Default Header

Division II Women's Basketball National Championship Qualifiers Announced

February 27, 2013
By -, -

By Travis Rae, NAIA Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has officially released the field of 32 teams for the 22nd Annual State Farm-NAIA Division II Women's Basketball National Championship, held March 6 - 12 in Sioux City, Iowa, at the Tyson Events Center. The official bracket will be released by 7 p.m. CST today on

Eight teams are appearing in the National Championship for at least the 10th time in school history, led by the 19 appearances made by College of the Ozarks (Mo.). Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) has the second most with 17 trips. Eight schools have qualified for the National Championship for the first time ever: Mayville State (N.D.), Oklahoma Wesleyan, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.), Purdue Calumet (Ind.), Reinhardt (Ga.), Roosevelt (Ill.), Saint Xavier (Ill.) and Siena Heights (Mich.). Olivet Nazarene and Saint Xavier are first year Division II members, have made trips to the Division I National championship.

Northwestern (Iowa), who has won the last three national championships, returns to the field as the Great Plains Athletic Tournament Runner-Up. The Red Raiders lead all NAIA Division II programs with five national championships - all since 2001. Only two others in the field have won a national championship: Morningside (Iowa) and Indiana Wesleyan. Morningside has collected three titles, while Indiana Wesleyan has one.

Northwestern's 39 all-time tournament wins are the most in the history of the Division II Women's Basketball National Championship. The Red Raiders, making their eighth-consecutive championship appearance, are followed by College of the Ozarks (30), Morningside (25), and Saint Francis (Ind.) (22), for most all-time wins among 2012 qualifying teams. College of the Ozark's 12-straight tournament appearances is tied with Cardinal Stritch for the longest active streak.

The Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference landed five squads in the National Championship field: Cardinal Stritch, Olivet Nazarene, Purdue-Calumet, Roosevelt and Saint Xavier. The Great Plains Athletic Conference are next with four teams.

The 32-team field is comprised of 21 automatic qualifiers from NAIA affiliated conferences and independents, plus 11 at-large selections, which were determined using the final Top 25 poll released on Wednesday.

NeuLion is the NAIA's Digital Media Partner and official video-streaming company of 12 select NAIA National Championship events. The first 30 games from Sioux City, Iowa, will be available via live video stream for $29.95 and any single day can be purchased for $9.95. Also, one can purchase the all-tournament package of all four basketball tournaments for $49.95. For more information and to pre-register, click here.

The National Championship final on March 12 will be televised live nationally on CBS Sports Network with tip-off at 6 p.m. CST.

2013 Division II Women's Basketball National Championship Qualifiers

School Qualification Record^ Appearances Last Time Tour. Record Titles
Bethel (Ind.) At-Large No. 2 25-7 7th 2012 9-6 0
Briar Cliff (Iowa) At-Large No. 4 23-9 11th 2012 21-10 0
Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Tournament Runner-Up 26-7 17th 2012 8-16 0
College of Idaho Cascade Collegiate Tournament Runner-Up 21-8 8th 2012 6-7 0
College of the Ozarks (Mo.) Midlands Collegiate Athletic Tournament Champion 29-4 19th 2012 30-18 0
Concordia (Mich.) Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Tournament Runner-Up 27-6 3rd 2012 1-2 0
Concordia (Neb.) At-Large No. 1 25-6 12th 2012 18-11 0
Davenport (Mich.) Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Regular Season Champion 30-2 9th 2012 9-8 0
Eastern Oregon Cascade Collegiate Regular Season Champion 31-2 7th 2012 3-6 0
Friends (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Regular Season Champion 23-8 5th 2012 1-4 0
Grand View (Iowa) Midwest Collegiate Tournament Champion 21-6 6th 2012 6-5 0
Indiana Wesleyan Crossroads Regular Season Champion 30-3 11th 2012 18-9 1
Jamestown (N.D.) Association of Independent Institution Tournament Champion 26-5 5th 2012 2-4 0
Mayville State (N.D.) At-Large No. 11 20-5 1st - 0-0 0
Menlo (Calif.) California Pacific Tournament Champion 26-3 5th 2012 1-4 0
Milligan (Tenn.) Appalachian Athletic Regular Season Champion 23-9 5th 2000 2-4 0
Morningside (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Regular Season Champion 28-4 11th 2012 25-7 3
Northwestern (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Tournament Runner-Up 23-7 12th 2012 39-6 5
Oklahoma Wesleyan At-Large No. 6 24-5 1st - 0-0 0
Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) At-Large No. 9 23-8 1st - 0-0 0
Point Park (Pa.) Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Tournament Champion 25-6 2nd 2012 0-1 0
Purdue Calumet (Ind.) At-Large No. 3 21-9 1st - 0-0 0
Reinhardt (Ga.) Appalachian Athletic Tournament Champion 19-14 1st - 0-0 0
Roosevelt (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Regular Season Champion 27-6 1st - 0-0 0
Saint Francis (Ind.) Crossroads Tournament Champion 30-3 14th 2011 22-13 0
College of Saint Mary (Neb.) At-Large No. 10 25-8 3rd 2012 1-2 0
Saint Xavier (Ill.) At-Large No. 7 24-6 1st - 0-0 0
Siena Heights (Mich.) At-Large No. 8 23-9 1st - 0-0 0
Southwestern (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Tournament Champion 23-7 5th 2012 1-4 0
St. Thomas (Fla.) At-Large No. 5 27-3 3rd 2012 0-2 0
Valley City State (N.D.) Association of Independent Institution Tournament Runner-up 24-7 3rd 2012 0-2 0
Webber International The Sun Tournament Champion 15-13 4th 2006 0-3 0

Championship Information

NAIA DII Women's Basketball Championship
Official Merchandise