Default Header

AFCA Names 2010 National Coach of the Year Winners

January 12, 2011
By NAIA National Office

Jan. 12, 2011

Story courtesy of AFCA


DALLAS   The American Football Coaches Association capped its 2011 convention by presenting its top coaching award — AFCA Coach of the Year — to five outstanding coaches today (Jan. 11).


Oregon’s Chip Kelly, Delaware’s K.C. Keeler, Minnesota-Duluth’s Bob Nielson, Wisconsin-Whitewater’s Lance Leipold and Carroll’s Mike Van Diest are the 2010 AFCA National Coach of the Year winners. Kelly in FBS, Keeler in FCS, Nielson in Division II, Leipold in Division III and Van Diest in NAIA.


The winners are selected by a vote of the Active AFCA members (coaches at four-year schools) in the Association’s five divisions. The AFCA has named a Coach of the Year since 1935. The AFCA Coach of the Year award is the oldest and most prestigious of all the Coach of the Year awards and is the only one chosen exclusively by the coaches themselves.


For complete story, click here.

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship
Sports Rules - Football