Default Header

Seeded Teams Highlight First Day of Division II Men's Tournament

March 09, 2006
By NAIA National Office

March 9, 2006


[Complete Bracket]

The first day of the 15th Annual NAIA Division II Men's Basketball National Championship saw seven of the eight seeded teams move on to the second round. The 2006 event is being held at Keeter Gymnasium on the campus of College of the Ozarks (Mo.).

The day opened with fifth-seeded Mayville State (N.D.), the lone team from the DAC-10 conference, defeating Daemen College (N.Y.) of the American Mideast Conference, 82-56. The Comets will face unseeded Montreat College (N.C.), who registered the first and only upset of the day with a 93-83 win over 12th seed University of Sioux Falls (S.D.) 93-83.

Top-seeded Embry-Riddle University advanced to the second round with an 86-55 victory over Sterling College (Kan.) from the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference. The Eagles will face Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio), the 16th seed, who defeated Iowa Wesleyan by the final score of 87-81.

Taylor University (Ind.), the sixth seed, outlasted Aquinas College (Mich.) 63-52 to advance to the second round. The Trojans will face eighth-seeded Lindenwood University (Mo.) who defeated Dordt College (Iowa) in the final game of the day, 66-58.

13th seed William Jewell College (Mo.) won an overtime thriller against Southern Oregon University 67-64 to advance to the second round for the fourth consecutive year. The Cardinals will play the host school and fourth seed College of the Ozarks, who were 69-60 winners over Dominican (Calif.).

The 32-team, single elimination tournament continues Thursday, March 9, with the remaining eight games of the first round. Friday features eight games in the second round, with the quarterfinal round on Saturday. The semifinal round will begin on Monday, March 13, followed by the championship game on Tuesday, March 14 at 8:30 pm.

[Complete Bracket]

Thursday First Round Games:
Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)(24-8) vs. #11 Southwestern (Kan.)(28-3), 8:30 am
MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)(22-10) vs. #6 Indiana Southeast (30-3), 10:15 am
Northwestern (Iowa)(23-7) vs. #14 Oregon Tech (24-8), Noon
Tennessee Wesleyan (20-11) vs. #3 Walsh (Ohio)(25-6), 1:45 pm
Fisher (Mass.)(15-14) vs. #2 Huntington (Ind.)(28-5), 4:00 pm
Cornerstone (Mich.)(23-10) vs. #10 Morningside (Iowa)(26-6), 5:45 pm
Bellevue (Neb.)(24-7) vs #15 Evangel (Mo.)(23-10), 7:30 pm
Holy Names (Calif.)(23-10) vs #7 Warner Pacific (Ore.)(23-8), 9:15 pm

Wednesday First Round Scores:
#1 Embry-Riddle (Fla.)(30-3) def. Sterling (Kan.)(16-15) 86-55
#16 Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio)(26-8) def. Iowa Wesleyan (25-7) 87-81
#9 Taylor (Ind.)(28-6) def. Aquinas (Mich.)(22-12) 63-52
#5 Mayville State (N.D.)(26-5) def. Daemen (N.Y.)(20-12) 82-56
Montreat (N.C.)(22-9) def. #12 Sioux Falls (S.D.)(22-9) 93-83
#13 William Jewell (Mo.)(27-7) def. Southern Oregon (23-9) 67-64 OT
#4 College of the Ozarks (Mo.)(25-6) def. Dominican (Calif.)(18-12) 69-60
#8 Lindenwood (Mo.)(24-9) def. Dordt (Iowa)(22-10) 66-58

Championship Information

NAIA DI Men's Basketball Championship
Sports Rules - Basketball DI (M)