Default Header

2013 NAIA Menís Tennis National Championship Bracket Announced

Men's Bracket Announcement
May 07, 2013
By -, -
KANSAS CITY, Mo. – (Bracket) (Match Schedule) The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has officially released the bracket for the 2013 NAIA Men’s Tennis National Championships, held May 14 - 18 in Mobile, Ala. The 62nd annual event is hosted at the Mobile Tennis Center.

The 24-team field is comprised of 13 squads who earned an automatic berth by winning their respective conference/independent/unaffiliated group tournaments, 10 at-large selections and one host berth, which went to Mobile (Ala.). The 10 at-large selections were determined by the final NAIA Men's Tennis Coaches' Top 25 Poll released Monday.

The single elimination, head-to-head tournament will commence with eight first-round matchups on May 14 starting at 9 a.m. CDT. The top-eight seeds received a first-round bye and will begin action on May 15 at 9 a.m. The event concludes on May 18 with the championship final slated for 9 a.m.

Second-seed Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) leads all qualifiers with nine national championships all-time. Besides Auburn Montgomery, Mobile and Belhaven (Miss.) are the only other teams to own one national title in this years field. Auburn Montgomery’s 37-6 mark in national championship play is the best among this year’s qualifiers.

One program, top-seeded Embry-Riddle (Fla.), has made the field every year since the championship moved to a team format in 2000, while Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) has only missed one - 2012 national championship. A total of nine schools will be appearing at the national championship for at least the 10th time since 2000. Eighteen of the 24 qualifiers also made the field in 2012.

On the other hand, Doane (Neb.) and Northwestern Ohio will be making its first appearance at the National Championship. A total of six teams will be seeking their first wins at the national championship.

The Southern States Athletic Conference leads all conferences with four members in the field of 24. The Golden State Athletic Conference and The Sun Conference follow with three teams each.


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Tennis Championships
Official Merchandise