Default Header

First Round Madness Reigns Supreme

College of the Ozarks (Mo.)
March 08, 2013
By -, -

Matt Bos-Media Coordinator
- A championship record of 10 unseeded teams advance into the second round in what has been an incredible first round at the 2013 NAIA Division II Men's Basketball National Championship. The 2013 event is being held at the Keeter Gymnasium on the campus of College of the Ozarks in Point Lookout, Mo.

10 unseeded teams recorded an upset in the first round, shattering the old record of seven set back in 2009. Three of the top five seeds are out and just five of the top 10 are still alive. William Penn (Iowa) and Cardinal Stritch (Wis.), the top two seeds, managed to move on.

Five teams earned their first ever tournament win at this year's championship; William Penn, York (Neb.), Midland (Neb.), Cal Maritime and Saint Xavier (Ill.). Three additional teams, Dakota State (S.D.), Dordt (Iowa) and St. Thomas (Fla.), are in the second round for just the second time in Division II history. College of the Ozarks (Mo.) and Bellevue (Neb.) have the most appearances in the second round (10) of the remaining teams while Bethel (Ind.) is right behind with nine.

Friday's second round features eight more games, beginning at 8:30am with York taking on Midland. The 32-team, single elimination tournament concludes Tuesday, March 12, with the championship game to tip-off at 8 pm.

For all the stats, scores and tournament leaders, go to the following DakStats page: DakStats Tournament Leaders

First Round Scores:
Wednesday, March 6:
Game 1: York (Neb.) def. #9 Davenport (Mich.), 78-77 OT
Game 2: Midland (Neb.) def. #8 Eastern Oregon, 77-53
Game 3: Bethel (Ind.) def. #16 Embry-Riddle (Fla.), 73-49
Game 4: #1 William Penn (Iowa) def. McPherson (Kan.), 71-65
Game 5: Southern Oregon def. #14 Madonna (Mich.), 83-66
Game 6: #11 Indiana Southeast def. Valley City State (N.D.), 75-72
Game 7: College of the Ozarks (Mo.) def. #3 Northwood (Fla.), 57-49
Game 8: #6 Saint Xavier (Ill.) def. Saint Mary (Kan.), 82-60

Thursday, March 7:
Game 9: #7 Indiana Wesleyan def. Lourdes (Mich.), 62-60 OT
Game 10: #10 Dordt (Iowa) def. Northwest (Wash.), 79-59
Game 11: #2 Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) def. Jamestown (N.D.), 74-56
Game 12: Bellevue (Neb.) def. #15 Rochester (Mich.), 64-50
Game 13: Grace (Ind.) def. #13 Tennessee Wesleyan, 93-69
Game 14: St. Thomas (Fla.) def. #12 Mount Mercy (Iowa), 85-72
Game 15: Cal Maritime def. #4 Northwestern, 76-54
Game 16: Dakota State (S.D.) def. #5 Warner Pacific (Ore.), 89-80

Second Round Match-Ups:
Friday, March 8:
Game 1: York (Neb.) vs Midland (Neb.), 8:30am
Game 2: #7 Indiana Wesleyan vs #10 Dordt, 10:15am
Game 3: #1 William Penn (Iowa) vs Bethel (Ind.), Noon
Game 4: #2 Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) vs Bellevue (Neb.), 1:45pm
Game 5: #6 Saint Xavier (Ill.) vs #11 Indiana Southeast, 4:00pm
Game 6: Grace (Ind.) vs Cal Maritime, 5:45pm
Game 7: College of the Ozarks (Mo.) vs Southern Oregon, 7:30pm
Game 8: Dakota State (S.D.) vs St. Thomas (Fla.), 9:15pm

Championship Information

NAIA DII Men's Basketball Championship
Official Merchandise