Default Header

DeBoer Named AFCA-NAIA National Football Coach of the Year

January 12, 2010
By NAIA National Office

Jan. 12, 2010

Story courtesy of American Football Coaches Association


ORLANDO, Fla. — The American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) capped its 2010 convention by presenting its top coaching award — AFCA Coach of the Year — to five outstanding coaches today (Jan. 12).

TCU’s Gary Patterson, Villanova’s Andy Talley, Northwest Missouri State’s Mel Tjeerdsma, Wisconsin-Whitewater’s Lance Leipold and Sioux Falls’ Kalen DeBoer are the 2009 AFCA National Coach of the Year winners. Patterson in the FBS, Talley in the FCS, Tjeerdsma in Division II, Leipold in Division III and DeBoer in NAIA.

The winners are selected by a vote of the Active AFCA members (coaches at four-year schools) in the Association’s five divisions. The AFCA has named a Coach of the Year since 1935. The AFCA Coach of the Year award is the oldest and most prestigious of all the Coach of the Year awards and is the only one chosen exclusively by the coaches themselves.


For complete story, courtesy of AFCA, click here.

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship
Sports Rules - Football