Default Header

2012 Menís Golf National Championships Qualifiers Announced

NAIA Men's Golf Champ
May 10, 2012
By -, -

By Jake Knabel, NAIA Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has officially released the qualifiers for the 2012 NAIA Men's Golf National Championships. The 61st annual event will take place at Creekside Golf Club in Salem, Ore, May 22 – 25. First and second round pairings for the event will be announced Friday by 3 p.m. CDT.

The 159-player field is made up of 20 automatic qualifying schools who won their conference/independent/unaffiliated group tournaments, eight team at-large selections based on the final NAIA Men's Golf Coaches' Top 25 Poll, Corban (Ore.) (host berth) and 14 individual qualifiers.

Nine teams that placed in the top 10 at last year’s National Championships return to the field, including defending national titlist and second-ranked Oklahoma Christian. The Eagles lost 2011 National Championships individual medalist Oscar Stark to graduation, but return three golfers who participated in last year’s event. 2011 runner-up British Columbia is back after receiving an at-large bid, while No. 1-ranked Oklahoma City is poised to improve upon last year’s 10th-place finish. The Stars ride into Salem after besting Oklahoma Christian in the Sooner Athletic Conference Championships.

The 14 individual qualifiers includes nine automatic selections and five at-large choices. Each of the automatic selections garnered a spot in the National Championships by winning either his respective conference tournament or regular-season individual title. Of the 14, Thane Ringler of The Master’s (Calif.) and Omar Tejeira of St. Thomas (Fla.) are the only returnees from 2011. The five at-large participants were chosen by the tournament committee.

None of the top-10 individual finishers return from last year’s qualifiers. The highest-placing returnee from the 2011 National Championships is Grand View’s (Iowa) Josh Manske, who shot a 74-73-74-72 – 293 to finish 12th. The Cumberlands’ (Ky.) Aaron Watkins, who finished tied for 50th at the 2011 championships, leads the nation this season in adjusted scoring average.

2012 NAIA Men's Golf National Championships Qualifiers

Team Qualifers
School Qualification
Bellevue (Neb.) Midlands Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Bethany (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Brescia (Ky.) Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
British Columbia At-Large No. 3
Cal State San Marcos At-Large No. 2
Carroll (Mont.) Frontier Conference Tournament Champion
Corban (Ore.) Host Berth
Cumberlands (Ky.) Mid-South Conference Tournament Champion
Evangel (Mo.) Heart of America Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Grand View (Iowa) Midwest Collegiate Conference Tournament Champion
Holy Cross (Ind.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Johnson & Wales (Fla.) At-Large No. 5
Lee (Tenn.) Southern States Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Madonna (Mich.) Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Marian (Ind.) Mid-Central College Conference Tournament Champion
Northwestern (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Oklahoma Christian At-Large No. 1
Oklahoma City Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) At-Large No. 8
Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.) Unaffiliated Group No. 2 Tournament Champion
South Carolina Beaufort At-Large No. 7
Southern Nazarene (Okla.) At-Large No. 6
Tennessee Wesleyan Appalachian Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Texas Wesleyan Red River Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Union (Tenn.) TranSouth Athletic Conference Tournament Champion
Victoria (B.C.) Association of Independent Institutions Tournament Champion
Wayland Baptist (Texas) At-Large No. 4
Webber International (Fla.) The Sun Conference Tournament Champion
William Woods (Mo.) Unaffiliated Group No. 1 Tournament Champion
Individual Qualifers
Name Qualification
Justin Burns, Central Baptist (Ark.) Midlands Collegiate Athletic Conference Individual Medalist
Jordan Leisinger, Cincinnati Christian (Ohio) Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Individual Medalist
Jesse Heinly, Concordia (Ore.) At-Large
Adrian Balbas, Davenport (Mich.) Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Regular-Season Medalist
Thane Ringler, The Master’s (Calif.) At-Large
Jordan Dickson, Missouri Valley Heart of America Athletic Conference Individual Medalist
Brandon Thompson, Morningside (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Conference Individual Medalist
Brett McCurdy Jr., Northwood (Fla.) At-Large
Chase Lindsey, Oklahoma Baptist At-Large
Zach Lindsey, Reinhardt (Ga.) At-Large
Mitch Card, Simpson (Calif.) Unaffiliated Group No. 2 Individual Medalist
Omar Tejeira, St. Thomas (Fla.) The Sun Conference Individual Medalist
Dane Jensen, Westminster (Utah) Frontier Conference Individual Medalist
Nic Ishee, William Carey (Miss.) Southern States Athletic Conference Individual Medalist

Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship
Sports Rules - Golf (M)