Default Header

2011 All-Americans Announced

December 14, 2011
By -
Story courtesy of Vince Thompson, AFCA Director of Media Relations

WACO, Texas – Faulkner (Ala.) quarterback Josh Hollingsworth and Friends’ (Kan.) defensive lineman Dexter Davis headline the 2011 American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) NAIA Coaches’ All-America Team, announced today by the AFCA.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team since 1945 and currently selects teams in all five of its divisions. What makes these teams so special is that they are the only ones chosen exclusively by the men who know the players the best — the coaches themselves.

Hollingsworth led the nation in total offense per game, with 423.4 yards, and in passing yards per game, with 393.7. Hollingsworth set a new NAIA record when he threw for 637 yards, edging the previous NAIA record of 636 yards set in 1995, in a 95-89 triple overtime win over Union (Ky.).

Davis led the nation in sacks per game with 1.4 and tied for the top spot in total sacks at 14. He was third in the nation in tackles for a loss with 24.5, and he recorded 58 total tackles, three forced fumbles and three fumbles recovered.

WR Anthony Muilenburg 200 Jr. Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) Sioux Falls, S.D.
WR Clarence Anderson* 160 Sr. Ottawa (Kan.) Wichita, Kan.
TE Juan Redmon 251 Sr. MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) St. Louis, Mo.
OL Tyler Wells 325 Sr. Grand View (Iowa) Des Moines, Iowa
OL Carl Meister 300 Jr. St. Ambrose (Iowa) Downers Grove, Ill.
OL Corey Cronk* 305 Sr. Saint Francis (Ind.) Fishers, Ind.
OL Tom Van Haute 280 Sr. Hastings (Neb.) Omaha, Neb.
OL Ron Fontenot 323 Sr. Benedictine (Kan.) Kenner, La.
QB Josh Hollingsworth 210 So. Faulkner (Ala.) Hamilton, Ala.
RB Chance Demarais 227 Jr. Carroll (Mont.) Malta, Mont.
RB Junior Allen 185 Jr. Bethany (Kan.) Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
DL Michael Prosser 240 Sr. Saint Xavier (Ill.) Rockton, Ill.
DL Jordan Carlson 265 Jr. Northwestern (Iowa) Storm Lake, Iowa
DL Richard Wick* 244 Sr. Missouri Valley San Diego, Calif.
DL Dexter Davis 230 Jr. Friends (Kan.) Rex, Ga.
LB Demery Hawkins 240 Jr. Shorter (Ga.) Lyons, Ga.
LB Michael Hicks 225 Fr. Southern Nazarene (Okla.) Cushing, Okla.
LB Zach Goebel 220 Jr. Georgetown (Ky.) Evansville, Ind.
DB Wayne Johnson* 145 Sr. St. Francis (Ill.) McConnells, S.C.
DB Dustin Craig 205 Sr. Marian (Ind.) Indianapolis, Ind.
DB Colby Henderson 175 Jr. Morningside (Iowa) Wakefield, Neb.
DB Nick Carlson 180 Jr. Midland (Neb.) Tucson, Ariz.
P Tyler Crowley 185 Sr. Southern Oregon Palo Cedro, Calif.
PK Andrew Nielsen 223 Sr. Doane (Neb.) North Platte, Neb.
AP Cordarious Mann 160 Jr. Bethel (Tenn.) Jackson, Tenn.

* 2010 All-America Selection

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship
Sports Rules - Football