Default Header

2013 NAIA Menís Golf Championships Preview

May 13, 2013
By -, -

By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

SALEM, Ore. – (Live Scoring | Sunset in Salem) The 2013 NAIA Men’s Golf National Championships are scheduled to open action Tuesday at Creekside Golf Club in Salem, Ore., at 7 a.m. PDT. The 62nd annual event is a 72-hole stroke play tournament that will be played over the course of four days, concluding with the final round on Friday.

The NAIA, in conjunction with the Cascade Collegiate Conference and Corban University (Ore.) – hosts for the event – will be providing fans live scoring throughout the tournament via Golfstat. For the live scoring, click here. Additionally, a post-round wrap up show named Sunset in Salem will air each day at 6 p.m. PDT (9 p.m. EDT). To watch Sunset in Salem, click here.  

Texas Wesleyan, Wayland Baptist (Texas) and Missouri Baptist get first round action started at 7 a.m. on hole No. 1, while Julian Taylor of William Woods (Mo.) and Vance Edwards of Houston-Victoria (Texas) begin action on No. 10 at 7:20. The afternoon session starts at 12 p.m. with Lee (Tenn.), Southeastern (Fla.) and Central Methodist (Mo.) at No. 1. Northwood (Texas) and St. Francis (Ill.) begin play on No. 10 at 12:20 p.m.

Creekside Golf Club, who is hosting the national championships for the second-straight year, welcomes a total of 154 golfers to the event. The field is comprised of 20 automatic qualifying institutions who won their respective conference/independent/unaffiliated group tournaments, seven team at-large selections based on the final regular season NAIA Men’s Golf Coaches’ Top 25 poll, Corban (host berth) and 14 individual qualifiers.

Six teams that finished top-10 at the 2012 national championships return to the field, including defending national champion Oklahoma City. Other top 10 returners include: British Columbia, Johnson & Wales (Fla.), Cumberlands (Ky.), Texas Wesleyan and Our Lady of the Lake (Texas).

The 14 individual qualifiers include 13 automatic selections and one at-large. To receive an individual automatic berth a player must win his conference tournament or regular-season individual title. The at-large selection – Trevor Banks of Virginia Intermont – was chosen by the national championships tournament committee.

Individually, Texas Wesleyan’s Nathan Anderson and Brandon Meltzer of Johnson & Wales (Fla.) highlight the field. Anderson finished runner-up in the 2012 event with a score of 70-74-69-71—284, while Meltzer took fourth with a 73-65-71-80—289. Anderson and national champion Carson Kallis of Victoria (B.C.) were the only individuals to finish the event under par.

Twenty-nine teams have won the team title, led by Oklahoma City with eight banners. The Stars have won eight of the last 12 championships, including a four-peat from 2001 – 2004. Tied for the next most is Texas Wesleyan with six. The Rams last national championship came in 1999 at the PGA National in Palm Gardens, Fla.

Texas Wesleyan leads all institutions with nine all-time individual medalists. Among the qualifiers, Oklahoma City’s three individual champions is the second-best total.

For complete schedule and results, click here.

For more information on the 2013 NAIA Men’s Golf National Championships, click here.

First Round Pairings – PDF | Second Round Pairings - PDF

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship
Official Merchandise