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Championships - Teams

Aquinas (Mich.) Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference – Champion
Bacone (Okla.) At-large
Benedictine (Kan.) Heart of America Athletic Conference - Champion
Bethel (Ind.) At-large No. 11
Biola (Calif.) At-large No. 9
Campbellsville (Ky.) Mid-South Conference – Champion
Carroll (Mont.) At-large No. 1
College of Idaho At-large No. 2
Columbia (Mo.) American Midwest Conference – Champion
Cornerstone (Mich.) At-large No. 13
Dalton State (Ga.) Southern States Athletic Conference – Champion
Dickinson State (N.D.) North Star Athletic Association - Champion
Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) California Pacific Conference - Champion
Indiana Tech At-large No. 6
Indiana Wesleyan Crossroads League – Champion
Kansas Wesleyan Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference – Runner-up
Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) Frontier Conference – Champion
Marian (Ind.) At-large No. 3
Milligan (Tenn.) Appalachian Athletic Conference – Champion
Morningside (Iowa) At-large No. 8
Mount Mercy (Iowa) Heart of America Athletic Conference – Runner-Up
Northwest Christian (Ore.) At-large No. 10
Northwestern (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Conference – Champion
Oklahoma City Sooner Athletic Conference – Champion
Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference – Runner-up
Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) Red River Athletic Conference – Champion
Point Park (Pa.) Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Champion
SCAD Savannah (Ga.) The Sun Conference - Champion
Southern Oregon Cascade Collegiate Conference – Champion
St. Francis (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Conference - Champion
St. Mary (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference - Champion
Taylor (Ind.) At-large No. 5
The Master’s (Calif.) Golden State Athletic Conference – Champion
British Columbia Association of Independent Institutions – Champion
Wayland Baptist (Texas) At-large No. 4
Westmont (Calif.) At-large No. 12
2015 NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Championships - Individuals 
American Midwest Will McLemore Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.)
  Francisco Zaragoza Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.)
  Alex Thompson William Woods (Mo.)
  Paco Rosales Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.)
A.I.I. Steven Juarez Johnson and Wales (Colo.)
  Freddie Ramirez Johnson and Wales (Colo.)
  Chris Mitchell College of the Ozarks (Mo.)
  Dameon Davis College of the Ozarks (Mo.)
Appalachian Tyler Boone Bryan (Tenn.)
  Griffith Rutherford Bryan (Tenn.)
  Jacob Simmons Tennessee Wesleyan
  Luis Gonzalez Truett-McConnell (Ga.)
California Pacific Jack Evens Soka (Calif.)
  Anthony Tyler UC Merced
  Drew MacOmber Pacific Union (Calif.)
  Daniel Pena UC Merced
Cascade Kody Shriver Eastern Oregon
  Jack Howard Eastern Oregon
  Zach Hammond Oregon Tech
  Craig Boekenoogen Corban (Ore.)
Chicagoland Abel Hernadez St. Xavier (Ill.)
  Daniel Garcia Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)
  Alan Guzman St. Xavier (Ill.)
  Cody Velthuizen Trinity Christian (Ill.)
  Janis Pastars St. Xavier (Ill.)
  Alex Cordova Purdue-Calumet (Ind.)
Crossroads Josh Richardson Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio)
  Ryan Smith Goshen (Ind.)
  Alejandro rodriguez Goshen (Ind.)
Frontier Jace Kalbfleisch Great Falls (Mont.)
  Paul Bielawski Montana-Western
  Eddie Loughran Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Golden State Jared Shohfi Vanguard (Calif.)
  Zach Hunt Vanguard (Calif.)
  Christian Wichmann William Jessup (Calif.)
  Zach DeAtley Vanguard (Calif.)
Great Plains Danny Aldaba Midland (Neb.)
  Jordan Potrzeba Concordia (Neb.)
  Eric Weers Doane (Neb.)
  Tommy Thelen Briar Cliff (Iowa)
Heart of America Jamie Steury Baker (Kan.)
  Devon Colegrove Evangel (Mo.)
  Phillip Cheruiyot Missouri Valley
  Jac Chelman MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
  Ochaung Akway William Penn (Iowa)
  George Robinson MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Kansas Collegiate Dixon Cooney McPherson (Kan.)
  Easton Moore Friends (Kan.)
  Taylor Parker Southwestern (Kan.)
  Caleb Jackson Southwestern (Kan.)
  Michael Janzer McPherson (Kan.)
  Kris Mathur Friends (Kan.)
Kentucky Intercollegiate Blake Freed Rio Grande (Ohio)
  Dallas Guy Rio Grande (Ohio)
  Javier Vasquez Indiana Kokomo (Ind.)
  Mike Norris Rio Grande (Ohio)
Mid-South John-Paul Williamson Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
  Ben Call Cumberlands (Ky.)
  David Jaeger Shawnee State (Ohio)
  Cody Redman Shawnee State (Ohio)
North Star Matthew Young Jamestown (N.D.)
  Nathan Meiners Waldorf (Iowa)
  Misael Herera Valley City State (N.D.)
  Luis Ramirez Waldorf (Iowa)
Red River Patrick Mutai Wiley (Texas)
  Leonard Kiprono Wiley (Texas)
  Gilbert Ramirez Southwest (N.M.)
  Dontayveous Allen Jarvis Christian (Texas)
Sooner Oraine Wint Texas Wesleyan
  Anthony Kimaiyo Texas Wesleyan
  Josh Uzelac John Brown (Ark.)
  Robert Torres St. Gregory's (Okla.)
Southern States Geoffrey Kipchumba William Carey (Miss.)
  Matthew Viveiros Bethel (Tenn.)
  Wes Bradshaw Bethel (Tenn.)
  Ryan Archie William Carey (Miss.)
The Sun Deion Cossio Southeastern (Fla.)
  Daniel Marin Warner (Fla.)
  Jack Manesiotis South Carolina - Beaufort
  Trae Miller Southeastern (Fla.)
Wolverine-Hoosier Dustin Brummel Davenport (Mich.)
  Graham Elliott Lawrence Tech (Mich.)
  Malik Jordan Lawrence Tech (Mich.)
  Devin Gibson Madonna (Mich.)

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Cross Country Championship
Sports Rules - Cross Country (M)

To remove your e-mail address from our mailing list, please click on Customer Care and select Remove From Mailing List from the Area of Interest list and specify your e-mail address. Note: This does not apply to opt-in e-mail. To modify your opt-in e-mail deliveries, log in to the site and modify your preferences. Customer Care