Default Header

Track & Field Athletes of the Week - No. 7

Central Methodist_Edward Stewart
February 23, 2011
By -, -

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Edward Stewart of Central Methodist (Mo.) has been named the final NAIA National Men’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week and Ben Zuch of Midland (Neb.) has been tabbed as the NAIA National Men’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Stewart and Zuch were selected based on their performances from Feb. 14 - 20. The pair also received Track and Field Athlete of the Week honors on Jan. 12.

Stewart, hailing from Kingston, Jamaica, was named the outstanding male performer at the Heart of America Indoor Championships. The senior helped the Central Methodist men’s team grab its first-ever HAAC team title. Stewart was recognized as the highest individual point-scorer, placing first in the 55-meter dash, 55-meter hurdles and 200-meter dash. He also broke his own school record in the 55 with his automatic-qualifying time of 6.39 seconds.

Zuch, hailing from Fremont, Neb., left his mark in the record books as he set the Great Plains Athletic Conference meet record in the high jump at 7-0 ½. Despite a record-setting leap, the senior’s best mark this season remains at 7-1 ½, which he achieved at the Dennis Young Classic on Feb. 5. Zuch ranks first in the NAIA in the event and will compete in his fourth-consecutive NAIA Men’s Indoor Track & Field National Championships March 3-5 at the GaREAT Sports Complex in Geneva, Ohio.

Track Nominees: Kenny MacDonough, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Dave Marks, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Terrell Shannon, William Woods (Mo.); Adam Godwin, Oklahoma Baptist; Matt Smith, Cumberlands (Ky.); Doug Dawson, Siena Heights (Mich.); John Darmody, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Matthew Forgues, Ashford (Iowa); Alex Alvarez, Grand View (Iowa); Brijesh (BJ) Lawrence, Doane (Neb.); Cory Pena, Concordia (Ore.); Brian Stine, Ave Maria (Fla.); Nathan Magstadt, Dickinson State (N.D.); Austin Warner, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Laine Parish, Black Hills State (S.D.); Ethan Naylor, Indiana Wesleyan; Ryan Booth, Eastern Oregon; Chris Brautzsch, Indiana Tech; Geoffrey Njonjo, Oklahoma Christian; Jaquan Howard, Union (Ky.); Sam Vazquez, Embry-Riddle (Fla.).

Field Nominees: Jason Baker, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Anthony Stockton, William Woods (Mo.); Jeff Lewis, Oklahoma Baptist; Matt Karnes, Cumberlands (Ky.); Brandon Mansfield, Wayland Baptist; Erving Warren, Siena Heights; Roscoe Robinson, Central Methodist; Chris Dubree, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Tyler Wells, Grand View (Iowa); Bo Johnson, Concordia (Ore.); Kurt McCorrmack, Dickinson State (N.D.); Riley Meissner, Black Hills State (S.D.); Kyle Abney, Indiana Wesleyan; Calon Boyd, Bethel (Ind.); Robbie Haynie, Eastern Oregon; Aaron Baker, Indiana Tech; Brandon Jackson, Oklahoma Christian; Adam Holdsworth, Embry-Riddle (Fla.).

2011 Composite Award Winners (Track; Field)
Week 1: Edward Stewart, Central Methodist (Mo.); Ben Zuch, Midland (Neb.)
Week 2: John Parks, Oklahoma City; Gabe Wickham, Hastings (Neb.)
Week 3: B.J. Lawrence, Doane (Neb.); Myran Roundtree, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Week 4: Jimmy Oribo, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Robbie Haynie, Eastern Oregon
Week 5: Paul Chelimo, Shorter (Ga.); Kurt McCormack, Dickinson State (N.D.)
Week 6: Silas Kisorio, Oklahoma Christian; Robbie Haynie, Eastern Oregon
Week 7: Edward Stewart, Central Methodist (Mo.); Ben Zuch, Midland (Neb.)

Championship Information

NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championship
Sports Rules - Indoor Track & Field (M)