Default Header

Menís Golf National Championships Preview

Blake Vinson - Texas Wesleyan
May 21, 2012
By -, -
By Jake Knabel, NAIA Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – (Live Scoring) The 2012 NAIA Men's Golf National Championships are scheduled to get underway Tuesday from Creekside Golf Club in Salem, Ore., at 7 a.m. PDT. The 61st annual event is a 72-hole stroke play tournament that will be played over the course of four days, concluding with the final round on Friday.

Oklahoma City, Johnson & Wales (Fla.) and Marian (Ind.) get the event started on No. 1 Tuesday at 7 a.m., while Grand View (Iowa), Southern Nazarene (Okla.) and Madonna (Mich.) open play on No. 10 at 7:30 a.m. The afternoon session kicks off at 12 p.m. with Lee (Tenn.), Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) and Union (Tenn.) setting out at No. 1. Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.), Bethany (Kan.) and Brescia (Ky.) begin play on No. 10 at 12:30 p.m.

Creekside Golf Club will host a total of 159 golfers at this year’s event. The field is made up of 20 automatic qualifying schools who won their conference/independent/unaffiliated group tournaments, eight team at-large selections based on the final NAIA Men's Golf Coaches' Top 25 Poll, Corban (Ore.) (host berth) and 14 individual qualifiers.

Nine teams that placed in the top 10 at last year’s National Championships return to the field, including defending national titlist and second-ranked Oklahoma Christian. The Eagles lost 2011 National Championships individual medalist Oscar Stark to graduation, but return three golfers who participated in last year’s event. 2011 runner-up British Columbia is back after receiving an at-large bid, while No. 1-ranked Oklahoma City is poised to improve upon last year’s 10th-place finish. The Stars ride into Salem after besting Oklahoma Christian in the Sooner Athletic Conference Championships.

The 14 individual qualifiers includes nine automatic selections and five at-large choices. Each of the automatic selections garnered a spot in the National Championships by winning either his respective conference tournament or regular-season individual title. Of the 14, Thane Ringler of The Master’s (Calif.) and Omar Tejeira of St. Thomas (Fla.) are the only returnees from 2011. The five at-large participants were chosen by the tournament committee.

None of the top-10 individual finishers return from last year’s qualifiers. The highest-placing returnee from the 2011 National Championships is Grand View’s (Iowa) Josh Manske, who shot a 74-73-74-72 – 293 to finish 12th. The Cumberlands’ (Ky.) Aaron Watkins, who finished tied for 50th at the 2011 championships, leads the nation this season in adjusted scoring average.

Oklahoma City’s seven team championships are the most all-time. Texas Wesleyan, also a 2012 team qualifier, is tied for the next most with six, with the Rams last national championship coming in 1999. Other team participants in this year’s field with national titles include Oklahoma Christian (2), British Columbia (1) and Johnson & Wales (1).

Texas Wesleyan’s nine all-time individual medalists ranks No. 1 in the history of the event. Among 2012 qualifiers, Point Loma Nazarene’s (Calif.) four individual champions is the second best total.

For complete schedule and results information, click here.

For more information on the National Championships, click here.

First Round Pairings - PDF | Second Round Pairings - PDF

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship
Official Merchandise