Default Header

Men's Lacrosse Championship


Davenport Wins Inaugural Menís Lacrosse Invitational Title

May 07, 2016
By -
By NAIA Invitational Media Staff
Photo by Tere Poplin

GREENVILLE, S.C. – (Box Score | Invitational Schedule) No. 1 Davenport (Mich.) used two four-goal quarters to defeat No. 2 Missouri Valley, 13-10, in the finals of the 2016 NAIA Men’s Lacrosse National Invitational Saturday night at Sirrine Stadium.

With the win, Davenport (20-2) claims the first-ever national invitational title.

It was a closely contested first half that saw four lead changes and five ties. Austin Shindoll netted an unassisted goal two minutes into the first quarter to give Missouri Valley an early 1-0 lead. Davenport responded scoring three of the next four goals, led by Second Team All-American Jarred Riley who tallied a goal and an assist. The Vikings added a goal before the end of the stanza to even the score at 3-3.

Three minutes into the second quarter Davenport scored a goal to take a 4-3 advantage. Missouri Valley scored back-to-back goals to take a 5-4 lead with 6:15 left in the half. Paul Schalau sparked a 3-0 run with assist to three different players to give the Panthers a 7-5 lead at the break.

Davenport held an 11-3 advantage on face-offs during the first half.

The Panthers carried the momentum into the third stanza, scoring three unanswered goals in the first five minutes to extend their lead to 10-5. Missouri Valley netted two of the final three goals of the third period to cut the deficit to 11-7. The Vikings outscored the Panthers 3-2 in the fourth quarter for the 13-10 final.

Schalau registered a game-high seven assists, while Riley netted a team-high four goals in the win for Davenport. Bryan Larocque, Devon Benson, and Blain Adams each netted a pair of goals, while goalie Logan Poe made 14 saves in the cage.

Carson Brezinski ended the game as the top scorer for Missouri Valley with four goals and an assist. Owen Sorobey and Shindoll both added a pair of goals in the loss. Goalkeeper Brandon Minshall finished with nine saves.

Missouri Valley finishes as the 2016 Men’s Lacrosse National Invitational runner-up and ends the year with a 20-3 record.

For more information on the NAIA Lacrosse National Invitational, click here.

2016 NAIA Men’s Lacrosse National Invitational Most Valuable Player – Jarred Riley, Davenport (Mich.)

2016 NAIA Men’s Lacrosse National Invitational – All-Tournament Team
Danny Bichsel, Lourdes (Ohio)
Jared Yoshino, Lourdes (Ohio)
Ryan Barnes, Missouri Valley
Dan Block, Missouri Valley
Alex Aubrecht, Missouri Valley
Andrew Legg, Missouri Valley
Bryan Larocque, Davenport (Mich.)
Paul Schalau, Davenport (Mich.)
Nick Mulcahy, Davenport (Mich.)
Jimmy Fata, Davenport (Mich.)
Joe Lopez, Davenport (Mich.)
Logan Poe, Davenport (Mich.)

Invitational Information

NAIA Lacrosse Championship