Default Header

Sioux Falls' Jon Ryan Named Rawlings-NAIA National Football Player of the Year

December 17, 2010
By NAIA National Office

Dec. 17, 2010

Story courtesy of Chad Waller, Director of Sports Information & Media Services


ROME, Ga.  – The University of Sioux Falls (S.D.) senior wide receiver Jon Ryan has been named the 2010 Rawlings-NAIA National Football Player of the Year, announced tonight (Dec. 17) from Rome, Ga., site of the 55th Annual Russell Athletic-NAIA Football National Championship. The announcement was made at the Banquet of Champions held at the Rome Forum in downtown Rome.


The 6-4, 200 lb., wide out becomes the fourth Cougar to be honored overall, and the third in the last four seasons. The four accolades is the most amount of any NAIA institution.


The senior out of Watertown, S.D., caught an NAIA-record 24 touchdowns. He smashes a record that was owned by St. Francis’ (Ind.) Jeremy Dutcher back in 2000. Ryan amassed 1,340 yards on 74 catches (18.1 ypc). His 144 points scored ranks first in the nation this year and the yardage total ranks third. Ryan has tallied at least one touchdown reception in 11 of 13 contests this season, with nine multi-touchdown performances.


In his career, he has posted 3,368 receiving yards on 192 catches and 52 touchdowns. In the school record book, he needs three more receiving scores to tie the Cougar career record. His yardage and receptions rank third in the school annals.


“I am humbled to be here and receive the award,” said Ryan. “I want to give thanks to my teammates and my coaches… I couldn’t have done this without you. I want to thank my family and I am blessed to have parents that support me so much. It is an honor to be playing against Carroll in my senior year and they are such a classy team.”


Ryan is the 11th player to receive the NAIA Player of the Year honor since the award was first presented in 1997, with two athletes repeating. Overall, there have been nine offensive players and two on the defensive side to be recognized.


No. 1 Sioux Falls plays No. 2 Carroll (Mont.) in the National Championship on Saturday from Barron Stadium in Rome, Ga. Kick-off is set for 4:30 p.m. EST with the game televised live on CBS College Sports Television.


Rawlings-NAIA National Football Player of the Year:

1997 - Bo Hurley, Findlay (Ohio)

1998 - Jack Williams, Azusa Pacific (Calif.)

1999 - Eddie Eviston, Georgetown (Ky.)

2000 - Eddie Eviston, Georgetown (Ky.)

2001 - Eddie Eviston, Georgetown (Ky.)

2002 - Nick Kortan, Sioux Falls (S.D.)

2003 - Tyler Emmert, Carroll (Mont.)

2004 - Cory Jacquay, St. Francis (Ind.)

2005 - Tyler Emmert, Carroll (Mont.)

2006 - Brian Kurtz, St. Francis (Ind.)

2007 - Chad Cavender, Sioux Falls (S.D.)

2008 - Owen Koeppen, Carroll (Mont.)

2009 - Lorenzo Brown, Sioux Falls (S.D.)

2010 – Jon Ryan, Sioux Falls (S.D.)

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship
Sports Rules - Football