Default Header

Franklin & Guizar Awarded Men's Soccer 2009 Weekly Honor

November 03, 2009
By NAIA National Office

Nov. 3, 2009

KANSAS CITY, Mo. Aaron Franklin of Corban (Ore.) was named the NAIA Men’s Soccer National Defensive Player of the Week while Arturo Guizar of Kansas Wesleyan was announced as the NAIA Men’s Soccer National Offensive Player of the Week, in the ninth installment of the weekly honors, the NAIA announced Tuesday. The award is based upon action from Oct. 26-Nov. 1.

These players were selected out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated player of the week winners among 23 conference/independent/unaffiliated groupings.

Franklin, a 5-10, senior goalkeeper from Red Bluff, Calif., posted two shutouts for Corban last week. For the week, he totaled 12 saves in 180 minutes of action. In the 2-0 home win over Oregon Tech, he finished with four saves. He followed that with an eight-save effort in the 1-0 road win at College of Idaho. Both wins were over teams that had at least a .500 record or better. He helped the Warriors double their win total this year and improve to 4-10-1.

For the second straight week, Guizar is selected with this national award. Guizar, a 5-10, senior forward from Bellflower, Calif., recorded his fourth and fifth straight hat tricks in two wins last week for Kansas Wesleyan. In the 6-2 win over Tabor Arturo Guizar(Kan.), he hit for three goals and then posted seven points in the form of three goals and one assist in the 8-1 win over Southwestern (Kan.). He is currently ranked No.1 in the NAIA in total goals (26), points (58), and is second in points per game (3.41), third in goals per game (1.530) and eighth in game winning goals (5). He needs six more goals to break the school’s single-season goal record. Last week, he totaled seven goals and one assist (15 points).

For more information on the national statistical leaders, click here.


The final player of the week announcement for 2009 will occur on Nov. 10.

Offensive Nominees:
Lebogang Moloto, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Mo Travis, Bellevue (Neb.); Ryan Keohane, Sioux Falls (S.D.); Bryce Privett, Spring Hill (Ala.); Gerard John-Williams, Davenport (Mich.); Jonah Powers Myszka, Lambuth (Tenn.); Cesar Silva, Huston-Tillotson (Texas); Jeff Gardner, Westminster (Utah); Paul Connell, Montrest (N.C.); Vedran Ilic, Ashford (Iowa); Kevin Raymond, Florida Memorial; Ryan Pow, Missouri Valley; Dustin Freitag, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Alex Gang, Oklahoma City; Armando Orozco, Bethel (Tenn.); Dan Lobene, Roberts Wesleyan (N.Y.); Erik Johnson, Indiana Wesleyan; Ryan Fentress, Calumet-St. Joseph (Ind.); Sveinn Jonsson, Auburn Montgomery (Ala.); Josh Cormier, California Baptist; Jared Brace, Concordia (Ore.); Alex Barclay, William Jessup (Calif.)

Defensive Nominees:

Miguel Mendez, Great Falls (Mont.); Kenny Huber, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Victor Francoz, Lindenwood (Mo.); Chris Dillon, Mobile (Ala.); Milan Ivanovic, Bellevue (Neb.); Daniel Rowlands, Lambuth (Tenn.); Aldo Rodriguez, Huston-Tillotson (Texas); Tyler Tank, McPherson (Kan.); Viktor Bergstrand, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Javier Cuellar, Montreat (N.C.); Ken Searles, Columbia (Mo.); John Dunn, West Virginia Tech; Hayden Coffman, Trevecca Nazarene (Tenn.); Daniel Whithorn, Morningside (Iowa); Brio Ehman, Roberts Wesleyan (N.Y.); Craig Hughes, Grand View (Iowa); Spenser Lang, Indiana Wesleyan; Johnny Paletar, Shorter (Ga.); Tim Spencer, Oklahoma Christian; Josh Verhulst, Indiana Tech; Jeff Redinger, California Baptist; Dominic Mitchell, Menlo (Calif.)

2009 Composite Award Winners (Schedule):

Offense: Abass Ayembillah, Texas at Brownsville – Fr., F
Defense: Tanner Fox, Benedictine (Kan.) – Fr., GK

Offense: Alex Hanne, Simon Fraser (B.C.) – So., F
Defense: Tyler Stromberg, Azusa Pacific (Calif.) – Sr., GK

Offense: Arturo Guizar, Kansas Wesleyan – Sr., F
Defense: Jesse Guevara-Lehker, Aquinas (Mich.) – So., GK

Offense: Desmond Fitzgerald, Rogers State (Okla.) – Jr., F
Defense: Max Leblond, Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) – Fr., GK

Offense: Mustafa Celik, Holy Names (Calif.) – Sr., F
Defense: Hide Ozawa, Simon Fraser (B.C.) – Fr., GK

Offense: Kevin Zimmermann, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.) – Sr., F
Defense: Aaron Fenlason, Biola (Calif.) – So., GK

Offense: Richard Isberner, Rio Grande (Ohio) – Fr., MF
Defense: Jonathan Shaw, Union (Ky.) – Jr., GK

Offense: Arturo Guizar, Kansas Wesleyan – Sr., F
Defense: Brion Ehman, Roberts Wesleyan (N.Y.) – Sr., GK

Offense: Arturo Guizar, Kansas Wesleyan – Sr., F
Defense: Aaron Franklin, Corban (Ore.) – Sr., GK

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Soccer Championship
Sport Rules - Soccer (M)