Default Header

National Championship Opening Round Recap

November 20, 2011
By -
KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Sixteen teams punched their ticket to the final site of the 28th Annual NAIA Women's Soccer National Championship by winning National Championship Opening Round matches Saturday. Winners advance to play at Jack Allen Recreation Complex in Decatur, Ala., Nov. 28 - Dec. 3, aiming to take home a national championship.

Ten of the teams that advanced to Decatur in 2010 will be returning for another shot at the title, including three-time defending national champion Lee (Tenn.). The Lady Flames pushed their record to 19-2-0 with a 3-0 victory over first-time qualifier Reinhardt (Ga.).

Top-seeded Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) cruised past Roberts Wesleyan (N.Y.), 6-1, to remain as the only undefeated squad at 18-0-2. The Blue Raiders’ six goals were the most scored in Opening Round action.

A trio of unseeded clubs went on the road and recorded an upset. Westmont (Calif.) was victorious in double-overtime, defeating 12th-seeded Cal State San Marcos, 1-0. Houghton (N.Y.) recorded a 2-1 upset of No. 14-seed Northwood (Fla.). After playing to a 0-0 through two overtime sessions, Graceland (Iowa) advanced on penalty kicks, 5-4, to deny first-time qualifier Concordia (Calif.) a trip to Decatur.

The Graceland/Concordia match was one of two contests that were decided in a shoot out. No 16-seed Oklahoma City advanced past Trinity Christian (Ill.) on penalty kicks, 3-2, after playing to 0-0 double-overtime deadlock. No. 15-seed Hastings (Neb.) defeated Robert Morris (Ill.) 3-2 in overtime to earn its second-straight trip to Decatur.

Five of this year's qualifiers have made 10-or more national championship appearances, led by the 14-consecutive trips by second-seeded Azusa Pacific (Calif.). The Cougars' 29 total wins are the most among all teams that have qualified since the inaugural national championship in 1984. They have one title to their credit, along with three runner-up finishes and five third-place finishes. Right behind Azusa Pacific is Westmont. The Warriors, who return to the event for the first time since 2006, have racked up a record of 28-5-5 and five national championships in 13 previous appearances.

Houghton and Lindsey Wilson have each made 13 trips to the event, and Concordia (Ore.) has qualified 11 times.

In addition to Lee, Azusa Pacific and Westmont's national titles, both Lindsey Wilson and Martin Methodist (Tenn.) have twice won it all. Mobile (Ala.) also took top honors in 1997.

Box Score - Cal State San Marcos vs. Westmont (Calif.)
Box Score - Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.) vs. Science & Arts (Okla.)
Box Score - Azusa Pacific (Calif.) vs. Ottawa (Kan.)
Box Score - Oklahoma City vs. Trinity Christian (Ill.)
Box Score - Martin Methodist (Tenn.) vs. St. Ambrose (Iowa)
Box Score - Northwood (Fla.) vs. Houghton (N.Y.)
Box Score - Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) vs. Roberts Wesleyan (N.Y.)
Box Score - Baker (Kan.) vs. Bellevue (Neb.)
Box Score - Concordia (Calif.) vs. Graceland (Iowa)
Box Score - Lee (Tenn.) vs. Reinhardt (Ga.)
Box Score - Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) vs. Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.)
Box Score - Hastings (Neb.) vs. Robert Morris (Ill.)
Box Score - Embry-Riddle (Fla.) vs. Judson (Ill.)
Box Score - Spring Arbor (Mich.) vs. Siena Heights (Mich.)
Box Score - Mobile (Ala.) vs. Texas at Brownsville
Box Score - Concordia (Ore.) vs. Westminster (Utah)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Soccer Championship
Official Merchandise