Default Header

2007 AFCA Regional Coaches of the Year Announced

December 04, 2007
By NAIA National Office

Dec. 4, 2007

WACO, Texas --The American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) announced the 2007 AFCA Regional Coaches of the Year, among all college football divisions. There were five regions represented among the NAIA with three repeat winners from 2006.

Repeat selections include Dino Kaklis of Bethel (Tenn.) in Region 1; Paul Troth of Missouri Valley in Region 3 and Kalen DeBoer of Sioux Falls (S.D.) in Region 4. The two other regional winners, Dale Carlson of Ohio Dominican in Region 2 and Mike Van Diest of Carroll (Mont.) in Region 5, are honored with this award for the first time at their school.

Two of these recipients will be facing each other in the NAIA National Championship set for Dec. 15 in Savannah, Tenn. Coach DeBoer and the No. 1-ranked Sioux Falls Cougars (13-0) take on coach Van Diest and the Carroll Fighting Saints (14-0). The game will kick-off at 12 p.m. CST and be televised lived on CSTV. For tickets, call 1-800-552-3866.

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association's five divisions: Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, NAIA, Division II and Division III. The winners are selected by active members of the AFCA who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

"What makes this award so special is that this is the only coach of the year award voted on exclusively by the coaches themselves," AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff said. "The winners are selected by the coaches they compete with and against on a daily basis."

The 2007 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2008 AFCA Convention in Anaheim, California. The dinner is scheduled for January 9.

The AFCA will announce its five 2007 National Coach of the Year winners at the 2008 AFCA Convention in Anaheim. All head coaches who were eligible for regional honors are eligible for national honors as well.

To view the entire story, which was released by the AFCA, click here

2007 NAIA Regional Coach of the Year Winners:
Region 1: Dino Kaklis, Bethel College (Tenn.)*
Region 2: Dale Carlson, Ohio Dominican University^
Region 3: Paul Troth, Missouri Valley College*
Region 4: Kalen DeBoer, University of Sioux Falls*
Region 5: Mike Van Diest, Carroll College (Mont.)^
*repeat winners
^first-time winners at their school

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship
Sports Rules - Football