Default Header

2012 NAIA Baseball Opening Round Hosts Announced

April 15, 2012
By -, -
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications & Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The NAIA has released the list of host sites for the fourth annual NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round, which will be played May 10 - 14 at nine different sites across the country. Each location features a five-team double elimination tournament. The 46 qualifiers for the National Championship Opening Round tournaments will be announced on May 6.

Oklahoma City, Lee (Tenn.) and Embry-Riddle (Fla.) headline the group, each hosting its fourth-consecutive Opening Round, while the Mid-Central College Conference, Tabor (Kan.) and South Carolina Beaufort are hosting for the first time.

The Opening Round site selection process takes into account: qualification, minimum bid, facilities and geography. In the event that a selected bid is tied directly to an institution, that school is guaranteed at least an at-large berth in the Opening Round. The application deadline for bids was April 1.

The nine site champions join host Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) to make up the field at the 2012 Avista-NAIA World Series in Lewiston, Idaho. The event will play out May 25 - June 1.

Host Host City
Azusa Pacific University (Calif.) Azusa, Calif.
Mid-Central College Conference Marion, Ind.
Paducah Convention & Visitors Bureau Paducah, Ky.
Appalachian Athletic Conference Kingsport, Tenn.
Oklahoma City University Oklahoma City, Okla.
Lee University (Tenn.) Cleveland, Tenn.
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Fla.) Daytona Beach, Fla.
Tabor College (Kan.) Hutchinson, Kan.
University of South Carolina Beaufort Hardeeville, S.C.

Championship Information

NAIA Baseball Championship
Sports Rules - Baseball